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MAC WARNER
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ADMINISTRATIVE LAW DIVISION Secretary Of State
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AGENCY: Labor
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The above proposed Legisiative rules, following review by the Legisiative Rule Making Review
Committee, is hereby modified as a result of review and comment by the Legislative Rule
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BY CHOOSING 'YES', | ATTEST THAT THE PREVIOUS STATEMENT IS TRUE AND CORRECT.
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TITLE 42
LEGISLATIVE RULE
DIVISION OF LABCR

SERIES 9
CHILD LABOR
§42-9-1. General.
1.1. Scope. -- This rule is for the enforcement of all matters concerning the Child Labor Act, W. Va.

Code §21-6 -1 et seq.
1.2. Authority. -- W. Va. Code §21-6-11.
1.3. Filing Date. -- Apri222015-
1.4. Effective Date. -- ubyp1—2015-

1.5. Repes HE- i epealsaRdrepiace 5 d-tab ed-tub10-
2002ardeffective-Ausust1—2002- Sunset Date. -- This rule shall terminate and have no further force or
effect upon the expiration of 10 vears from its effective date.

§42-9-2. Application and Enforcement.

2.1. Application. This rule applies to all persons, employers, employees, and minor children governed
or otherwise within the purview of the Child Labor Act, W. Va. Code §21-6 -1 et seq.

2.2. Enforcement. The enforcement of the Child Labor Act, W. Va. Code §21-6 -1 et seq.
and this rule is vested with the West Virginia Division of Labor.

§42-9-3, Definitions.
3.1. The “Act” means the Child Labor Act, W. Va. Code §21-6 -1 et seq.

3.2. “Age certificate” or “certificate of age” means the form authorized by the Division of Labor for
the employment of a 16 or 17 year old minor that is issued by the superintendent of schools for the
purpose of certifying the minor’s age and place and date of birth.

3.3. “Approved program” means a training program that is equivalent to that of the West Virginia
State Fire Commission, the West Virginia Department of Education Public Service Firefighter Training, or

the West Virginia University Fire Service Extension’s Junior Firefighter Training, and that has been
approved by the Commissioner.

3.4. “Blanket work permit” means the form authorized and issued by the Division of Labor for the
employment of 25 or more minor children for a period of 90 days or less, which includes an
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acknowlaedgment from the prospective employer stating that he or she is familiar with and will abide by

the ShildaberAet W Va—Cede§5216—letseg- Act and this rule, and which lists the names, birth dates,

ages, and job description for each minor child.

3.5. “Board of education” means the board of education in the county where the minor child resides.

3+ 3.6. “Certified birth certificate” means a birth certificate issued by the West Virginia Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of Vital Statistics, by the County Clerk of the West Virginia county
in which the minor was born, or by an office listed on the National Vital Statistics System maintained by
the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

32 3.7. “Code of Federal Regulations” or “CFR” refers to the codification of the rules and regulations
of an agency of the United States government.

39 3.8. “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of the Division of Labor, or his or her authorized
designee.

3106 3.9. “County” means the county where the minor child resides.

341 3.10. “Dangerous or injurious occupation” er—eppressive-geeupation— means an occupation
identified in W. Va. Code §21-6-2, any occupation that the Commissioner determines is detrimental to a
minor’'s health,_safety, or well-being, or that interferes with a minor’'s education, and any occupation
identified by the Secretary of the United States Department of Labor as oppressive.

342 3.11. “Division” means the West Virginia Division of Labor.

313 3.12. “Employ” means to hire, permit, or suffer to work.

334 3.13. “Employer” means any person, firm, or corporation employing a minor child.

3172 3.14. “Immediate supervision” or “direct supervision” means supervision by a responsible party
who is within the immediate physical proximity of the minor and is responsible for managing, overseging
and directing the minor’s work activities.

338, 3.15. “Issuing officer” means the person who has been authorized in writing by the county
superintendent of schools to review and approve work permit applications and age certificate
applications.



42 CSR 9

3149 3.16. “NFPA” refers to the National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy,
MA 02169.

320. 3.17. “Parent” means and includes a minor's parent, guardian, custodian or other person
standing in the place of the minor’s parent.

321, 3.18. “Personal protective equipment” e+—turredtgear— means NFPA-compliant boots, coats,
pants, helmets, hoods, gloves and self-contained breathing apparatus with face piece.

322, 3.19. “Responsible party” means a regular, full-time, qualified and experienced adult employee
or business owner, or, pursuant to W. Va. Code §21-6-2(c), a fire line officer.

324. 3.20. “School hours” or “while school is in session” means the hours during which county public
schools are in session.

325, 3.21. “School week” means Monday through Sunday while county schools are in session.

326. 3.22. “Special circumstances,” means and includes a minor child’s particular situation, life
experiences, abilities, training, or any other conditions or facts that the Commissioner may consider in
determining whether to issue a supervision permit.

3-2#. 3.23. “Superintendent of schools” means the superintendent of schools for the county where
the minor child resides, or ap-rdividualwhe-has-beer the superintendent’s designated issuing officer #

328, 3.24. “Supervision permit” means the form authorized and issued by the Division of Labor for

the employment of a minor child under special circumstances that promote the best interests of the minor
child.
329 3.25. “Work experience program,” “work-study program,” or “work-based learning program”
means a school-supervised and school-administered program for 14 and 15 year old minors enrolled in a
college preparatory curriculum that meets the educational standards established by the WV Department
of Education, and has been approved by the Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division of the United
States Department of Labor.

330, 3.26. “Work experience and career exploration program” or “WECEP” means a school-
supervised and school-administered program for 14 and 15 year old minors that meets the educational
standards established by the WV Department of Education and has been approved by the Administrator
of the Wage and Hour Division of the United States Department of Labor.

333, 3.27. “Work permit” means the form authorized by the Division of Labor for the employment
of a 14 or 15 year old minor child and issued by the county superintendent of schools.
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§42-9-4. Adoption—ef—tedoral-Regulations—Concarming—Child—Laber Commissioner’ Determination
Regarding Occupations That Are Dangerous Or Injurious To A Child.
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Pursuant to W. Va. Code §21-6-2, when the Commissioner determines whether an occupation is
dangerous or injurious to a child, he or she shall consider any applicable general guidance, interpretive
guidance, fact sheets, opinion letters, and child labor rules published, issued, or promulgated by the
United States Department of Labor, including, but not limited to, the Hazardous Occupation Orders in 29
C.F.R. §§570 through 570.55 and 570.57 through 570.68, or any other information that he or she deems
necessary and relevant.

§42-9-5. Application for and Issuance of a Work Permit for a 14 or 15 Year Old Mincr Child.

5.1. When a 14 or 15 year old minor wants to work in a permissible occupation as set forth in the Act
and this rule, the Division’s work permit form, available from the county superirterdentefsehesls board
of education and the Division’s website (labor.wv.gov), shall be completed by the minor's prospective
employer, the minor’s parent, the minor’s school principal or registrar, and the county superintendent of
schools.

5.2. The Division’s work permit form consists of 4 parts, as follows:

521 5.2.a. The minor’s prospective employer shall complete Part A, to include a description of
the minor’s intended work activities and any equipment or machines the minor will use, the minor’s
intended hours of employment, the minor’s total hours of work per day and per week, and the minor’s
total work days per week;

522 5.2.b. After the minor's prospective employer completes Part A, the minor’s parent shall
complete Part B, giving permission for his or her child to work for the prospective employer and shall
attach the minor’s certified birth certificate;

5232 5.2.c. After Parts A and B are completed, the minor’s school principal or registrar shall
complete Part C, certifying that the minor is currently attending school; and

524, 5.2.d. After Parts A, B, and C are completed, the county superintendent of schools shall
review the information completed by the minor’s prospective employer, the minor’s parent, and the

minor’s school principal or registrar, and-shalcertif-thatthetrirorpersenaliyappeared-beforehirmor

ker, and shall either issue, modify, or reject the work permit.

5.3. The superintendent of schools shall retain the original work permit, shall provide the Division
with a copy within 4 days of its issuance, and shall furnish copies to the minor’s parent and to the minor’s
employer.

5.4. If required by the minor’s prospective employer erthesuperirterdentofsehoels, the minor’s

parent shall attach documentation of a current physical examination to the application for a work permit.

§42-9-6. Employer Responsibilities When Employing a 14 or 15 Year Old Minor Child Pursuant to a Work
Permit.
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6.1. Before allowing or permitting a 14 or 15 year old minor to work, an employer shall first have in
his or her possession a properly issued work permit as set forth in W. Va. Code §21-6-4 and this rule.

6.2. An employer is responsible for complying with the terms and conditions of the minor’s
employment as set forth in the work permit.

6.3. When school is in session, an employer shall ensure that the minor does not work:
&-3-1. 6.3.3. Before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m.;
€-3-2. 6.3.b. For more than 3 hours a day; or
633 6.3.c. For more than a total of 18 hours per week during a school week.
6.4. When school is in session, an employer shall ensure that the minor does not work during the
hours that school is in session, unless the minor is participating in an approved school-supervised work

experience program or in a school-administered WECEP program.

&-4-1. 6.4.a. Anemployer shall ensure that a 14 or 15 year old minor enrolled in a work experience
program or WECEP program works no more than 3 hours a day on a school day.

&-426.4.b. An employer shall ensure that a 14 or 15 year old minor enrolled in a work experience
program or WECEP program works no more than 23 hours during a school week.

6.5. During those times when school is not in session, an employer shall:

&-5-1 6.5.a. Limit the minor's work hours to a maximum of 8 hours per day and a maximum of
40 hours per week;

&-52. 6.5.b. Limit the minor’'s work hours to between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m.; and

6-5-2. 6.5.c. Ensure that the minor does not work continuously for 5 hours or more without at
least a 30 minute meal break.

§42-9-7. Work Permit for a Child Under 14 Years of Age.

The Commissioner may approve a work permit for a minor under 14 years of age only when the minor
plans to work in the school he or she regularly attends and only during regular school hours.

§42-9-8. Application for and Issuance of an Age Certificate for a 16 or 17 Year Old Minor Child.

8.1. A prospective employer may obtain the Division’s age certificate form for a 16 or 17 year old
minor from the county superintendent—of—schools board of education or the Division’s website
{labor.wv.gov), and shall provide the employer’'s name and address, a brief description of the employer’s
business or industry, and a brief description of the minor’s occupation or job.

8.2. The minor shall furnish a certified birth certificate to the esuprty superintendent of schools as
proof his or her age. A copy of a certified birth certificate may satisfy this reguirement.
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8.3. Upon receipt of the minor’s certified birth certificate establishing that he or she is 16 years old
or older, and a determination that the employer’s business or industry and the minor’s occupation or job
are permissible under the Act and this rule, the superintendent of schools shall issue an age certificate to
the employer.

8.4, The superintendent of schools shall retain the original age certificate, shall provide copies to the
Division, the minor’s parent, and the minor’s employer.

§42-9-8. Application for and Issuance of a Supervision Permit.
9.1. When a minor child wants to be employed under special circumstances, the Division’s supervision

permit form, available from the Commissioner and the Division’s website (labor.wv.gov) shall be
completed by the minor’s prospective employer and the minor’s parent.

9.2. The Division’s supervision permit consists of 3 parts, as follows:

921 9.2.a. The minor’s prospeactive employer shall complete Part A, to include the following
information:

921a- 9.2.a.1. Adescription of the employer’s business;

92 1h- 9.2.3.2. A detailed description of proposed terms and conditions of the minor’s job,
including the minor’s work schedule, the days and hours of work each week, and total hours of work each
week;

921« 9.2.a.3. A detailed description of the proposed tasks the minor will perform, and
specification of the machines and equipment the minor will use;

921d. 9.2.a.4. The name and job title of the person who is going to supervise the minor,
the length of time the responsible supervisor has been employed by the employer, the specifics of the
responsible supervisor’s work schedule and a description of how the responsible supervisor will supervise
the minor;

921e. 9.2.a.5. Anexplanation of the minor’s special circumstances that are relevant to the
proposed tasks the minor will perform and the machines and equipment the minor will use;

921+ 9.2.3.6. An explanation of how and why the proposed job will be in the minor’s best
interests; and

9231 9.2.a.7. Astatement that the employer is not subject to federal regulation regarding
child labor;

922 9.2.b. After the prospective employer has completed Part A, the minor’'s parent shall
complete Part B, to include the following information:

9224 9.2.b.1. An explanation of how and why the proposed job will be in the minor’s best
interests;
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92 2b- 9.2.b.2. Astatement in support of the minor’'s proposed job;

922« 9.2.b.3. Adescription of the minor’s previous work experience or training relevant to
the proposed job; and

9224 9.2.b.4. A statement of any concerns, restrictions or conditions regarding the
proposed job that the parent or guardian believes are necessary to ensure that the minor’s best interests
will be met, including any training the parent or guardian believes the employer must provide.

9.3. Upon receipt of a properly completed application for a supervision permit, the Commissioner
shall timely investigate the request, including interviewing the prospective employer and any other
matters the Commissioner considers necessary.

9.4, If, after review of the supervision permit and the investigation, the Commissioner finds the
application to be in the minor’s best interests, he or she may issue or modify the supervision permit to
the employer and set forth the employer’s responsibility to comply with all terms and conditions of the
supervision permit. The Commissioner shall provide a copy of the supervision permit to the minor's
parent or guardian.

5. If, after review, the Commissioner finds that the application is not in the minor’s best interests,
he or she shall provide the employer and the minor’s parent or guardian with a written explanation for
denying the application.

§42-9-10. Application for and Issuance of a Blanket Work Permit; Employer Responsibilities.
10.1. When an employer wants to employ 25 or more children ages 14 through 15 for a short-term

period of 90 days or less, the employer shall apply for a blanket work permit directly to the Commissioner
on the Division’s form available on the Division’s website (labor.wv.gov).

10.2. The application for a blanket work permit shall include the following:

3923 10.2.a. A letter from the employer acknowledging his or her familiarity with the Child

Labor Act, W a—Cede§21l-b-l-etseq- and this rule, and his or her intent to abide by and comply with
the Act and this rule; and

1922 10.2.b. A list of the names, birth dates, ages, date the employment will begin and end,
and job description or tasks for each child to be included in the blanket work permit.

10.3. Upon receipt of the required information, the Commissioner shallissue a letter to the employer,
approving, modifying or denying the blanket work permit.

10.4. An employer shall only employ children under a blanket work parmit after receiving the
Commissioner’s approval, and only for the approved children, dates of employment, and jobs and tasks

specified.

§42-9-11. Revocation of a Work Permit, Age Certificate, Supervision Permit, or Blanket Work Permit.
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11.1. If the Commissioner determines that a work permit, an age certificate, a supervision permit or
a blanket work permit was improperly issued, or contains inaccurate or false information, he or she may
revoke it.

11.2. If the Commissioner revokes a work permit, an age certificate, a supervision permit or a blanket
work permit, he or she shall immediately notify the superintendent of schools and the employer in writing
of the revocation.

11.3. Upon receipt of the revocation, the employer shall immediately end the minor’s employment.

§42-9-12. Minors Ages 16 and 17 Engaging in Volunteer Fire Department Activities; Responsibilities of
the Volunteer Fire Department; Prohibited and Permitted Activities.

12.1. a2 A 16 or 17 year old minor wartste-velurteerfer may be employed by or elected as a member
of a volunteer fire department fo perform fire-fighting functions, other than those prohibited in
subsection 12.3, if he or she shal:

1211 12.1.a. Havesuecesstully |s enrolled in, is participating in, or has completed the minimum
training requirements of one of the following programs: the West Virginia University Fire Service
Extension Training Program—Seetier-O+e for Junior Firefighters; the West Virginia State Fire Marshals

Office Commission; a—Regioral—Educatior—Serdca—Agehrey—{RESA~™} the West Virginia Department of
Education Public Service Firefighter Training; or an equivalent approved program; and

1242 12.1.b. Have Has the written consent of his or her parent to »elurteer be employed by or
be elected as a member of-f-e; a volunteer fire department.

12.2. The volunteer fire department is responsible for and shall ensure that:

1221 12.2.a. The minor has provided documentation of his or her enrollment in, participation
in, or successful completion of one of the training programs in suebsection323-3- subdivision 12.1.a. of
this section;

1222 12.2.b. The minor has provided an Age Certificate;

1222 12.2.c. The minor is under the direct supervision and control of trained and qualified fire
protection personnel; and

1224 12.2.d. The minor's parent’s consent is on file as long as the minor’s name appears on the
volunteer fire department’s roster of volunteers.

12.3. A minorshall not:
1231 12.3.a. Drive any fire apparatus, ambulance or other official fire vehicle;

1232 12.3.b. Operate flashing lights, a siren or other audible signal when responding to an alarm
in his or her own personal vehicle or any other vehicle;
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1233 12.3.c. Operate or climb an aerial ladder, aerial platform or hydraulic jack at a fire scene
or an emergency scene;

1234 12.3.d. Use rubber electrical gloves, insulated wire gloves, insulated wire cutters, life nets,
acetylene cutting units, K-12 fire rescue saws, air chisels, jaws of life or other hydraulic rescue tools or
other equipment related to rescue and fire operations at a fire scene or an emergency scene;

123-5-12.3.e. Operate the pumps or high-pressure hoses of any fire vehicle while at a fire scene
Or an emergency scene; ar

123.6. 12.3.f. Enter a burning structure.
12.4. Aslong as a minor is wearing personal protective equipment, he or she may:

424+ 12.4.a. Participate in training activities of the West Virginia University Fire Service
Extension Training Program—SeetienOre for Junior Firefighters, the West Virginia State Fire Marshals

Office Commission, a—Regioral—Educatioh—Serdca—Agahrey—{—RESA~} the West Virginia Department of

Education Public Service Firefighter Training or an equivalent program approved by the Commissioner;

1242 12.4.b. Administer first-aid at a fire scene or an emergency scene, but only at a safe
distance away from any building or structure;

1242, 12.4.c. Clean up the outside area of a fire or emergency scene, but not the inside area of
a building or structure, after a fire has been declared by the official in charge to be under control; and

1244 12.4.d. Provide coffee and food service at a fire scene or an emergency scene, if needed,
but only at a safe distance away from any building or structure.

12.5. A minor may not respond to a fire while school is in session or during school hours, unless
the fire official in charge has obtained permission from tha minor’s school principal.
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