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TITLE S
LEGISLATIVE RULE
WEST VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
SERIES 11
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

§5-11-1. General.

1.1. Scope. This legislative rule establishes continuing education requirements for licensees or
permittees regulated by the West Virginia Board of Dentistry.

1.2. Authority. -- W. Va. Code §30-4-6.
1.3. Effective Date. -- uly 272616
1.4. Filing Date. -- Septemberi2616

1.5. Sunset Provision. -- This rule shall terminate and have no further force or effect on August 1, 2032.

§5-11-2. Definitions.
2.1. “Board” means the West Virginia Board of Dentistry.

2.2. “Controlled Substances” means drugs that are classified by federal or state law in Schedules |, 11,
[, IV or V, as defined in W. Va. Code §60A-2-204 through 212.

2.3. “Drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training” means
training which includes all of the following:

2.3.1.f2 Drug diversion, including statistical information on prescription drug abuse and resulting
deaths. Dentists practicing within West Virginia shall take a course that includes West Virginia statistics.
Dentists practicing in other states may take a course thatincludes statistical information relative to the state
they are practicingin;

2.3.2 b+Epidemiology of pain and misuse of opioids;

2.3.3 4=} Indication for opioids in pain treatment including general characteristics, toxicities and drug
interactions;

2.3.4.+4 Identification of diversion and drug seeking tactics and behaviors;

2.3.5.fe Best practice methods for working with patients suspected of drug seeking behavior and
diversion;

2.3.6 1Y Compliance with controlled substances laws and rules; and

2.3.7 {g} Registration with and use of the West Virginia Controlled Substances Monitoring Program

established in WrestYireimia W. Va. Code Shapter&6A—Artcled §60A-9-1 ef seq.
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2.4. “Opioid” means natural and semi-synthetic derivatives of the opium poppy, as well as similar
synthetic compounds that have analgesic or pain relieving properties because of their effects #r on the
central nervous system. These include, but are not limited to, codeine, morphine, hydromorphone,
hydrocodone, oxycodone, methadone, and fentanyl.
2.5. “Study Club” means a group of at least 5 dentists or dental hygienists who do the following:
2.5.1.4 Organize for the purpose of scientific study;
2.5.2 4 Operate under the direction of elected officers;
2.5.3.2F Maintain written by-laws;
2.5.4 &} Conduct regular meetings; and
2.5.5 45} Maintain written attendance records of all meetings.
§5-11-3. Continuing education requirements.
3.1. Hours Required Biennially.
3.1.1.fa Each licensed dentist shall complete biennially not less than 35 hours of continuing
education.
3.1.2.4b} Each licensed dental hygienist shall complete biennially not less than 20 hours of
continuing education.
3.2. Initial Dental Licensees.
3.2.1 4=} Each dental applicant upon initial licensure shall complete at least 3 hours of continuing
education regarding drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training

and training on prescribing and administration of an opioid antagonist within one year of receiving his or
her initial dental license from the Board.

3.3. Approved Providers.
3.3.1 42+ The Continuing Education course must shall be offered by a Board approved provider. The
course or program mast shall be designed to enhance the licensee's clinical knowledge and ability to treat

dental patients.

3.3.2.tb} The Board approves any course or program sponsored by the following providers, or their
constituent or component organizations for credit:

3.3.2.a.64 An accredited dental or dental hygiene school;
3.3.2.b.t%} The American Dental Association;
3.3.2.c.f3} A National Dental Association;

3.3.2.d.t4} The American Dental Hygienists' Association;
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3.3.2.e.f5+ The National Dental Hygiene Association;

3.3.2.f.46+ The American Medical Association;

3.3.2.2.A The American Hospital Association;

3.3.2.h.f8} The American Red Cross;

3.3.2.i.t9} The American Heart Association;

3.3.2.i.A48+ American Dental Association recognized specialty societies;

3.3.2.k. 4 The Academy of General Dentistry;

3.3.2.1.#2} The Veteran's Administration;

3.3.2.m 43} The United States Uniformed Services;

3.3.2.n.f44} The U. S. Department of Health and Human Services;

3.3.2.0.t35 The W. Va. Department of Health and Human Resources;

3.3.2.p.t46+ The W. Va. Bureau for Public Health;

3.3.2.q.647+ The W. Va. Dental Association;

3.3.2.r.{48} The W. Va Pharmacists Association;

3.3.2.54% The W. Va. Dental Hygienists’ Association;

3.3.2.t.{26+ The W. Va. Dental Assistants’ Association;

3.3.2.u.24 Agencies of the United States Department of Justice; and

3.3.2.v.22} Study Clubs.

3.3.3.fe} Providers not identified in subdivision fb} 2 of this subsection may petition the Board for
approval of continuing education. The Board may approve other sponsors of continuing education credits.
The Board’s approval expires after two consecutive years and must be renewed. The course or program
st shall be designed to enhance the licensee's clinical knowledge and ability to treat dental patients.
3.3.4.fH Courses or programs that are not approved for continuing education credit for license

renewal include, but are not limited to, those on the subjects of estate planning, money management,
personal finance, personal business matters, cultural subjects, personal health and recreation, politics,

memory training, and speed reading.

3.3.5f2} The board may excuse a licensee from all or any part of continuing education
requirements due to unusual circumstance, emergency or special hardship.

3.4. Record Keeping, Reporting, & Monitoring:
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3.4.1 o} His—theresponstbiity-of Each dentist and dental hygienist & shall maintain accurate
records relating to continuing education courses he or she has successfully completed.

3.4.2 tb} The dentist and dental hygienist shall maintain the records and information pertaining to
each year shattbe-maintatred- for a period of 6 years.

3.4.3 {e} Alicenseeshallreport all continuing education courses on the form provided by the Board.

3.4.4.f5 The Board shall randomly audit the continuing education records maintained by each
dentist and dental hygienist.

3.4.4.a.t8F A licensee who fails to successfully complete an audit of continuing education
records may be subject to disciplinary action, which may include but is not limited to, an immediate cease
and desist from practice notice, notice of formal hearing and/or monetary assessments or fines.

3.4.4.b. The Board may allow a licensee who does not provide proof of completion of the

appropriate number and tvpe of continuing education courses to make up for the deficiency and may assess
a late fee.

3.4.5 4+ Each dentist and dental hygienist shall submit to the Board by February 1, 2648 2024, and
every two years thereafter documentation of satisfactory completion of the required hours of continuing
education during the previous two years.

3.5. Criteria.

3.5.1 fat The Board shall not give continuing education credit for identical courses taken during the
same continuing education reporting period.

3.5.2. b} The Board shall give one hour of credit for each hour of attendance and an hour of
attendance is defined as 50 minutes.

3.5.3.4e} At least 2 hours of continuing education shall be related to any one or combination of the
following subjects during each continuing education reporting period :

3.5.3.a.64} infection control and/or occupational hazards;
3.5.3.b.#} oral effects of tobacco use; or
3.5.3.c.3+ oral effects of substance abuse.

3.5.4.feH Licensed dentists shall complete at least 3 hours of continuing education regarding drug
diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training and training on prescribing
and administration of an opioid antagonist and shall bereported-beginningwiththeFebruary1—2618
reportingdeadiine report those hours each reporting period. The Board may waive these requirements frray
be-watved-for alicensed dentist who has not prescribed, administered, or dispensed a controlled substance
during the reporting period.

3.5.54e+ A current certification for a comprehensive basic life support course for a health care
provider that includes: resuscitation on an adult, child, and infant; two-person rescuer; barrier mask or bag
for ventilation; foreign body airway obstruction; and automated external defibrillation. The licensee shall

4
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obtain a CPR certificate shalHre—obtairred-through the American Heart Association health care provider
course, the American Red Cross professional rescuer course, or an equivalent course. Certification stratHe
is required each continuing education period, and stek the certification may be counted as continuing
education credits.

3.5.6.48} The Board may not accept courses or re-certifications completed on the Internet witret
beacecepted-for basic life support courses unless the course includes a skills examination with a certified
instructor.

3.5.7 42+ A licensee shall not use continuing education hours or other education requirements
required by board consent decrees or orders shaftretbeusedto satisfy continuing education requirements
for license renewal.

3.6. Continuing Education for Anesthesia Certificate Holders.

3.6.1.fat Class 2 anesthesia certificate holders mmst shall complete at least 6 hours of continuing
education credits and class 3 and class 4 anesthesia permit holders st shall complete 16 hours of credits
in one or more of the following areas:

3.6.1.a.64} oral or nitrous oxide sedation;

3.6.1.b.£ conscious sedation;

3.6.1.c.{3} general anesthesia;

3.6.1.d.t4} physical evaluation;

3.6.1.e.f5} medical emergencies;

3.6.1.f.46} monitors and use of monitoring equipment;

3.6.1.2.£% pharmacology;

3.6.1.h.£8} advanced cardiac life support, (maximum of 8 hours credit);
3.6.1.i.{9} pediatric advanced life support (maximum of 8 hours credit); and
3.6.1.i.f46} advanced trauma life support {(maximum of 8 hours credit).

3.6.2 b} The Board may not accept courses or re-certifications completed on the Internet wittmot
e—aceepted-for basic life support courses unless the course includes a skills examination with a certified
instructor.

3.6.3.fe¢3 The Board may not accept courses or re-certifications completed on the Internet witkrot

be—zecepted-for advanced cardiac life support, pediatric advanced life support or advanced trauma life
support.

3.6.4 4¢3 These continuing education credits earned will count for part of the 35 hours required for

each biennial period. Thisregtirementiseffectivefor-thebiermialperiod-begitmirg Febrouary 12616
throughtamaary 32648,
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3.7. Categories of Credit. The licensee may select areas of study within the following categories, not to
exceed the maximum number of hours in each category.

3.7.1.fa} Educational and scientific courses - 100% of the requirement may be obtained by
Educational and scientific courses given by permanent or Board approved biennial sponsors.

3.7.2.fb} Supervised self-instruction - 80% of the requirement may be obtained in this category.
Supervised self-instruction shall include a testing mechanism supplied by a permanent or Board approved
biennial sponsor. The licensee shall complete a test and demonstrate a level of comprehension before the
Board will award credit. Tests shall be graded by the sponsor and results returned to the licensee.
Supervised self-instruction includes, but is not limited to:
3.7.2.a.6 Graded audio/video courses;
3.7.2.b.#} Graded correspondence courses; and

3.7.2.c.$3} Graded computer courses.

3.7.3.fe} Non-supervised self-instruction - A maximum of 10% of the requirement may be obtained
in the category. Non-supervised self-instruction includes, but is not limited to:

3.7.3.a.68F Home study - journals and publications;
3.7.3.b.t2} Correspondence programs;
3.7.3.c.f3} Educational television;
3.7.3.d.t4} Audio/video programs;
3.7.3.e.t5+ Scientific exhibits; and
3.7.3.f.¢6+ Study clubs other than biennial sponsors.
3.7.4.4e} Scientific papers, publications, and scientific presentations - A maximum of 10% of the
requirement may be obtained in the category of papers, publications, and scientific presentations; A
maximum of 10% may also be obtained for original scientific papers authored by the licensee and
published in a scientific professional journal, and the original presentation of papers, essays, or formal
lectures to recognized groups of fellow professionals.
3.7.5.fe} Teaching and research appointments - A maximum of 10% of the requirement may be
obtained in this category. Licensees involved in teaching or research activities at an accredited dental or
dental hygiene facility, dental assisting program, dental laboratory technology program, or a part time
faculty or research appointment in such facility or program may also receive a maximum 10% of the

requirement.

3.7.6.68 Original table clinics and scientific exhibits - A maximum of 10% of the requirement may
be obtained in the category of original table clinics and scientific exhibits.

3.7.7.fg) Course subjects on hilling, office management, practice building, insurance reimbursement,
communication skills, courses on how to use dental software, programs, and/or dental equipment are

6
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limited to a maximum of 10% of the requirement whether individually or in any combination.
3.7.8.#1} The Board recognizes successful completion of the following written examinations, as may
be administered by the following agencies, as satisfying the number of required hours of continuing

education in the applicable reporting period:

3.7.8.a.t4 The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments Dental Hygiene Examination
(for hygienists only);

3.7.8.b.f2+ The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments Dental Examination;
3.7.8.c.3+ Academy of General Dentistry's Fellowship Examination;

3.7.8.d.f4 Examinations leading to recognized Specialty Boards' Diplomate status;
3.7.8.e.f5} National Board - All parts, successfully completed;

3.7.8.f.¢6} Central Regional Dental Testing Service’s Written Examinations;
3.7.8.2.A Southern Regional Testing Agency's Written Examinations;

3.7.8.h.t88% Western Regional Examining Board's Written Examination; and

3.7.8.i.{8} any other written exam approved by the Board.

3.7.9.fif Compliance: Compliance with this rule is required for all licensees seeking license renewal

besinmine el 1 2018and-bienniaty-H far
3.8. Dental Committee and Indigent Care Participation.

3.8.1.ta} The Board recognizes those individuats licensees that are serving, (as elected, or appointed
members), on national, state and local dental, or dental hygiene boards, councils or committees and allows
1 hour of continuing education credit for every 4 hours of meeting time to those individuats licensees. This
amount cannot exceed more than 5 hours of the total biennial requirement for each classification of
licensee.

3.8.2.#b1 Dentists may earn up to 8 hours and Dental Hygienists may earn up to 5 hours of
continuing education creditrequirements, per biennial period, for providing dental care toindigent patients.
One-half hour credit witHee is allowed for every hour of documented treatment.

3.9. Exemptions.

3.9.1.fa+ A licensee is exempt from continuing education requirements and is considered in
compliance on the date of the end of the first continuing education reporting period following the licensees

initial licensure. Retired-or—disabled—dentistsordentat-hygremistsaremot-reqtired-to-fulfitcontinuoing

3.9.24p7 EContinningedueationrwilmotberequiredforA dentist who is a graduate student in an

approved dental specialty program, dental internship or residency program, or related dental or medical
degree program offered by an approved organization is not required to complete the continuing education

7
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requirements of this rule, but shall complete at least 3 hours of continuing education regarding drug
diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training and training on prescribing
and administration of an opioid antagonist pursuant to subdivision 3.5.4.f¢} of this rule and the healthcare
provider/basic life support certification pursuant to 3.5.5.fe} of this section.

3.9.34}  EContintingedueationwillretberequiredfor A dental hygienist who is enrolled in an

approved dental program is not reguired to complete the continuing education requirements of this rule,
but mrtst shall complete the healthcare provider/basic life support certification pursuant to subdivision

3.5.5.f=% of this section.
3.10. Penalties for Violation.

3.10.1.¢8% A licensee who has beep—found—te—have—not fulfilled the continuing education
requirements of the Board shall bereqtiredto-pay a penalty as set by the Board’s fee—schedute rule, Fees
Established by the Board, 5CSR3 and has 3 months in which to satisfy the requirements. A licensee who fails
to satisfy the requirements may be subject to disciplinary action, which may include but is not limited to,
animmediate cease and desist from practice notice, notice of formal hearing and/or monetary assessments
or fines.

3.10.2.#b} A false statement on a renewal form or continuing education report form constitutes
unprofessional conduct and may resultin disciplinary action against the licensee as set forthin W. Va. Code
§30-4-19.

§5-11-4. Special Volunteer License Continuing Education Requirements.

4.1. A dentist or dental hygienist licensed as a volunteer shall complete continuing education
biennially.

4.2. Approved Providers.
4.2.1.4s} The Continuing Education course must shall be offered by a Board approved provider.

4.2.2. 8¢ The Board approves any course or program sponsored by the providers as set forth in
sectior5-1E subsection 3.3.2.4b7} of this rule.

4.3. Record Keeping, Reporting, & Monitoring:

4.3.1 fa} tistheresponsibitityof A volunteer licensee to shall maintain accurate records relating
to continuing education courses he or she has successfully completed.

4.3.2 f The volunteer licensee shall maintain the records and information pertaining to each year
stratHrerraintattred-for a period of six (6) years.

4.3.3.4e+ A volunteer licensee shall report all continuing education courses on the form provided
by the Board.

4.3.4.f) The Board shall randomly audit the continuing education records maintained by a
volunteer licensee.

4.3.5.fe+ A volunteer licensee shall submit to the Board byFebraary2618andevery-two-years

8
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thereafter cach reporting period documentation of satisfactory completion of the required hours of

continuing education durimg-theprevious-twoyears.

4.4, Criteria

4.4.1 &} The Board may not give continuing education credit for identical courses taken during the
same continuing education reporting period.

4.4.2 3 A volunteer licensee shall have a minimum of 5 hours of continuing education, which shall
include at least 2 hours related to infection control. A volunteer dentist shall complete 3 hours regarding
drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training and training on

prescribing and administration of an opioid antagonist ard-strattbereportedbegitmring-with-theFebraary
+2618repotrtinsdeadlitre, The Board may waive these requirements rraybe-waivedty-theBoard- upon
receipt of aboard-developed certification form from a volunteer attesting that he or she has not prescribed,
administered, or dispensed a controlled substance during the reporting period.

4.4.3 +e+ The volunteer licensee shall have a current certification for a comprehensive basic life
support course for a health care provider that includes: resuscitation on an adult, child, and infant; two-
parson rescuer; barrier mask or bag for ventilation; foreign body airway obstruction; and automated
external defibrillation. The volunteer licensee shall obtain a CPR certificate shalHse-obtaired -through the
American Heart Association health care provider course, the American Red Cross professional rescuer
course, or an equivalent course. Certification shall be required each continuing education period, and saek
the certification may be counted as continuing education credits.

4.5, Categories of Credit. The volunteer licensee may select areas of study within the following
categories, not to exceed the maximum number of hours in each category.

4.5.1.fat Educational and scientific courses - 100% of the requirement may be obtained by
Educational and scientific courses given by permanent or Board-approved biennial sponsors.

4.5.2.tb} Supervised self-instruction - 80% of the requirement may be obtained in this category.
Supervised self-instruction shall include a testing mechanism supplied by a permanent or Board approved
biennial sponsor. The licensee shall complete a test and demonstrate a level of comprehension before the
Board wilt may award credit. Tests shall be graded by the sponsor and results returned to the licensee.
Supervised self-instruction includes, but is not limited to:

4.5.2.a.88 Graded audio/video courses;

4.5.2.b.£} Graded correspondence courses; and
4.5.2.c.f3} Graded computer courses.

4.5.3.fctCompliance: Compliance with thisrule is required for all volunteer licensees seekinglicense

renewal begitingFebraary- 12618 and-brenmiaty-thereafrer.

4.6. Penalties for Violation.

4.6.1.fat A volunteer licensee who has beerfourd-to-have- not fulfilled the continuing education
requirements of the Board has 3 months in which to satisfy the requirement. A volunteer licensee who fails
to satisfy the requirements may be subject to disciplinary action, which may include but is not limited to,
animmediate cease and desist from practice notice, notice of formal hearing and/or monetary assessments

9
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or fines.

4.6.2.fB3 A false statement on a renewal form or continuing education reporting form constitutes
unprofessional conduct and may resultin disciplinary action against the licensee as set forth in W. Va. Code
§30-4-19.

5-11-5. Teledentistry Registrant Continuing Education Requirements.

5.1. A dentist registered to provide teledentistry services shall complete continuing education as

required by the State her or she is licensed in, but shall complete 3 hours of drug diversion as set forth in
subdivision 3.5.4. of this rule every two years.

5.2. Adental hygienist registered to provide teledentistry services shall complete continuing education
as required by the State her or she is licensed in.

5.3. The Board may randomly audit the continuing education records maintained by a teledentistry
registrant.

5.4. A false statement on a renewal form or continuing education reporting form constitutes
unprofessional conduct and may result in disciplinary action againstthe registrant as set forth in W. Va. Code

§30-4-19.
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