
TITLE 174
LEGISLATIVE RULE
WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
SERIES 6
APPLICATION FOR WAIVER OF INITIAL LICENSING FEES 
FOR CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS

§174-6-1. General.

1.1. Scope. -- This rule establishes procedures for waiving the initial licensing fee for low income individuals and military personnel and their spouses.

1.2. Authority. -- WV Code §30-40-8 and WV Code §30-1-22

1.3. Filing Date. --

1.4. Effective Date. --

1.5. Sunset Provision. -- This rule shall terminate and have no further force or effect upon the expiration of five (5) years from final filing date.
							
§174-6-2. Definitions.

2.1. “Commission” means the West Virginia Real Estate Commission.

2.2. “REC-LIW” means the Real Estate Commission Low Income Waiver form used to request a waiver of the initial licensing fee for low income individuals, as authorized in W.Va. Code §30-1-22;

2.3. “Initial license” means an individual applying for a license in West Virginia sought for the first time;

2.4 "Local labor market" means every county in West Virginia, and any county outside of West Virginia if any portion of that county is within fifty miles of the border of West Virginia, pursuant to W.Va. Code §21-1C-2;

2.5. “Low-income individual” means an individual in the local labor market as defined in §21-1C-2, whose household adjusted gross income is below 130 percent of the federal poverty line. This term also includes any person enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program including, but not limited to, the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program, Medicaid, or the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program; 

2.6. “Military families” means any person who serves as an active member of the armed forces of the United States, the National Guard, or a reserve component as described in 38 U. S. C. §101, honorably discharged veterans of those forces, and their spouses. This term also includes surviving spouses of deceased service members who have not remarried; and  

[bookmark: _Hlk7439543]2.7 “REC-MFW” means the Real Estate Commission Military Family Waiver form used to request a waiver of the initial licensing fee for military service members and their spouses as described in §30-1-22.
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§174-6-3. Application for Waiver of Initial Licensure Fees.

3.1. An applicant seeking a low income or military family waiver of the initial licensing fee shall apply for licensure to the Commission and provide the required documentation.
 
3.2. The Commission shall provide the application form and instructions on what documentation is necessary to submit with the license application requesting the low income or military family initial licensing fee waiver.

3.3.  An applicant shall submit all required documentation to the Commission and upon the submission of a complete application, the Commission shall review the application and issue a decision within 30 days of receipt of the completed application. 

3.4. The Commission may issue a license to an applicant who meets the requirements for licensure, under the West Virginia Real Estate License Act and the rules promulgated by the Commission, and the Commission shall waive the initial licensing fee for an applicant that meets the requirement of “low-income individuals” or “military families” as defined in W.Va. Code §30-1-22. 

§174-6-4. Required Documentation for Waiver of Initial Licensure Fees.

4.1. Individuals requesting a waiver of initial licensure fees for low income or military service personnel and their spouses, shall submit with the application for licensure the initial licensure waiver REC-LIW or REC-MFW form and the appropriate documentation as specified in this section.

4.2.  To establish low income eligibility for the initial licensing fee waiver, an applicant shall submit to the Commission evidence that the adjusted gross income of the household of the applicant is at or below 130% of the federal poverty level by submitting documentation of eligibility for:

		4.2.1. Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program;

		4.2.2. Medicaid; 

		4.2.3.  Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program; or

		4.2.4. A Federal Tax Return.

4.3. To establish military family eligibility for the initial licensing fee waiver, an applicant shall submit to the Commission proof of qualifying military service and proof of eligibility as a qualifying spouse or widow, as follows:

		4.3.1. A service members DD-214 form;

		4.3.2. A service members NGB-22 form; 

		4.3.3. A service members DD-1300 form; or 

		4.3.4. A copy of their current military orders; and

4.3.5. A copy of the marriage certificate with the qualifying service member and, where applicable, the death certificate of the service member if the widow is applying for the military family waiver.  

[bookmark: _GoBack]4.4. Honorably discharged applicants shall submit a completed application, and a DD-214 form or an NGB-22 form showing the applicant has been honorably discharged from military service.
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