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There would be no revenue impact. This 1s a renewal of a current rule.
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SUMMARIZE INACLEAR AND CONCISE MANNER CONTENTS OF CHANGES IN RULE AND
STATEMENT OF CIRCUMSTANCES REQUIRING THE RULE.

This rule 1s used by the West Virginia State Tax Department in the administration of .
Va. (ode §11-19-5t, which authorizes the Tax (ommissioner to require certailn taxpayers to
make tax payments by electronic funds transfer so that the funds will be immediately
availlable to the 5tate Treasury on the due date of payment. The amendments to this rule
change the threshold amounts for when the payment of taxes by electronic funds transfer
1s required. The amendments also expand the tax types that are subject to the electronic
filing requirements.

West Virginia (Code §§11-10-5t and 11-13V-7 were amended during the 2015 lLegislative
session to reguilre electronic filing and the payment of tax by electronic funds transfer
for those who had a total annual remittance during the preceding tax year an amount of
$25,000 or more for any single tax, beginning on or after January 1, 2016; prior to the
amendment, the requirement applied to those persons who had a total annual remittance for
any single tax equal to or greater than $10,000 during the immediately preceding tax
year. Further, the amendments to West Virginia (Code §11-13V-7 removed the authority that
had allowed the Tax Department to use the current $19,€09 threshold, so that within 90
days
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after its passage and until the new $25,9€0 threshold takes effect beginning on or after

January 1, 2016, only when a taxpayers annual aggregate liability under that article and
article 13A (the Severance and Business Privilege Act) exceeds $50,000 for the prior tax

year may the Tax Department require electronic payments of the estimated taxes.
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TITLE 110
LEGISLATIVE RULE
STATE TAX DEPARTMENT

SERIES 10F
PAYMENT OF TAXES BY ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER

§110-10F-1. General.

1.1. Scope. -- This rule will be used by the West Virginia State Tax Department in the administration
of W. Va. Code §11-10-5t, which authorizes the Tax Commuissioner to require certain taxpayers to make
tax payments by clectronic funds transfer so that the funds will be immediately available to the State
Treasury on the due date of payment. If there 1s a conflict between this rule and other rules or laws regarding
tax payments, this rule governs.

1.2. Authority. -- W. Va. Code §11-10-5t.

1.3. Effective Date. -- May12012.
1.4. Filing Date. -- Apsld32012.

1.5. Sunset Provision. -- This rule shall terminate and have no further force or effect upon the
expiration of five years from its effective date.

§110-10F-2. Definitions.

For the purposes of this rule, the following terms used in this rule have the meanings set forth in this
section, unless a different meaning 1s clearly indicated by the context in which the term 1s used.

2.1. "ACH" or "Automated Clearing House" means a nationwide electronic funds transfer system
which 1s governed by the National Automated Clearing House Association (NACHA) operating rules and
which provides for the clearing of electronic credit and debit entries between participating financial
institutions.

2.2. "ACH Credit" means the electronic funds transfer payment method by which transactions are
initiated and generated by the taxpayer and cleared through the ACH system for deposit into the State
Treasury.

2.3. "ACH Debit" means the clectronic funds transfer payment method by which transactions are
initiated by the taxpayer, generated by the Department upon the taxpayer's instruction and cleared through
the ACH system for deposit into the State Treasury.

2.4. "ACH Trace Number" means the unique number assigned to an electronic payment transaction by
the financial institution originating the transaction.

2.5. “Addenda record" means that information required by the Department n an ACH Credit
transaction or Fedwire transfer which 1dentifies the taxpayer, the tax type, the period covered, the payment
type and the payment amount.
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2.6. "CCD+” or “cash concentration or disbursement plus" means the standardized data format
approved by the National Automated Clearing House Association for remitting tax payments electronically.

2.7. “Code” means the Code of West Virginia of one thousand nine hundred thuty-one, as amended.

2.8. “Commissioner’” or ““Tax Commissioner’” means the West Virginia Tax Commissioner or his or
her delegate.

2.9. "Call-in day" means the day on which a taxpayer communicates payment imnformation to the West
Virginia State Tax Department.

2.10. “Call -1n period" means the specified time interval in each call- in day during which EFT payment
information recerved by the Tax Department 1s processed for transactions occurring on the next business
day.

2.11. “Department” or ““Tax Department™ means the West Virginia State Tax Department.

2.12. “EFT” or “Electronic Funds Transfer” means any transfer of funds using ACH debit, ACH credit,
Fedwire transfer and any other means recognized by the Tax Commissioner for payment of taxes, (other
than a transaction originated by check, draft, or similar paper instrument), that 1s mitiated through an
clectronic terminal, telephonic mstrument, computer, or magnetic tape, where the person mitiating the
transfer orders, mstructs, or authorizes a financial institution to debit or credit an account using the methods
specified in this rule.

2.13. “Fedwire” means the electronic transfer system developed and maintained by the Federal Reserve
in order to enable financial institutions to transter funds nationwide.

2.14. “Fmancial institution” means a state or national bank, a trust company, a state or federal savings
and loan association, a mutual savings bank, or a state or federal credit union.

2.15. “Immediately available funds™ means an ACH credit, an ACH debit, U.S. currency, or wire
transfer that has completed the EFT process, and 1s deposited in the State’s bank for immediate use.

2.16. “Lookback period” means the 12-month period between July 1 and June 30 immediately
preceding the calendar year for which the determination 1s made that a taxpayer must pay taxes by EFT.

2.17. “NACHA” or “National Automated Clearing House Association” means the trade association
which sets automated payments standards that govern the ACH system for financial institutions nationwide.

2.18. ““Person” mcludes, but 1s not limited to, any individual, firm, partnership, limited partnership,
copartnership, joint adventure, association, corporation, municipal corporation, organization, receiver,
estate, trust, guardian, executor, administrator, and also any officer, employee or member of any of the
foregoing who, as such officer, employee or member, 1s under a duty to perform or 1s responsible for the
performance of an act prescribed by the provisions of W. Va. Code §11-10-1 et seq., and the provisions of
any other article of the Code which imposes a tax administered by the Tax Commuissioner.

2.19. “Prenote’ or “prenotification” means a zero-dollar entry that 1s sent through the ACH system
prior to live entries. Prenotes provide a verification function that makes sure any bank information and

TXP addenda data required 1s correct prior to live entries.

2.20. “State” or “this State” means the State of West Virginia.

2
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2.21. "Tax" or "taxes" means taxes administered under the authority of W. Va. Code §11-10-1 et seq.,
additions to tax and penalties and interest imposed with respect to those taxes.

2.22. "Taxpayer" means any person required to file a return for, or liable for the payment of, any tax
administered under W. Va. Code §11-10-1 et seq.

2.23. “Tax type” means each separate category of tax subject to EFT payment requirements.
2.24. “Treasury” or “State Treasury” means the Treasury of the State of West Virginia.

2.25. ““I’XP Banking Convention” means the format to be used in the free form ficld of the National
Automated Clearing House Association’s CCD+ entry addenda record.

§11-10F-3. Payments by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).

3.1. For taxable years or reporting periods beginning on or after January 1, 2004, designated EFT
taxpayers shall remit tax payments to the Department by EFT as required by this rule. A determination of
which taxpayers are required to remit tax payments by EFT 1s made by the Department, on a tax type basis,
and 1s based on individual payments rather than the aggregate of payments made during the lookback
period. The threshold amount determines 1f the taxpayer 1s subject to the EFT tax payment requirements of
this rule.

3.2. 'The threshold amount 1s $100,000.00 1n tax lhability per tax type per taxable year or reporting
period beginning on or after January 1, 2004, subject to subdivisions 3.2.a, 3.2.b, 3.2.c, and 3.2.d and 3.2.¢
of this subsection.

3.2.a. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, the threshold amount for determining
whether a taxpayer shall pay electronically 1s $50,000 in tax liability paid for a smgle tax type in the
immediately preceding tax year: Provided, That for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, any
taxpayer that pays more than $350,000 for any tax type in the immediately preceding tax year shall
clectronically pay the taxes for all tax returns filed;

3.2.b. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, the threshold amount for determining
whether a taxpayer shall pay electronically 1s $25,000 1n tax hability paid for a smngle tax type in the
immediately preceding tax year: Provided, That for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, any
taxpayer that pays more than $25,000 for any tax type in the immediately preceding tax year shall
clectronically pay the taxes for all tax returns filed;

3.2.c. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 20135, the threshold amount for determining
whether a taxpayer shall pay electronically 1s $10,000 1n tax lability paid for a smngle tax type in the
immediately preceding tax year: Provided, That for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, any
taxpayer that pays more than $10,000 for any tax type in the immediately preceding tax year shall
clectronically pay the taxes for all tax returns filed;

3.2.d. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the threshold amount for determining
whether a taxpayer shall pay electronically 1s $25.000 in tax liability paid for a smgle tax type in the
immediately preceding tax vear: Provided, That for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, any
taxpaver that pays more than $25.000 for any tax type in the immediately preceding tax vear shall
clectronically pay the taxes for all tax returns filed:
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3.2.¢<. Tax Commissioner may determme the tax types for which electronic payment of taxes 1s
not required.

3.3. Once taxpayers are notified by the Department that they are required to make EFT payments for
a tax type, they shall comply with this rule unless and until released from that obligation by the Department.

3.4. The Department shall make an annual 1dentification of those taxpayers who are required to make
payments 1n accordance with this rule on a tax type basis. A taxpayer may be required to make payments
for one type of tax in accordance with the procedures stated in this rule, yet may not be liable to make

payments for another type of tax in accordance with those procedures.

3.4.a. The Department shall notify the 1dentified taxpayers of their requirements to file pursuant to
this rule at their last known address of record.

3.4.b. The Department shall provide the 1dentified taxpayers with forms and instructions necessary
for registering to make payments for the appropriate taxes by EFT and an explanation of the payment
options available to the taxpayer.

3.4.b.1. When taxpayers register to make payment by EFT, they shall select a payment option.

3.4.c. The Department shall provide 1dentified taxpayers with mstructions and procedures for
payment of taxes through EFT.

3.4.d. The Department shall provide technical assistance and guidance to identified taxpayers
concerning the payment of taxes through EFT. Taxpayers may call Taxpayer Services from 8:30 a.m.
through 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time, Monday through Friday, with the exception of State holidays.
§110-10F-4. Tax types covered.

4.1. Payments for the following tax types are subject to the EFT tax payment requirements of this rule:

4.1.a. Business and Occupation Tax;

4.1.b. Business Franchise Tax;

4.1.c. Tobacco Products Excise Tax;

4.1.d. Consumer Sales and Service Tax;

4.1.e. Corporation Net Income Tax;

4.1.f. Gasoline and Special Fuels Excise Tax;

4.1.g. Health Care Provider Tax;

4.1.h. Personal Income Tax, including:

4.1.h.1. Nonresident Composite Income Tax;

4.1.h.2. Fiduciary Income Tax;
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4.1.1. Severance Taxes, mcluding;

4.1.1.1. Additional Annual Severance Tax:

4.1.3. Soft Drink Tax;

4.1.k. Solid Waste Tax;

4.1.1. Surface Mining Reclamation Tax;
4.1.m. Telecommunications Tax;

4.1.n. Timber Severance Tax;

4.1.0. Use Tax; and

4.1.p. Personal Income Tax Withholding, including;

4.1.p.1. Personal Income Tax Back-Up Withholding:

4.1.q. Beer Barrel Tax;

4.1.r. Wine Liter Tax:

4.1.s. Wine Liquor Excise Tax:

4.1.t. Pass Through Entity Tax;

4.1.u. Dastrict Excise Tax:

4.1.v. Taxes paid under IFTA; and

4.1.w. Acute Care Hospital Tax:

§110-10F-5. Identification of EFT taxpayers.

5.1. On an annual basis, the Department shall review the most recently completed lookback period
payment history of cach taxpayer on a tax type basis to determine 1if the payment history requires the
taxpayer to make payments through EFT for the succeeding calendar year.

5.2. The Department will determine whether a taxpayer meets the tax habality threshold provided in
Subsection 3.2 of this rule that requires payment of taxes by EFT by considering taxes paid for a single tax
type, except when two or more tax types are permitted to be paid on a single return, as 1n the case of the
Gasoline and Special Fuels Excise Tax and the Consumer Sales and Service Tax on Gasoline and Special
Fuels. Whenever two or more tax types are permitted to be paid on a single return, the taxes paid for all
tax types shall be considered a single payment.

5.3. The Department will determine whether a taxpayer meets the tax habaility threshold provided in
Subsection 3.2 of this rule that requires payment of taxes by EFT by considering the total of payments made
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for a single reporting period for a tax type. Examples of this are the payments made for a tax type which 1s
required to be paid on a monthly basis, on a quarterly basis, on an annual basis, or with an extension request.

§110-10F-6. Notification of Taxpayers Required to Use EFT.

6.1. Atleast 90 days prior to the date of the first required payment, the Department shall mail a written
notice to all EFT taxpayers 1dentified in the annual review of transactions informing them that they are
required to make payments for a tax type using EFT. The notice shall be mailed to the last address of record
for the taxpayer. The notice shall (1) provide the taxpayer with an explanation of W. Va. Code §11-10-5t;
(2) 1dentify the tax types to be paid using EFT; (3) provide an explanation of the payment alternatives
available to the taxpayer; and (4) provide the taxpayer with Form WV/EFT-3, Electronic Funds Transfer
Application.

6.2. Within 30 days after the notice with Form WV/EFT-5 1s provided to the taxpayer, the taxpayer
shall return a properly completed Form WV/EFT-35 to the Department for each of the tax types the taxpayer
1s required to pay using EFT. The taxpayer shall use the form to make an election as to which payment
method the taxpayer will use or provide a written statement explaining the reason the taxpayer secks to be
exempted from the requirement to make payments for a tax type using EFT.

6.3. Within 30 days after receipt of the taxpayer’s election, the Department shall provide mstructions
explaining the payment procedures for the method selected to the taxpayer.

6.4. If the Department receives no response from the taxpayer within 30 days, the Department shall
provide the taxpayer with a second notice, utilizing certified mail. If no response to the second notice 1s
recerved within ten days, the taxpayer 1s subject to all applicable penalties, additions to tax, and interest for
cach payment that 1s equal to or in excess of the threshold amount for that period.

6.5. Upon a showing by the taxpayer, to the satisfaction of the Commissioner, that the taxpayer will
not be making payments for a tax type equal to or in excess of the threshold amount for the period, the
Commussioner shall waive the requirement to make payments by EFT. If the taxpayer subsequently makes
a non-EFT payment in an amount equal to or in excess of the threshold amount for the period for which the
Commissioner waived the requirement to make payments using EFT, the taxpayer may be subject to all
applicable penalties, additions to tax, and mterest.

§110-10F-7. Registration of EFT taxpayers.
7.1. Taxpayers shall properly complete Form WV/EFT-3, Electronic Funds Transfer Application, and

return the Form to the Department by the date specified by the Department. The Department shall record

pertinent taxpayer information provided with Form WV/EFT-5. The information required to be provided
with Form WV/EFT-5 mcludes:

7.1.a. Taxpayer 1dentification number;
7.1.b. Taxpayer’s name;

7.1.c. Taxpayer’s address;

7.1.d. Taxtypes;

7.1.e. Primary contact person’s name and title;
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7.1.f. Primary contact person’s address;

7.1.g. Primary contact person’s telephone number;
7.1.h. Primary contact person’s e-mail address;

7.1.1. Secondary contact person’s name and title;
7.1.3. Secondary contact person’s address;

7.1.k. Secondary contact person’s telephone number;
7.1.1. Second contact person’s e-mail address;

7.1.m. Financial Institution’s name;

7.1.n. Financial Institution’s address;

7.1.0. Financial Institution’s transit/routimg number;
7.1.p. Financial Institution’s account number;

7.1.q. Financial Institution’s contact person;

7.1.r. Financial Institution’s telephone number;

7.1.s. Signature of person authorized to complete the application;

7.1.t. Written verification from the taxpayer's bank confirming the bank routing and transit number
and the bank account number of the taxpayer;

7.1.u. Application status regarding new application, change in taxpayer identification number,
change of name or address, and withdrawal; and

7.1.v. Method of payment.

7.2. Ataxpayer shall provide written notice of any change of information required by Form WV/EFT-
5 by submitting a revised Form WV/EFT-35 to the Department within at least 30 days of the change.

§110-10F-8. Payment alternatives.

8.1. The ACH Credit method and the ACH Debit method are the payment methods that taxpayers may
use to make payments for a tax type using EFT.

8.2. The Department reserves the right to revoke the ACH Credit method payment privilege of any
taxpayer for the following reasons:

8.2.a. Failure to consistently transmit error-free payments;

8.2.b. Substantial variation from the requirements and specifications of this rule;
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8.2.c. Failure to make timely EFT payments or to provide timely payment information; or,

8.2.d. Failure to provide a properly formatted addenda record required by this rule with the EFT
payment.

8.3. Fedwire 1s not an EFT payment method alternative that 1s available to EFT taxpayers, except on
an emergency basis with prior authorization by the Department.

§110-10F-9. Payment procedures -- general provisions.

9.1. Taxpayers required to make payments using EFT shall mitiate the transaction so that the amount
due 1s deposited as immediately available funds to the State of West Virgimia’s bank account on or before
the due date under the applicable tax law. If a tax payment due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or bank
holiday, payment by EFT shall be made so that the funds are immediately available 1n the State Treasurer's
account on the first business day after that due date. If the date on which the taxpayer 1s required to initiate
either an ACH Debit or an ACH Credit transaction falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a State or banking
holiday, the taxpayer shall initiate the transaction on the preceding business day.

9.1.a. Each year, at least 30 days prior to the beginning of a calendar year, the Department shall
provide taxpayers required to pay a tax using EFT with a schedule of holidays they will need to take into
consideration when making EFT payments.

9.2. The requirement to make payment to the Department using EFT does not change any current filing
requirements for tax returns. If the EFT payment 1s not timely made or the tax return required 1s not filed
by the due date, penalties, additions to tax and interest shall apply under the provisions of the appropriate
section of the Code.

9.3. Any taxpayer required by the Department to use EFT to make payments may apply to the
Commissioner to be relieved of that requirement 1f it appears that taxpayer no longer meets the criteria for
mandatory EFT payments. If the Commissioner grants that relief and the taxpayer subsequently makes a
non-EFT payment in an amount equal to or 1n excess of the threshold amount for the period the taxpayer
was previously required to make payments using EFT, the taxpayer 1s subject to all applicable penalties,
additions to tax and interest.

9.4. If the taxpayer clects to use the ACH Debit payment method, the taxpayer shall furnish the
Department with the information needed to complete the transaction. All transactions shall be mitiated by
the taxpayer by calling the Department at the toll-free telephone number specified in the instructions
provided to the taxpayer.

9.5. If the taxpayer elects to use the ACH Credit payment method, the taxpayer 1s responsible for
ensuring that the bank originating the transaction has the information necessary for timely completion of

the transaction. Also, the taxpayer 1s responsible for the correct completion of the transaction. The taxpayer
shall provide the information necessary for the bank to complete the NACHA CCD+ entry with the required
TXP Banking Convention addenda record.

§110-10F-10. Procedures for payment -- ACH debit payment method.

10.1. Taxpayers who clect to use the ACH Debit payment method of making EFT payments shall use
the following procedures in communicating payment information to the Department.
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10.2. Prior to contacting the Department, the taxpayer shall complete a worksheet provided by the
Department. The taxpayer shall record the following information on the worksheet and then compute the
verification code on the worksheet:

10.2.a. Bank routing number;
10.2.b. Bank account number;
10.2.c. Tax payment amount;
10.2.d. Tax period covered,
10.2.e. Tax type; and

10.2.f. Payment type.

10.3. The taxpayer shall report payment information to the Department no later than 12:00 a.m.
(midnight) Eastern Time on the business day before the due date of the payment at the toll-free number
during the call-in period as specified in the instructions provided m order to clear the ACH for deposit in
the State Treasury on the due date. The Department shall bear the costs of processing ACH Debit payments.
Communication by the taxpayer during the call-in period 1s mandatory to ensure the timely posting of the
taxpayer's payment on the following business day.

10.4. When the Department recerves the information provided by the taxpayer, it shall compute the
verification code. If the information 1s correct, the verification code computed by the Department will be
identical to the verification code computed by the taxpayer.

10.5. If the verification code computed by the Department 1s 1dentical to the verification code computed
by the taxpayer, the Department shall confirm the code to the taxpayer. The taxpayer shall retam the
worksheet and record the date and time of the call for an audit trail of the payment.

10.6. If the verification code 1s not identical, the Department shall ask the taxpayer to provide the
information again, until 1t can be verified that the exchange of information 1s correct.

10.7. Successful completion of the call to the Department fulfills the taxpayer's obligation to mitiate
an ACH Debat transaction.

10.8. The payment of taxes through EFT does not relieve the taxpayer from filing the appropriate tax
returns or applicable information returns required by the Department. Taxpayers shall complete any EFT
payment indicators on the returns. If an EFT payment indicator 1s not available on a return, the taxpayer
shall boldly and legibly indicate on the face of the return that payment was made using EFT. Returns are
filed in the normal manner, except that they shall be mailed to the followmg address:

West Virginia State Tax Department
RD-EFT

P. O. Box 11895

Charleston, WV 25339-1985

§110-10F-11. Procedures for payment -- ACH credit payment method.
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11.1. Taxpayers who elect to use the ACH Credit payment method of making EF'T payments shall use
the procedures 1n this section to communicate payment mformation to the Department. The Department
intends to examine cach taxpayer’s compliance with the requirements of this rule.

11.2. If a taxpayer has elected the ACH Credit payment method but repeatedly fails to correctly
complete the payment transactions i accordance with this rule, the Department may in 1ts discretion require
the taxpayer to make future payments by the ACH Debit payment method.

11.3. To assure the timely receipt of payment, a taxpayer shall ensure that the financial institution
originating the transaction does so in sufficient time for the payment to be deposited as immediately
available funds to the State Treasury on or before the appropriate due date of the payment.

11.4. All ACH Credit transactions shall use the NACHA CCD+ entry with a TXP Banking Convention
addenda record. The TXP Banking Convention addenda record requires the following information:

11.4.a. Taxpayer's identification number;
11.4.b. Tax type code;

11.4.c. Tax period end date;

11.4.d. Payment type; and

11.4.c. Amount of payment.

11.5. If a taxpayer repeatedly fails to provide the Department with a required addenda record that
conforms to the requirements of the Department, the taxpayer may be required at the discretion of the
Commussioner to use the ACH Debit method.

11.6. Ataxpayer electing to use the ACH Credit payment method shall first determine the total amount
of tax due with respect to the tax type for which the payment 1s being made. At a time arranged between
the taxpayer and the taxpayer's financial mstitution, the taxpayer shall provide the taxpayer's financial
institution with the information necessary to imitiate a timely ACH Credit transaction utilizing the NACHA
CCD+ entry and the TXP Banking Convention. A timely ACH Credit transaction shall be mitiated and
posted as immediately available funds to the State of West Virginia’s bank account on or before the due
date of the payment.

11.7. Taxpayers electing to use the ACH Credit payment method shall coordinate with their financial
institutions to ensure that ACH Credit payments are timely mitiated. Taxpayers shall consider the impact
of prescribed ACH time frames and nightly cycles as well as the impact of weekends and holidays.

11.8. Taxpayers with a zero tax liability for a reporting period are not required to transmit a zero
balance ACH Credit transaction. However, they shall file their tax return at the address noted in Subsection
11.9 of this rule.

11.9. When a taxpayer files a required return, any EFT payment mdicators on the return shall be
completed. If an EFT mdicator 1s not available, taxpayers shall boldly and legibly print on the face of the
return that payment was made using EFT. Tax returns for which payment was made using EFT shall be
mailed to the following address:

10



110CSR10F

West Virginia State Tax Department
RD-EFT

P. O. Box 11895

Charleston, WV 25339-1985

11.10. Taxpayers electing to use the ACH Credit method, prior to recerving final approval to transmat
ACH Credit transactions, shall provide prenotification and recerve approval of the prenotification from the
Department prior to makmg live transactions.

§110-10F-12. Requirement for filing returns.

12.1. The requirement to use EFT to make tax payments does not change any current filing
requirements for tax returns. If the EFT payment 1s not timely made or the tax return required 1s not filed
by the due date, the provisions for penalties, late payment additions to tax, late filing additions to tax and
interest apply under the provisions of the appropriate Section of the Code, except as provided in this rule.

12.2. Most tax return forms will have an EFT payment mdicator for the taxpayer to complete. In the
absence of an EFT payment indicator, taxpayers shall boldly and legibly print on the face of the return that
payment was made using EFT.

12.3. Taxpayers shall file the required returns. Any EFT payment indicators on the return shall be
completed. If an EFT mdicator 1s not available, taxpayers shall boldly and legibly print on the face of the
return that payment was made using EFT. Tax returns for which payment was made using EFT shall be
mailed to the following address:

West Virginia State Tax Department
RD-EFT

P. O. Box 11895

Charleston, WV 25339-1985

§110-10F-13. Penalties, etc. for noncompliance.

13.1. The provisions of W. Va. Code §11-10-1 et seq., govern the administration of any tax, interest,
additions to tax or penalty assessed due to late EFT payments, except as provided in this rule.

13.2. W. Va. Code §11-10-5t imposes, m addition to any other additions to tax or penalties that may
be applicable, a civil penalty for failing or refusing to use an appropriate EFT method when required to do
so. The amount of the penalty 1s three percent of the total tax liability which 1s or was to be paid by EFT.

13.3. Failure of a taxpayer to respond to the notification from the Department concerning the required
use of EFT to make payments for a tax type or failure to timely or properly make EFT payments in
accordance with this rule subjects the taxpayer to applicable penalties, additions to tax and interest, as
provided by the Code, for delinquent or underpaid tax payments. If payment 1s made for a tax type for
which a taxpayer was required to make payments using EFT and the payment 18 made in a method which
1s not in accordance with the procedures stated m this rule, penalties, interest and additions to tax for late
filing and late payment, for that tax type, may be assessed as specified in the Code. In addition to any
penalty that may be imposed, terest shall be added to the amount of tax due from the due date of the tax
payment to the date that the funds become available to the State Treasury.

13.4. The Department may wairve the penalty and additions to tax if the taxpayer can demonstrate that
the failure was due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect. Errors made by the Department, the

11



110CSR10F

State Treasury or the taxpayer’s bank which result in a late payment by the taxpayer do not subject the
taxpayer to penalties, additions to tax, or interest.

13.5. When a taxpayer uses the ACH Debit payment method, the State of West Virginia’s bank 1s the
originating bank and 1s responsible for the accuracy of the transmission. If the taxpayer has timely mitiated
the ACH Debit transaction, recerved a confirmation of the verification number, and demonstrated that
adequate funds were available mn the bank account, then the fact that the transaction 1s not properly
completed does not subject the taxpayer to penalties, additions to tax or interest.

13.6. When a taxpayer uses the ACH Credit payment method, the taxpayer's bank 1s the originating
bank and the taxpayer 1s primarily responsible for the accuracy and proper completion of the transaction.
In order to prove timely compliance, the taxpayer shall show timely initiation of the transaction; shall have
provided the correct information for the NACHA CCD+ entry and the required TXP Banking Convention
addenda record; and shall show that there were sufficient funds 1n the account and that the financial
institution properly completed the transaction 1n a timely manner. If the taxpayer makes this showing, no
penalties, additions to tax or interest apply to the payment if the transaction 18 not properly completed.

13.7. A taxpayer required to make EFT payments, but unable to make a timely payment because of
system failures within the Automated Clearing House system which are beyond the taxpayer's control, 1s
not subject to penalties, additions to tax or interest for late payment.

§110-10F-14. Voluntary use of EFT to pay taxes.

14.1. Taxpayers not required to make EFT payments for a tax type may apply for permission from the
Department to voluntarily make EFT payments for that tax type.

14.2. Taxpayers making voluntary EFT payments for a tax type are subject to the provisions of this
rule to the same extent as taxpayers who are required to make EFT payments.

14.3. A taxpayer seeking to make voluntary EFT payments shall file written application with the
Department at least 60 days prior to the due date of the next payment of the tax type for which permission
to make EF'T payments 1s sought.

14.3.a. A taxpayer may request permission to termiate voluntary EFT payments for a tax type by
filing written application with the Department at least 60 days prior to the due date of the last EFT payment
to be made by the taxpayer.

14.3.b. A taxpayer may not make more than one application to terminate voluntary EFT payments
per calendar year.

14.3.¢c. A taxpayer making an application for termination shall continue to make payment by the
payment method elected n accordance with the procedures stated in this rule, until the Commussioner n
writing releases the taxpayer and approves payment by another method.

14.4. Applications to voluntarily make or to terminate making voluntary EFT payments shall be

directed to the West Virgimia State Tax Department, RD-EFT, P. O. Box 11895, Charleston, WV 25339-
1985 and shall include a properly completed Form WV/EFT-5, Electronic Funds Transfer Application.

12
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§110-10F-15. Proof of payment.

15.1. In the case of an ACH credit transaction or Fedwire, the Department shall consider the tax to
have been paid on the date the money 1s recerved by the State of West Virgmia’s bank account. In the case
of an ACH debait transaction, the Department shall consider the tax paid on the next business day after the
transaction was imitiated by the taxpayer. The proof of payment by the taxpayer depends on the payment
method used.

15.2. Payment in an ACH Debit transaction may be proven by use of the verification code recerved
from the Department when the transaction was initiated, together with a statement from the taxpayer’s bank
showing a transfer that decreases the taxpayer’s account balance by the correct amount, the date of the
transfer and the 1dentity of the payee as the State of West Virginia,

15.3. Since an ACH Credit transaction 1s mitiated and generated by the taxpayer, the taxpayer has
responsibility for the proper and timely completion of the transaction. The taxpayer has the responsibility
to ensure that 1t 1s provided an ACH trace number by the bank originating the transaction. This trace
number; proof of the NACHA CCD+ entry showing the State’s bank routing and transit number and bank
account number; and a statement from the taxpayer’s bank showing a transfer that decreased the taxpayer’s
account balance by the correct amount, the date of the transfer and the 1dentity of the payee as the State of
West Virginia together, constitute proof of payment by the taxpayer.

§110-10F-16. Correction of errors.

16.1. If an error in the EFT payment process results in either an underpayment or an overpayment of
the tax, the taxpayer shall promptly contact the Department. An overpayment may be used as a credit
against a future tax liability or the taxpayer may apply for a refund. The Department shall make every
reasonable effort to expedite a refund requested by the taxpayer to correct an EFT overpayment error.

16.2. When possible, the taxpayer shall attempt to correct errors made 1n initiating an ACH Debit
payment made during the call-in period on the same day the transaction was mitiated by the taxpayer.
Otherwise, the taxpayer shall contact the Department on the next business day after the error 1s discovered
for specific mstructions on how to correct the error.

16.3. In the event a taxpayer using the ACH Debit method communicates payment mmformation to the
Department after 12:00 a.m. (midnight) Eastern Time on the business day before the due date, the payment
shall be posted to the taxpayer's account on the next business day following the due date and constitutes
late payment.

16.4. Failure of a taxpayer to make a timely EFT payment because of circumstances under the
taxpayer's control, including but not limited to insufficiency of funds mn the taxpayer's account or a direct
payment to the Department using an unauthorized payment method, subjects the taxpayer to penalties,
additions to tax and interest.

§110-10F-17. Emergency payment.
17.1. In the event the Commussioner determines that a taxpayer 18 unable to effect a timely EFT

payment due to extenuating circumstances beyond the taxpayer’s control, the Commissioner may allow the
taxpayer to use Fedwire.

17.1.a. For example, if on the due date of an EFT payment the taxpayer becomes aware that an
error was made in the EFT payment which cannot be corrected on that day, the taxpayer may contact the

13
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Department and request authorization to correct the payment with Fedwire. The Commissioner may grant
authorization to use Fedwire for that one payment. The Commissioner shall base that decision upon the
taxpayer's payment history as well as the taxpayer's compliance with prescribed rules regarding EFT
payments.

17.2. If the Commuissioner authorizes the request, he or she shall provide the taxpayer with a Fedwire
Authorization Number and additional information to be included in the free-form field of the Fedwire.

17.3. To request authorization the taxpayer shall contact the Revenue Division Director at (304) 558-
8500. The taxpayer shall present the extenuating circumstances which prevent timely compliance using the
ACH Debit method or ACH Credit method, and request authorization to use Fedwire to transfer the

payments 1n question to the State Treasury.

17.4. The Department shall give taxpayers who are granted authorization to use Fedwmre transfer
specific instructions regarding the payment information that must accompany the transfer.

17.5. All Fedwire transfers shall be accompanied by an addenda record, 1n the format specified by the
Department, including the following information:

17.5.a. Taxpayer's identification number;
17.5.b. Tax type code;
17.5.c. Tax period end date;
17.5.d. Payment type; and
17.5.e. Amount of payment.
17.6. The Department shall not bear any costs associated with the Fedwire transfer.

17.7. Unauthorized Fedwire transfers constitute late payment and are subject to appropriate penalties,
additions to tax and interest.

17.8. Authorized Fedwire transfers which are not received by the State Treasury on or before the due
date of the transmitted payments constitute late payment and are subject to appropriate penalties, additions
to tax and interest.

§110-10F-18. Grace period during implementation.

18.1. During the first year of implementation of this rule, the Commissioner may, in his or her
discretion, extend a grace period of no more than two business days for a taxpayer to resolve problems
arising 1n financial institutions, Federal Reserve facilities, or the Automated Clearing House system which
result in late payment.

18.2. To qualify for a grace period, the taxpayer shall demonstrate that a good faith attempt was made
to comply with the provisions of this rule, due diligence was exercised to initiate the payment timely and
correctly, and sufficient funds were available in the taxpayer's bank account, but circumstances beyond the
taxpayer's control prevented compliance by the required date.

14
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§110-10F-19. Sunset rule.

19.1.  Unless renewed, this legislative rule shall termmate five years after the effective date of
legislation authorizing promulgation of this amended legislative rule.
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