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NOTICE OF AN EMERGENCY RULE
AGENCY: Division of Water Resources TITLE NUMBER: 47

CITE AUTHORITY: 22-11-4{a.)(16)

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT TO AN EXISTING RULE: YES X NO__
IF YES, SERIES NUMBER OF RULE BEING AMENDED: 26

TITLE OF RULE BEING AMENDED: WATER POQLIUTION CONTROL PERMIT FEE
SCHEDULES

IF NO, SERIES NUMBER OF RULE BEING PROPOSED:
TITLE OF RULE BEING PROPOSED:

THE ABOVE RULE IS BEING FILED AS AN EMERGENCY RULE TO BECOME
EFFECTIVE AFTER APPROVAL BY SECRETARY OF STATE OR 42ND DAY AFTER
FILING, WHICHEVER OCCURS FIRST.

THEFACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES CONSTITUTING THE EMERGENCY ARE
AS FOLLOWS:

This rule was filed on June 25, 2002. Subsequent public hearing and public comment elicited concern
over the time lag between the effective date of the federally required reissuance of the NPDES
Construction Stormwater Permit (December 2002) and the applicability of the proposed fee for that
permit. A proposed flat fee of $300 will be applied to the new permit for sites of 1 to 3 acres under the
new rule. Current rules require a $700 minimum permit fee which would be applied until the Legislatur
approves the fee reduction. The agency agrees with the concern and is filing this emergency rule.
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Division of Water Resources

1201 Greenbrier Strect

Charleston, WV 25311-1088
Telephone Number: (304) 558-2107
Fax Number: (304) 558-5905

West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection

Bob Wise Michael O. Callaghan
Governor Cabinet Secretary

October 1, 2002

The Honorable Secretary of State
Joe Manchin III

157 K Building 1

Charleston, West Virginia 25305

Dear Mr. Secretary:

In anticipation of the federally required reissuance of a National Pollutant
Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit December 2002 expanding permit
coverage to small construction projects of 1 to 3 acres, the Department of Environmental
Protection’s Division of Water Resources initiated a proposed rule change to 47 CSR 26
in June. The proposal was approved by the DEP’s Environmental Advisory Council,
went through the public hearing process on July 23 and was subsequently filed with your
office.

The proposed change includes a definition for “minor land disturbing activities”
(construction sites of 1 to 3 acres) and establishes a flat fee of $300 for those permitted
sites. Under current NPDES fee rules such sites would be required to pay a minimum of
$700.

During public meetings in August, comments were received concerning the time
lag between the issuance of the permit in December and the application of the anticipated
permit fee reduction. From December 2002 until the Legislature acts on the rule changes,
permit applicants will be required to pay the current $700 fee for coverage. This will
disadvantage many permit applicants, particularly small homebuilders. The agency
agrees with the concern and therefore is requesting your agreement to amend the rule
currently on file to emergency status to become effective upon permit issuance in
December.




Joe Manchin
Page 2

With your concurrence we will prepare the appropriate paperwork per your

instructions.
Sincerely,
Allyn G. Turner
Director

cc: Joe Dawley, Legal Services
Bill Brannon, Deputy Director
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EMERGENCY RULE QUESTIONNAIRE

DATE: _10/2/02

TO: LEGISLATIVE RULE-MAKING REVIEW COMMITTEE

FROMZ(Agency Name, Address & Phone No.) Division of Water Resources
1201 Greenbrier Street
Lharleston, West Virgim'a
304 558-2107  Attn: Allyn G. Turner, Director

EMERGENCY RULE TITLE: Water Pollution Control Permit Fee Schedules

1. Date of filing _10/02/02

2. Statutory authority for promulgating emergency rule:

22-11-4(a) (lﬁ)

3. Date of filing of proposed legislative rule: Z/23/02

4, Does the emergency rule adopt new language or does it amend or appeal a current
endment to the existing legislative

legislative rule?

proposed in the currently filed

reduction at the time of permit reissuance in December 2002.

5. Has the same or similar emergency rule previously been filed and expired?
No
6. State, with particularity, those facts and circumstances which make the emergency rule

necessary for the immediate preservation of public peace, health, safety or welfare.

2, current permit fee rules require a minimum $700 for projects
1 11d canse small
homebuilders and proposed a flat $300 fee for such activities. Comments during public
meetings on the reissuance of the permit noted that the lag time between reissuance in
December 2002 and application of the reduced fee would cause many to be subject to
the $700 fee versus the $300 fee. The agency would like to accomodate that concern.

December 200




If the emergency rule was promuigated in order to comply with a time limit established by
the Code or federal statute or regulation, cite the Code provision, federal statute or
regulation and time limit established therein.

Dlscharge Elimination System ru]es Wthh requlre perm1ts for construcnon 51tes of 1

t1s

December 4, 2002 Currently requlred fees are $700 for such act1v1t1es The

perm1t n December as opposed to after the Leglslature acts durlng the 2003 session.
22-11-4(a)(16)

State, with particularity, those facts and circumstances which make the emergency rule
necessary to prevent substantial harm to the public interest.




BUREAU OF ENVIRONMENT
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

BRIEFING DOCUMENT
RULE CHANGE

Changes in federal requirements will mandate by end of year 2002 that all
covered construction activities that disturb more than one acre will require a permit. The
previous requirement mandated that only those projects disturbing more than 3 acres
would require a permit. The proposed rule establishes a new permit application fee of
$300.00 for storm water construction permits for construction sites that disturb one acre
of land, but less than three acres.

Because there is no differentiation in the current permit fee rule between 1-3 acre
sites and larger sites, all persons who propose to disturb one acre of land and are covered
by the federal requirement will be required to pay a $700.00 application fee. The agency
feels smaller 1-3 acre projects should pay a smaller application fee. The proposed rule
change will create a separate category and fee for small construction activities (1-3 acres)
that will now be required to apply for and maintain a permit requiring only a $300.00
application fee. The proposed ruled has been approved by the WVDEP Advisory
Council and is now awaiting approval during the coming legislative term.

The agency is seeking emergency rule status to accommodate concerns expressed
in public meetings associated with the permit and in comments subsequent to a public
hearing on this rule held on July 23, 2002 that the new fee would not be in place at the
time the new federal requirements become effective in December 2002 since legislative
approval of the new rule would not be final until some time in 2003. As a consequence,
permit applicants would be forced to pay the current $700.00 fee until the Legislature
acts on the proposal during the 2003 regular session.

Without being granted emergency status, small construction projects of between
1-3 acres will be required to pay a $700.00 permit fee as opposed to the agency’s
proposed $300.00 fee.

STATEMENT OF CIRCUMSTANCES

The proposed amendments to this rule are being made to address the increased
need for personnel to administer the storm water construction permit program due to
anticipated changes which will be required by the United States Environmental
Protection Agency (USEPA).

USEPA has proposed and will soon require that construction activities that disturb
one or more acres of land obtain a National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System
(NPDES) permit to address storm water discharges from such activities. Currently, only




construction activities that disturb three or more acres of land need obtain a permit and
pay a fee in West Virginia.

In anticipation of this change and the possible fiscal impacts, the agency proposes
that activities that disturb one acre of land but less than three acres of land and that will
require an NPDES permit be required to pay a minimal fee to pay for the additional
administrative costs of the program.

FEDERAL COUNTERPART REGULATIONS -INCORPORATION BY
REFERENCE/DETERMINATION OF STRINGENCY:

The proposed amendments anticipate a change in federal permitting requirements
which will go into affect by end of year 2002 that will require all construction projects
that disturb one or more acres of land obtain a storm water NPDES permit. The proposed
amendments are related directly to the state’s compliance with the federal permitting
change and state administrative costs associated with the additional permitting
requirements that will result.

CONSTITUTIONAL TAKINGS DETERMINIATION:

In accordance with West Virginia Code Section 22-1A-1 and 3€), the Secretary
has determined that this rule will not result in taking of private property within the
meaning of the Constitutions of the United States of America and West Virginia.

CONSULTATION WITH THE ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION ADVISORY
COUNCIL

During a June 5, 2002 meeting, the Environmental Protection Advisory Council
reviewed and discussed this rule. The council requested clarification as to the
applicability of the annual fee to these small construction projects. The annual fee would
be based upon the length of time the project takes to complete and would be prorated
accordingly. These smaller projects would in most instances be subject to a smaller
annual fee.




47CSR26 SEED
T e A o
TITLE 47 7 A EST
LEGISLATIVE RULE o
BUREAU OF ENVIRONMENT e e A
DIVISION OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION "' ur STATE

OFFICE OF WATER RESOURCES

SERIES 26 '
WATER POLLUTION CONTROL PERMIT FEE SCHEDULES

§47-26-1.. General.

1.1. Scope and Purpose. -- This legislative rule establishes schedules of permit application fees and
annual permit fees for state water pollution control permits and national pollutant discharge elimination
system permits issued by the chief of the Office of Water Resources. This rule applies to any person who

is required to apply for and obtain a permit from the chief in order to conduct an activity that 1s
enumerated in W. Va. Code §22-11-8.

12. Authority. - W.Va. Code §22-11-10.
1.3. Filing Date. -- May 4, 2000.

1.4, Effective Date. -- May 4,2000.

1.5. Incorporation by Reference. Whenever federal or State statutes or regulations are incorporated

into this rule by reference, the reference is to the statute or regulation in effect on the effective date of this
rule.

1.6. Repeal of Formal Rule. - This legislative rule repeals and replaces 47 CS.R. 26 "Water

Pollution Control Permit Fee Schedules” that was filed on April 13,1992 and became effective on April
13,1992,

§47-26-2. Definitions.

2.1. "Activity" means an activity for which a permit is required pursuant to the provisions of W. Va.
Code §22-11-8.

2.2. "Average Discharge Volume" or "ADV" means:

2.2.a. For a State water pollution control permit, the flow reported on the permit application.

220b. For a national pollutant discharge elimination system permit for industrial wastes or for

other wastes, the sum of the average flows reported on the permit application, as described in 47CSR10,
paragraph 4.4.b.3.

22.¢. For a national pollutant discharge elimination system permit for. sewage, the design flow
reported on the permit application.

2.3, "Chief" means the chief of the Office of Water Resources of the Division of Envirc'anmental

1




47CSR26

Protection of the West Virginia Bureau of Environment.

2.4. "Closed Systern Facility" means a facility that is required by effluent limitation guidelines or

other statutory or regulatory mandates to maintain no discharge or to maintain a recycle system or that
otherwise maintains a closed system.

B

2.5. "Customer" means a pérson; who is provided wastewater disposal services from a facility
permitted under W. Va. Code 22-11. For the purpose of these regulations, commercial customers and
residential customers other than single family dwellings (e.g., apartment complexes, trailer parks) shall be

translated into customer equivalents by dividing their total daily estimated volume of wastewater by three
hundred and fifty gallons per day (350 gpd).

2.6. "Existing Facility" means a facility for which a State water pollution control permit or 2 national
pollutant discharge elimination system permit has been previously issued by the chief.

2.7. "Facility" means any plant, means, system, disposal field, lagoon, pumping station, constructed
drainage ditch, surface water intercepting ditch, diversion ditch above or below the surface of the ground,
settling tank or pond, earthen pit, incinerator, solid waste facility, or other works that is installed for the

purpose of treating, neutralizing, stabilizing, holding, disposing, or controlling the quality and rate of flow
of sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes.

2.8. "Industrial Wastes" means any liquid, gaseous, solid, or other waste substance, or a combination
thereof, resulting from or incidental to any process of industry, manufacturing, trade, or business, or from

or incidental to the development, processing, O recovery of any natural resources, The term "industrial
wastes” includes the admixture of industrial wastes with sewage or other wastes.

2.9. "Major Facility" means a facility or activity classified as a major facility by the Regional

Administrator of the United States Environmental Protection Agency for Region 1If in joint consultation
with the chief.

2.10. "Major Modification™ means a modification of an issued permit made in accordance with the
provisions of 47CSR10, subdivision 9.2.b.

2 11. “Minor Construction Activity” means any activity which disturbs an area equal to one acre of
land but less than three acres.

2.142. "Minor Modification” means a modification of an issued permit made in accordance with the
provisions of 47CSR 10, subdivision 9.2.2.

2.123. "Minor POTW" means a POTW that s not a major facility.

2.134. "New Facility" means a facility for which a State water pollution control permit or 2 natippal
potlutant discharge elimination system permit has not been issued previously by the chief. This definition

includes a new entity at a site for which a previous entity may have held a water pollution control permit
or a national pollutant discharge elimination system permit.

1.145. "Other Wastes" means garbage; refuse; decayed wood, sawdust, shavings, bark and other
wood debris and residues resulting from secondary processing; sand; lime; cinders; ashes;

offal; night soil; silt; oil; tar; dyestuffs; acids; chemicals; heat; and all other materials and suibstances that
are not, by definition, sewage or industrial wastes which may cause or might reasonably be expected to
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4TCSR26

cause or to contribute to the pollution of any of the waters of the State.

2.156. "Permit" means a State water pollution control permit or a national pollutant discharge
elimination system permit issued by the chief.

2.167. "Person” means:

2.167.a. Any industrial user, public or private corporation, institution, association, firm, or
company organized or existing under the laws of this or any other state or country;

2.167.b. The State of West Virginia;
2.167.c. Any governmental agency, including federal facilities;

2.167.d. Any political subdivision of this State, including a county commussion, municipality,

sanitary district, public service district, drainage district, soil conservation district, or watershed
improvement district,

2.167.e. Any partnership, trust, or estate;

2.167.f. Any person or individual;

2.167.g. Any group of persons or individuals acting individually or as a group; of

2.167.h. Any other legal entity.

2.178. "Primary Industrial Category” means any industry category listed in Appendix A of 40C.F.R.
Part 122.

2.189. "Priority Pollutant” means any substance listed in 40 C.F.R. 401.15.

2.4920. "Publicly-Owned Treatment Works" or "POTW" means any device or system used in the
treatment (including recycling and reclamation) of municipal sewage or industnial wastes of a liquid
nature which is owned by a state or municipality as defined by section 502(4) of the Clean Water Act.

This definition includes sewers, pipes or other conveyances only if they convey wastewater t0 a POTW
providing treatment.

2.201. "Secondary Industrial Category” means any industry category not listed in Appendix A of 40
C.F.R. Part 122

2.232. "Sewage" means water-carried human or animal wastes from residences, buildings, industrial

establishments, or other places together with such groundwater infiltration and surface waters as they may
be present.

1.223. "Solid Waste Facility" means any system, facility, land, contiguous land,
improvements on the land, structures, or other appurtenances or methods used for processing,
recycling, or disposing of solid waste including landfills, transfer stations, incinerators,
resource recovery facilities, recycling

facilities, and other such facilities not herein specified, provided, that a “Closed Solid Waste Facility”
shall rmean a ‘solid waste facility” as defined herein which no longer accepts solid waste for disposal, but
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47CSR26

must still maintain a permit.

2.234. "Toxic Chemical” means:
2.234.a. Any substance listedl in Table V of 33CSR20;
2.234b. Any substance Jisted in Table VI of 33CSR20;
2.234.c. Any substance listed in 40 C.F.R. §116.4;
2.234.d. Any substance listed in 40 C.F.R. §302.4,
2.é3§.e. Any substance listed in 40 C.F.R. §372.65;
2.234.f. Any substance listed in 40 CF.R. 712.30 or 40 C.F.R. §716.120; or

2.234.¢. Any substance for which replicated test data exist to indicate that exposure to that
substance poses a risk of injury to human health or the environment.

§47-26-3. Fee Assessment and Collection.

3.1. Assessment of Permit Application Fees. Any person who applies for a permit shall pay the
appropriate permit application fee in accordance with the provisions of sections 4 through 6 of this rule.

32, Assessment of Annual Permit Fees. Any person who holds a permit shall pay an annual permit
fee in accordance with the provisions of section 7 of this rule.

3.3. Method of Fee Payment. All fees assessed under this rule shall be submitted to the chief by

check or money order payable to the West Virginia Division of Environmental Protection, Office of
Water Resources.

3.4. Collection of Permit Application Fees. The permit application fee shall be submitted to the chief

with the permit application. No permit application will be processed until the appropriate fee has been
received by the chief.

34.a. A person may seek verification of the correct amount of a permit application fee by
submitting his calculation of the fee to the chief in writing. This calculation shall be submitted sufficiently
in advance of the permit application so that the provisions of 47CSR10 subsection 4.3 are met. Within
thirty (30} days of the receipt of this calculation, the chief shall notify the applicant of the accuracy of his

calculation. If the applicant's calculation is incorrect, the chief shall advise him of the correct amount t0
be submitted as the permit application fee.

34b. If the chief determines that a submitted application is incomplete and must be returned to
the applicant for additional information, the permit application resubmission fee shall accompany the
refiled application. This fee shall be either a sum equivalent to five percent (5%) of the permit
application fee or one hundred dollars ($100), whichever is greater. :

3.5. Collection of Annua! Permit Fees. The annual permit fee shall be submitted to the chief by no
later than the anniversary of the date of permit issuance in each year of the term of the permit
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3.5.a. A permit will become void if the annual permit fee has not been paid within ninety (90}
days of the due date.

3.5.b. A permit will not be reissued until all annual permit fees due during the term of that permit
have been paid in full.

3.5.c. A permit will not be issued to an entity at a new location, until all annual permit fees due
during the term of any permit held at any previous location by that entity have been paid in full.

3.5.d. A permit will not be transferred for a facility which has failed to pay all annual permit fees
due during the term of the permit.

§47-26-4. Initial Permit Application Fees.

4.1. Fee Calculation. Except as provided in subsections 4.2 through 4.45 of this rule all initial permat
application fees shall be calculated through the use of the following formula: the initial permit application
fee shall equal the volume fee multiplied by the facility factor multiplied by the waste factor (1.¢., Initial
Permit Application Fee = Volume Fee X Facility Factor X Waste Factor).

4.1.a. The appropriate volume fee shall be determined through the use of the "New Facility"
column of Table A of this rule.

4.1.b. The appropriate facility factor shall be determined through the use of Table B of this rule.
4.1.c. The appropriate waste factor shall be determined through the use of Table C of this rule.

4.2. Publicly-Owned Treatment Works. The initial permit application fee for a POTW that operates a
collection system only shali be two thousand five hundred dollars (82,500).

4.3. Closed System Facilities.

4.3.a. The initial permit application fee for a closed system facility where priority pollutants or
toxic chemicals are present in the system shall be fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000).

4.3b. The initial permit application fee for a closed system facility where no prionty pollutants
or toxic chemicals are present in the system shall be seven hundred dollars (3700).

4.4. Solid Waste Facilities. The initial permit application fee for a solid waste facility shall be set and
collected in accordance with the provisions of 33CSR1.

4.5. Minor Construction Activities. The initial permit fee for a minor construction activity Tequiring
a permit shall be three hundred dollars (5300).

§47-26-5. Permit Renewal Application Fees.

5.1. Fee Calculation. Except as provided in subsections 5.2 through 5.4 of this rule all permit renewal
application fees shall be calculated through the use of the following formula: the permit renewal
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47CSR26

application fee shall equal the volume fee multiplied by the facility factor multiplied by the waste factor
(i.e., Permit Renewal Application Fee = Volume Fee X Facility Factor X Waste Factor).

5.1.a. The appropriate volume fee shall be determined through the use of the "Existing Facility”
column of Table A of this rule. '

5.1.b. The appropriate facility factor shall be determined through the use of Table B of this rule.
5.1.c. The appropriate waste factor shall be determined through the use of Table C of this rule.

5.2. Publicly-Owned Treatment Works. The permit renewal application fee for a POTW that operates
a collection system only shall be one thousand dollars (31 ,000).

5.3. Closed System Facilities.

5.3.a. The permit renewal application fee for a closed system facility where priority pollutants or
toxic chemicals are present in the system shall be five thousand dotlars ($5,000).

5.3.b. The permit renewal application fee for a closed system facility where no priority pollutants
or toxic chemicals are present in the system shall be three hundred fifty dollars ($350).

5.4. Solid Waste Facilities. The permit renewal application fee for a solid waste facility shall be set
and collected in accordance with the provisions of 33CSR1.

§47-26-6. Permit Modification Application Fees.

6.1. Fee Calculation. Except as provided in subsections 6.2 through 6.6 of this rule, all permit
modification application fees shall be calculated through the use of the following formula: the permit
modification application fee shall equal the volume fee multiplied by the facility factor multiplied by the
waste factor (i.e., Permit Modification Application Fee = Yolume Fee X Facility Factor X Waste Factor).

6.1.a. The appropriate volume fee shall be determined through the use of the "Existing Facility"
column of Table A of this rule. Only the discharge volume of the activity affected by the modification
shall be used in determining the appropriate volume fee.

6.1.b. The appropriate facility factor shal! be determined through the use of Table B of this rule.

6.1.c. The appropriate waste factor shall be determined through the use of Table C of this rule.

6.2. Publicly-Owned Treatment Works.

6.2.2. The permit modification application fee for 2 POTW that operates a collection system only

shall be ten percent (10%) of the initial permit application fee for an application seeking a major
modification.

6.2b. The permit modification application fee for a POTW that operates a collection system only
shall be two percent (2%) of the initial permit application fee or fifty dollars ($50), whichever is greater,
for an application seeking a minor modification.

6.3. Closed System Facilities.
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6.3.a. The permit modification application fee for a closed system facility shall be ten percent
(10%) of the initial permit application fee for an application seeking a major modification.

6.3.b. The permit modification application fee for a closed system facility shall be two percent

(2%) of the initial permit application fee or one hundred dollars ($100), whichever is greater, for an
application seeking a minor modification.

6.4. Solid Waste Facilities. The permit modification application fee for a solid waste facility shall be
set and collected in accordance with the provisions of 33CSRI1.

6.5. Non-Volume-Related Major Modifications. Except as provided in subsections 6.2 through 6.4 of
this rule, -the permit modification application fee shall be ten percent (10%) of the initial permit
application fee for sewage facilities and ten percent (10%) of the initial permit application fee, or five
hundred doliars ($500) whichever is greater for industrial facilities for an application seeking a major
modification where no discharge volume is involved.

6.6. Non-Volume-Related Minor Modifications. Except as provided in subsections 6.2 through 6.4 of
this rule, the permit modification application fee shall be fifty dollars (§50) for sewage only facilities and

one hundred doilars (5100) for industrial facilities for an application seeking a minor modification where
no discharge volume is involved.

§47-26~7. Annual Permit Fees.

7.1. Facilities Discharging Sewage. The annual permit fee for a facility that discharges sewage shall
be determined through the use of Table D of this rule.

7.2. Facilities Discharging Industrial Wastes or Other Wastes. The annual permit fee for a facility

that discharges industrial wastes or other wastes shall be determined through the use of Table E of this
rule.

7.3. Publicly-Owned Treatment Works. The annual permit fee for a POTW that operates a collection
system only shall be determined through the use of Table D of this rule.

7.4. Closed System Facilities.

742 The annual permit fee for a closed system facility where priority pollutants or tcnsic
chemicals are present in the system shall be five thousand dollars ($5,000): Provided, That if the chief

determines that a facility is in substantial compliance with its existing permit, the fee is two thousand five
hundred dollars {$2,500).

7.4b. The annual permit fee for a closed system facility where no priority pollutants or toxic
chemicals are present in the system shall be one hundred dollars ($100).

75. Solid Waste Facilities. The annual permit fee for a solid waste facility shall be five thousand
dollars ($5,000). :

7.6. Facilities Discharging Stormwater. The annual permit fee for a facility that discharges
stormwater only shall be determined through the use of Table F of this rule.

7.7. Aquacuiture facilities. The annual permit fees for aquaculture facilities that are subject to the
7
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provisions of the water pollution control regulations shall be determined by Table G of this rule.
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TABLE A

Industrial Wastes Only

Volume Fees

Average Discharge Volume Existing Facility New Facility
(gallons per day) Volume Fee Volume Fee
less than 1,001 $100 $400
1,001 to 5,000 $200 $600
5,001 to 50,000 $300 $1,000
50,001 to 100,000 $400 $1,200
greater than 100,000 3500 $1,500

Sewage Only

Volume Fees

Average Discharge Volume Existing Facility New Facility

(gallons per day) Yolume Fee Volume Fee
Iess than 1,001 $50 $200
1,001 to 5,000 $100 5300
5,001 to 50,000 $150 3500
50,001 to 100,000 5200 $600
greater than 100,000 $250 §750

Note: Stormwater runoff shall be included when calculating the average discharge volume of a facility
that discharges industrial waste or other waste. Calculations of the average discharge volume for
stormwater runoff shall be made in accordance with the provisions of Appendix A of these rules.
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TABLE B

Facility Factors

Type of Facility Facility Factor
. o 5.0
Major Facility
. 5.0
Primary Industry Category
{except Auto and Other Laundries)
Secondary Industry Category 30
Water Plants 30
2.0
Minor POTWs
' . 1.0
Auto and Other Laundnies Category
0.9
Facility covered
under a General Permit
1.0
All other facilities
and activities
0.45

Home Aeration Units Replacing
Failing Septic Systems

10
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TABLE C
Waste Factors
Type of Waste Waste Factor

Process Waste 2.0
Sewage . 1.7
Contact Cooling Water _ 1.5
Contaminated Stormwater 1.3
Blowdowns 1.1
Once-Through Cooling Water 1.1
With Additives '

Once-Through Cooling Water | 1.0
Without Additives

Uncontaminated Stormwater 1.0
Other Waste 1.0

Note: When an industrial facility discharges more than one type of waste, the highest applicable waste
factor shall be used in the calculation of the permit application fee.
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TABLED

Annual Permit Fees For

Facilities Discharging-Sewage

)

Number of Customers

less than 100
100 to 499
500 to 999
1,000 to 1,499
1,500 to 1,999
2,000 to 2,499 |
2,500 to 2,999
3,000 to 3,499
3,500 to 3,999
4,000 to 4,499
4,500 to 4,999

greater than 5,000

Annual Permit Fee

$50
$100
$250
$500
5750
$1,000
$1,250
$1,500
$1,750
$2,000

§2,250

$2,500
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TABLE E

Annual Permit Fees For Facilities Discharging
Industrial Wastes Other Wastes

Average Discharge Volume
(galions per day)

Annual Permit Fee
less than 1,001 $100
1,001 to 2,500 $250
2,501 to 5,000 $500
5,001 to 10,000 $1,000
10,001 to 15,000 $1,500
15,001 to 50,000 $2,000
greater than 50,000 $5,000

TABLE F

Schedule of Annual Permit Fees for
Facilities Discharging Stormwater

Average Discharge Volume

(gallons per day) Annual Permit Fee
less than 5,001 $100
5,001 to 15,000 §250
15,001 to 50,000 §500 .
50,001 to 100,000 $1,000
greater than 100,000 \ ~ $1,500

13
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TABLE G

Schedule of Annual Permit Fees For
Aquaculture Facilities

# Feed/Month Annual Fee

Application Fee
(Initial and Reissuance)
5,000 to0 9,999 $250 5250
10,000 to 14,999 § 500 $250
15,000 to 19,999 5750 $250
20,000 to 24,999 $1,000 $250
25,000 to 29,999 $1,250 $250
greater than 30,000 $1,750 : £250

14
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APPENDIX A

Calculation of the Average
Discharge Volume for Stormwater Runoff

o

The following formula shall be used to determine the average discharge volume for stormwater runoff:

Average Discharge Volume Annual Stormwater Runoff Volume
for Stormwater Runoff =
(gallons per day) 366 days per year

where Annual Stormwater Runoff Volume (gallons) =

Annual Drainage 7.48

Rainfall X Area X gallons X Rumnofoff
Coefficient

(ft/yr) (ft-sq) per ft-cu

where the Runoff Coefficient shall be
0.90 for areas covered by concrete or asphalt
and 0.25 for areas covered by vegetation.

Note: An alternative method of stormmwater runoff calculation may be substituted for this formula upon
approval from the chief.
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APPENDIX B

FISCAL NOTE FOR PROPOSED RULES

Rule Title: Water Pollutipn Control Permit Fee Schedule (47 CSR, Series 26)

Type of Rule: _X___ Legislative

Interpretive Procedural

Agency: Department of Environmental Protection-Division of Water Resources

Address: 1201 Greenbrier Street

Charleston, West Virginia 25311

1. Effect of Proposed rule:

ANNUAL FISCAL YEAR

INCREASE DECREASE CURRENT | NEXT THEREAFTER
ESTIMATED TOTAL $600,000 $600,000|  $600,000
COST
PERSONAL SERVICES $411,000 $411,000] 411,000
CURRENT EXPENSE $185,400 $185,400 $185,400
REPAIRS & $3,600 s3600] 53,600
ALTERATIONS
EQUIPMENT
OTHER

2. Explanation of Above Estimates:

The proposed rule will generate approximately $600,000 as a result of permit and annual
fees assessed to fund the new federal permitting requirements. The agency anticipates
reviewing and processing 1,900 to 2,000 new permit applications resulting from the new
federal requirements requiring the need for additional personnel.

3. Objectives of These Rules:

The objective of the rule is to claculate a fee to be paid by new pérmittees which
will off-set administrative costs associated with the new and expanded federal
permitting requirements and resulting changes to the state program.

1




Water Pollution Control Permit Fee Schedule (47 CSR, Series 26)

Rule Title:

4. Explanation of Overall Economic Impact of Proposed Rule:

A. Economic Impact on State Government:
The rule will provide finding to assure compliance with new federal permitting

requirements and provide service to the public via the processing and review of permit
applications. Anticipated revenues will be used to comply with the new federal

permitting requirements.
Economic Impact on Political Subdivisions; Specific Industries; Specific Groups of

Citizens: Projects which will disturb one acre of land but less than three and which
require a permit from the state as mandated by the new federal requirements
will be required to pay an application fee and subsequent annual fee.

C. Economic Impact on Citizens/Public at Large.

Same as 4.B.

Date: June 25, 2002

ithorized Representative:

Signature of Agency Head or

AU e A forremir.




