42 CSR 12

TITLE 42
LEGISLATIVE RULE
DIVISION OF LABOR

SERIES 12
BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERED FURNITURE

§42-12-1.  General.

	1.1.  Scope.  --  This rule is for the enforcement of all matters concerning the regulation of bedding and upholstered furniture pursuant to W. Va. Code §47-1A-1 et seq.

	1.2.  Authority.  --  W. Va. Code §47-1A-15.

	1.3.  Filing Date.  -- March 23, 2018.

	1.4.  Effective Date.  -- March 30, 2018.
	
	1.5.  Sunset Date.  --  This rule shall terminate and have no further force or effect on March 30, 2028.
upon the expiration of 10 years from its effective date.

§42-12-2.  Application and Enforcement.

	2.1.  Application.  This rule applies to all persons governed or otherwise within the purview of the Regulation and Control of Bedding and Upholstery Businesses Act, W. Va. Code §47-1A-1 et seq.

	2.2.  Enforcement.  The enforcement of this rule is vested with the West Virginia Division of Labor.

§42-12-3.  Definitions.

	3.1.  The “Act” for purposes of this rule, means the Regulation and Control of Bedding and Upholstery Businesses Act, W. Va. Code §47-1A-1 et seq.

	3.2.  “Antique,” as used in W. Va. Code §47-1A-11, means a product that is at least 75 years old.

	3.3.  “As is,” as used in W. Va. Code §47-1A-11, means the condition of an intact, complete secondhand article of bedding that has not been remade or renovated in any way.

	3.4.  “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of the Division of Labor or his or her authorized representatives.

	3.5.  “Complete application” means an application that includes all the information required in sections 6 and 8 of this rule.

	3.6.  “Contested application” means an application that the Commissioner challenges, which can include, but is not limited to, incomplete information.

	3.7.  “Division” means the West Virginia Division of Labor.

	3.8.  “Fill material” or “filling material” means any material used in the manufacture or renovation of articles of bedding or upholstered furniture, including cotton, wool, kapok, feathers, down, hair or any other material or combination of materials.

	3.9.  “Final action” means the issuance or denial of an application for a permit.

	3.10. “IABFLO” refers to the International Association of Bedding and Furniture Law Officials, http://abflo.info/index.htm.

	3.11.  “Manufacturer” or “maker” means a person that alters, repairs, finishes, makes, or produces articles of bedding, upholstered furniture, or filling material, using either new or secondhand materials, for sale to the general public.

	3.12.  “Person” means an individual, a partnership, an association, a business, an auctioneer, a trust, a corporation, or any other entity engaged in the manufacturing, selling, renovating, upholstering or sterilizing of any article of bedding, upholstered furniture, or filling material. 

	3.13.  “Registration certificate” means the annual registration document issued by the Commissioner authorizing a manufacturer, upholsterer or renovator seller, or vendor to ship or sell articles of bedding in West Virginia.

	3.14.  Registration number” or “registry number” means the unique number assigned by the Division to an applicant for a registration certificate, or a uniform registry number assigned to an applicant by another State. 

	3.15.  “Renovator” means a person who repairs, remakes, rebuilds, recovers, restores, renovates or renews any article of bedding or upholstered furniture.
	
	3.16.   “Sell” means to offer or expose for sale, barter, trade, deliver, give away, rent, consign, lease, possess with an intent to sell, or dispose of in any commercial manner.

	3.15.  “Seller” or “vendor” means a person who sells articles of bedding to the general public. 

	3.17.  3.16.  “Sterilization permit” means the annual permit issued by the Commissioner. 

	3.18.  3.17.  “Sterilizer” means a person who sterilizes articles of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material.

	3.19. 3.18.  “Tag,” “label,” or “law label” means the tag or label required by W. Va. Code §47-1A-11 to be affixed to articles of bedding or upholstered furniture. 

	3.20. 3.19.  “Uniform Registry Number” or “URN” means the unique number accepted by all states in the United States that allows the use of one state’s registration number for use on any other state’s law labels or tags, as long as the state assigning the registration number regulates bedding.

	3.21.  “Upholstered furniture” means any article of furniture intended for human use for sitting, resting or reclining that is wholly or partially stuffed or filled with filling material, including outdoor furniture pads. 

	3.22.  “Upholsterer” means a person who manufactures upholstered furniture.
 
§42-12-4.  Adoption of IABFLO’s Standardized Classification of Filling Materials and Uniform Law Labels.

	The following documents are adopted and incorporated by reference:

	4.1.  IABFLO’s “Classification of Filling Materials” is adopted and incorporated by reference. ; and

	4.2.  IABFLO’s “Uniform Law Labels.”

§42-12-5.  Registration Certificate Required; Validity.

	5.1.  Before manufacturing or selling ,renovating, or upholstering any article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material for shipment into or for sale or rental in this State, a manufacturer, renovator or upholsterer seller or vendor shall submit a complete application for a registration certificate to the Commissioner on a form provided by the Division.  

	5.2.  A registration certificate expires annually on June 30.

	5.3.  A registration certificate is valid for the business location and name as stated on the certificate, and is not valid if transferred or assigned to any other business location or name.

§42-12-6.  Initial and Renewal Application for a Registration Certificate; Fees.

	6.1.  A manufacturer, renovator or upholsterer seller, or vendor shall submit a separate application for a registration certificate for each business location or name.

	6.2.  An applicant for an initial or renewal manufacturer, renovator or upholsterer seller, or vendor registration certificate shall include a $90.00 fee for each business location or name in United States currency.  

		6.2.a.  If the applicant submits the fee by check, the check shall be drawn on a bank that has a banking charter or license issued by a state in the United States or is chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

		6.2.b.  If the applicant submits the fee by check drawn on a bank not chartered or licensed by a state in the United States or not chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Commissioner shall refuse the check and return it to the applicant.  

		6.2.c.  A person who is both a manufacturer and a seller or vendor shall pay a single $90.00 registration fee.  

	6.3.  The preferred method for payment of a renewal application fee is by credit card.

	6.4.  An applicant for an initial manufacturer’s registration certification shall include 2 original tags or labels intended for use with an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material.  

		6.4.a.  An applicant may submit a template for approval by the Commissioner prior to having the tags or labels printed. 

		6.4.b.  Before issuing a registration certificate, the Commissioner shall approve the applicant’s tag or label for use.  

	6.5.  The Division shall mail annual renewal applications to current certificate holders at their last known registered address no later than April 15.

§42-12-7.  Sterilization Permit Required; Posting of the Permit. 

	7.1.  Before sterilizing any article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material for shipment into, or for sale or rental in this State, a sterilizer shall submit a complete application for a sterilization permit to the Commissioner on a form provided by the Division. 

	7.2.  A sterilization permit expires annually on June 30.

	7.3.  A sterilization permit is valid for the business location and name as stated on the permit, and is not valid if transferred or assigned to any other business location or name.

	7.4.  The sterilizer shall ensure that the sterilization permit is conspicuously posted near the sterilizing equipment. 

§42-12-8.  Initial and Renewal Application for a Sterilization Permit; Fees.

	8.1.  A sterilizer shall submit a separate application for a sterilization permit for each business location or name.

	8.2.  An applicant for an initial or renewal sterilization permit shall include a $90.00 fee for each business location or name in United States currency. The preferred method for payment of the application fee is by credit card.
	
		8.2.a.  If the applicant submits the fee by check, the check shall be drawn on a bank that has a banking charter or license issued by a state in the United States or is chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

		8.2.b.  If the applicant submits the fee by check drawn on a bank not chartered or licensed by a state in the United States or not chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Commissioner shall refuse the check and return it to the applicant.  

	8.3.  An applicant for an initial sterilization permit shall include a complete description of its sterilization process and procedures, including identification of the types of items to be sterilized and the names of the chemicals to be used.

	8.4.  An applicant for a renewal sterilization permit shall include a description of any changes to its previously approved sterilization process.

	8.5.  Before issuing a sterilization permit, the Commissioner shall approve the proposed sterilization process.  If the Commissioner does not approve the sterilization process, he or she shall provide the applicant with a written explanation for the disapproval.  

	8.6.  The Division shall mail annual renewal applications to current permit holders at their last known registered address no later than April 15.

	8.7.  Upon receipt of a complete application, the Commissioner shall issue a sterilization permit within 30 days if the application is uncontested.  

	8.8.  If the application is contested by the Commissioner, he or she shall have 90 days to take final action on the application.

		8.8.a.  The Commissioner shall promptly notify the applicant in writing, either by email or certified mail, return receipt requested, of the reasons for contesting the application and afford the applicant the opportunity to respond.

		8.8.b.  If, after notice, the applicant fails to respond to the Commissioner’s objections, the Commissioner shall deny the application.

§42-12-9.  Issuance of a Registration or Permit Number.

	9.1.  Upon receipt of complete application for a registration certificate or sterilization permit, the Division shall assign a registration or permit number to the applicant, or shall use the applicant’s uniform registry number, if one is available.

	9.2.  The Division shall assign or use a unique registration or sterilization number for each business name or location.

	9.3.  A manufacturer, renovator, upholsterer or sterilizer shall use either the registration or permit number assigned by the Division or the uniform registry number on all labels or tags required by the Act or this rule.  

§42-12-10.  Tags or Labels Required; Information Required.

	10.1.  “All New Material” white tag or label.  

		10.1.a.  A manufacturer, seller, or vendor shall ensure that a white tag or label is properly attached to an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material that contains all new material, and that the white tag or label conforms to the provisions of W. Va. Code §§47-A-11 and -12.

[bookmark: _GoBack]		10.1.b.  When the bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material does not require sterilizing, the “All New Material” white tag or label shall conform to either the sample tag in Appendix A of this rule or the tag as recommended by IABFLO .

	10.2.  “Secondhand or Renovated material Material” yellow tag or label.  

		10.2.a.  A renovator, upholsterer or sterilizer manufacturer, seller, or vendor shall ensure that a yellow tag or label is properly attached to an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material that contains secondhand material, and that the yellow tag or label conforms to the provisions of W. Va. Code §§47-1A-11 and -12. 

		10.2.b.  When the second-hand bedding or upholstered furniture has been renovated or otherwise remade and has been sterilized, the “Secondhand or Renovated or Remade Material - Sterilized” light yellow tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix B of this rule.

		10.2.c.  When the second-hand bedding or upholstered furniture has been renovated or otherwise remade for a specific owner and not for sale to the general public, the “Renovated or Remade for Specific Owner - Not To Be Sold” light yellow tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix C of this rule.

		10.2.d. 10.2.c.  When the second-hand bedding or upholstered furniture is intact, complete, has not been renovated or otherwise remade from its immediate prior owner, and has not been sterilized, the “Secondhand - Contents Unknown - Not Sterilized” dark yellow tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix D C of this rule.

		10.2.e.  10.2.d.  When the second-hand bedding or upholstered furniture is intact, complete,  has not been renovated or otherwise remade from its immediate prior owner, and has been sterilized, the “Secondhand - Contents Unknown - Sterilized” dark yellow tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix E D of this rule.

	10.3.  “Contents Declared Unclean” red tag or label.  

		10.3.a.  If the Commissioner determines that an article of bedding, upholstered furniture, or filling material has come into contact with, or could have come into contact with, an individual with an infectious or contagious disease, he or she shall cause a red tag or label to be affixed to the exposed items. 

		10.3.b.  When an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material has been declared unclean, the “Contents Declared Unclean” red tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix F E of this rule. 
 
	10.4.  “Article or Material Placed Off-Sale” blue tag or label.  

		10.4.a.  If the Commissioner determines that an article of bedding, upholstered furniture, or filling material is not properly tagged or labeled as required by W. Va. Code §§47-1A-11 and -12, or that the tag or label contains inaccurate or misleading terms or information, he or she shall cause a blue tag or label to be affixed to the improperly or inaccurately tagged or labeled items. 

		10.4.b.  When an article of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling material has been improperly or inaccurately tagged or labeled, the “Article or Material Placed Off-Sale” blue tag or label shall conform to the sample tag in Appendix G F of this rule.  












APPENDIX A

BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY WHITE SAMPLE TAG / LABEL ALL NEW MATERIAL

	STITCHING AREA

	UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER

	ALL NEW MATERIAL CONSISTING OF:



CONTENTS STERILIZED

	REGISTRATION #:

	CERTIFICATION IS MADE BY THE MANUFACTURER THAT THE MATERIALS IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAW

	NAME AND ADDRESS OF MANUFACTURER:

	OPTIONAL INFORMATION

DATE OF DELIVERY: FINISHED SIZE: AND/OR WEIGHT: FEDERAL RN #: MADE IN:








APPENDIX B

BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY LIGHT YELLOW SAMPLE TAG / LABEL SECONDHAND OR RENOVATED MATERIAL - STERILIZED
RENOVATED OR REMADE - STERILIZED


	STITCHING AREA

	UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER

	THIS ARTICLE HAS BEEN RENOVATED BY ADDING THE FOLLOWING MATERIALS:





OR

NO MATERIALS ADDED

	STERILIZATION PERMIT #: WV

	REGISTRATION #:

	CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THE MATERIALS IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAW

	DATE STERILIZED:

	NAME AND ADDRESS OF RENOVATOR OR REMAKER:













   APPENDIX C

BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY LIGHT YELLOW SAMPLE TAG / LABEL
RENOVATED OR REMADE FOR A SPECIFIC OWNER                                         NOT TO BE SOLD
	STITCHING AREA

	UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER

	THIS ARTICLE HAS BEEN RENOVATED BY ADDING THE FOLLOWING MATERIALS:



OR

NO MATERIALS ADDED

	STERILIZATION PERMIT #: WV

	REGISTRATION #:

	CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THE MATERIALS IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAW

	NOT FOR SALE TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC
NAME AND ADDRESS OF OWNER:

	DATE STERILIZED:

	CONTENTS NOT STERILIZED:

	NAME  AND  ADDRESS  OF  REMAKER  OR RENOVATOR:








APPENDIX D C

BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY DARK YELLOW SAMPLE TAG / LABEL
SECONDHAND CONTENTS - CONTENTS UNKNOWN          NOT STERILIZED

	STITCHING AREA

	UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER

	SECONDHAND CONTENTS UNKNOWN NOT STERILIZED

	REGISTRATION #:

	CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THE MATERIALS IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAW

	NAME AND ADDRESS OF VENDOR

	SOLD BY:

















APPENDIX E D

BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY DARK YELLOW SAMPLE TAG / LABEL
SECONDHAND CONTENTS - CONTENTS UNKNOWN  STERILIZED

	STITCHING AREA

	UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER

	SECONDHAND CONTENTS UNKNOWN STERILIZED

	STERILIZATION PERMIT #: DATE STERILIZED:

	CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THE MATERIALS IN THIS ARTICLE ARE DESCRIBED IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAW

	NAME AND ADDRESS OF STERILIZER:

	SOLD BY:























	


APPENDIX F E

BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY RED SAMPLE TAG / LABEL CONTENTS DECLARED UNCLEAN



	STITCHING AREA

	
UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED

	
THIS ARTICLE OR MATERIAL HAS BEEN PLACED OFF-SALE BY THE COMMISSIONER OF THE
WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF LABOR

	
SPECIAL NOTES:

THIS ARTICLE HAS BEEN DECLARED “UNCLEAN”

	NAME AND ADDRESS OF LOCATION WHERE PLACED OFF-SALE:


























	
APPENDIX G F

BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY BLUE SAMPLE TAG / LABEL ARTICLE OR MATERIAL PLACED OFF-SALE
	STITCHING AREA

	UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG SHALL NOT BE REMOVED

	THIS ARTICLE OR MATERIAL HAS BEEN PLACED OFF-SALE BY THE COMMISSIONER OF THE
WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF LABOR

	SPECIAL NOTES:

	NAME AND ADDRESS OF LOCATION WHERE PLACED OFF-SALE:








13

