You are viewing this page over a secure connection. Click here for more information.
Online Data Services Help

Election Results Center

Kanawha County Results

General Election - November 4, 2008

★★★ Official Results ★★★

View Other Results

Back to map

Number of Counties Reporting 55
Number of Precincts None/Not available
Number of Precincts Reporting None/Not available
U.S. President
Contest Code: AA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
John Sidney McCain IIIRepublican40,95249.65%397,466
Barack Hussein ObamaDemocrat40,59449.22%303,857
Ralph NaderNo Affiliation5990.73%7,219
Cynthia Ann McKinneyMountain1750.21%2,355
Charles Obadiah BaldwinConstitution1600.19%2,465
Official  Total Votes: 82,480  
Back To Top
U.S. Senate
Contest Code: BA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
John Davison Rockefeller IVDemocrat54,40266.76%447,560
Matthew Jay WolfeRepublican27,08733.24%254,629
Official  Total Votes: 81,489  
Back To Top
U.S. House of Representatives — District 2
Contest Code: CA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Shelley Moore CapitoRepublican43,60152.94%147,334
Elizabeth Anne BarthDemocrat38,75147.06%110,819
Official  Total Votes: 82,352  
Back To Top
Contest Code: DA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Joe Manchin, IIIDemocrat55,12968.04%492,697
Russell E. Weeks JrRepublican20,59525.42%181,612
Jesse C. Johnson, Jr.Mountain5,3036.54%31,486
Official  Total Votes: 81,027  
Back To Top
Secretary of State
Contest Code: EA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Natalie TennantDemocrat55,59169.79%437,430
Charles Theophilus MinimahRepublican24,05830.21%230,283
Official  Total Votes: 79,649  
Back To Top
Contest Code: FA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Glen B. Gainer IIIDemocrat56,973100%525,084
Official  Total Votes: 56,973  
Back To Top
State Treasurer
Contest Code: GA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
John D. PerdueDemocrat56,974100%520,406
Official  Total Votes: 56,974  
Back To Top
Commissioner of Agriculture
Contest Code: HA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Gus R. DouglassDemocrat44,73158.81%352,242
James Michael TeetsRepublican31,32541.19%311,496
Official  Total Votes: 76,056  
Back To Top
Attorney General
Contest Code: IA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Daniel W.GreearRepublican41,97252.65%336,699
Darrell V. McGraw, Jr.Democrat37,75047.35%342,011
Official  Total Votes: 79,722  
Back To Top
Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals
Contest Code: JA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Margaret Lee WorkmanDemocrat43,94936.50%336,346
Elizabeth D. WalkerRepublican39,87533.11%329,395
Menis E. KetchumDemocrat36,59730.39%355,778
Official  Total Votes: 120,421  
Back To Top
State Senate — District 8
Contest Code: KA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Corey Lee PalumboDemocrat52,15167.57%52,151
Robert Clarence OreRepublican25,02532.43%25,025
Official  Total Votes: 77,176  
Back To Top
State Senate — District 17
Contest Code: KA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Daniel Stevenson FosterDemocrat50,08166.45%50,081
Alan Eugene LongRepublican25,29033.55%25,290
Official  Total Votes: 75,371  
Back To Top
House of Delegates — District 30
Contest Code: LA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Douglas John Skaff, Jr.Democrat24,2658.98%24,265
Daniel Bundy WellsDemocrat24,0198.89%24,019
Bonnie Louise BrownDemocrat23,3538.64%23,353
Barbara Ann HatfieldDemocrat22,7098.41%22,709
Mark A. HuntDemocrat21,6358.01%21,635
Sharon SpencerDemocrat21,5417.97%21,541
Nancy Lee GuthrieDemocrat20,2857.51%20,285
Fred H. JosephRepublican18,6536.90%18,653
John H. Miller, Jr.Republican17,9926.66%17,992
Edwin C. "Bud" AndersonRepublican16,2176%16,217
David Todd CardenRepublican15,2865.66%15,286
Victoria Lynn CaseyRepublican14,2505.27%14,250
Edward Ross BurgessRepublican13,2824.92%13,282
Lance Byron VaughanRepublican12,7334.71%12,733
John Armistead WelbournMountain3,9401.46%3,940
Official  Total Votes: 270,160  
Back To Top
House of Delegates — District 31
Contest Code: LA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Carrie Lee WebsterDemocrat5,125100%5,125
Official  Total Votes: 5,125  
Back To Top
House of Delegates — District 32
Contest Code: LA
CandidatePartyVotesPercentageState Total
Timothy Paul ArmsteadRepublican10,95821.73%10,958
Ronald N. WaltersRepublican10,09820.02%10,098
Patrick LaneRepublican8,85717.56%8,857
John William Cain, Sr.Democrat7,55514.98%7,555
Carmela Ryan-ThompsonDemocrat7,51314.90%7,513
Charles Foster BlackDemocrat5,45010.81%5,450
Official  Total Votes: 50,431  

In an ongoing effort to keep you informed of election night results, these pages contain data supplied by the counties in West Virginia. As this data is received from the various counties, the Secretary of State's office will summarize and post the information to this site. Despite our good faith efforts to be accurate, these pages and our databases may contain inadvertent errors and should not be relied on as official results until certified. Please e-mail us immediately if you notice an error. Results do not include write-in candidate information.

If you have any questions, please contact

Thursday, August 18, 2022 — 9:46 PM