81CSR1

TITLE 81

LEGISLATIVE RULE

WEST VIRGINIA STATE POLICE

SERIES 1 

SUPPLEMENTAL PAY
'81-1-1.  General.
1.1.  Scope.  --  This rule establishes the number of hours per month which constitute the standard work month for members of the West Virginia State Police who are exempt from federal Fair Labor Standards Act guidelines and further designates the criteria for receipt of a portion or all of the supplemental payment when hours are worked in excess of the standard work month.

1.2.  Authority.  --  W. Va. Code '15-2-5.

1.3.  Filing Date.  --  March 29, 1999.

1.4.  Effective Date.  --  March 29, 1999.

1.5.  Repeal of former rule - This legislative rule repeals and replaces West Virginia State Police Administrative Rule 81CSR1 filed on May 21, 1998 and effective June 15, 1998.

'81-1-2 Supplemental Pay.
2.1. The standard work month for the West Virginia State Police members who are exempt from overtime pursuant to the provisions of the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act consists of one hundred seventy-three (173) hours.

2.2. Members of the West Virginia State Police who are exempt from overtime pursuant to the provisions of the Federal Fair Labors Standards Act, with the exception of the Superintendent and civilian employees, shall receive the following percentages of the maximum supplement for the equivalent number of hours worked in excess of the standard work month:



EXCESS 

TOTAL MONTHLY

1-5 hours
174 to & incl.
178
25%

6-10 hours
179 to & incl.
183
50%

11-15 hours
184 to & incl.
188
75%

16 or more
189 or more

100%

2.3. Credit for a normal workday of 8 hours shall be given in computing the number of hours worked per month for any legal holiday (HOD) or compensatory day (CDO) in lieu of a legal holiday; any day of annual leave (AWL), sick leave (SIQ), work related disability leave (DL), or administrative leave (AAL), as defined in West Virginia State Police Operational Policy and Procedure, taken within the month for which the computation is made.  Credit for a normal workday of 8 hours shall also be given in computing the number of hours worked per month for any compensatory day (CDO) taken in lieu of a day off duty lost.  Credit for a normal workday shall not be given for customary days off duty (DOD) or for any make up days (MUD) in lieu of customary days off duty.

2.4 The Superintendent shall base the monthly certification of those members who are eligible for receipt of the monthly supplement set forth in subsection 2.2 of this rule upon personal knowledge and/or individual monthly activity reports.
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