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§42-21A-1. General

1.1. Scope. -- This legislative rule governs standards, qualifications, requirements and
procedures for licensing elevator mechanics and apprentices, the powers and duties of the West
Virginia Commissioner of the Division of Labor and penalties for violations in accordance with W.
Va. Code §21-3C-1, et seq.

1.2. Authority. -- W. Va, Code §21-3C-11.
1.3. Filing Date. -- May-82609:
1.4. Effective Date. -- June1+-2005:
§42-21A-2. Application and Enforcement.
2.1. Application. This legislative rule applies to the Commissioner and all persons working

as elevator mechanics, limited technicians or elevator mechanic apprentices as defined in W, Va.
Code §21-3C-1, ef seq.

2.2. Enforcement. The enforcement of this legislative rule is vested with the Commissioner,

§42-21A-3. Definitions.

3.1. “ASME” refers to the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue,

New York. New York 10016-5990.

3.2. “Elevator apprentice” or “elevator mechanic apprentice” means a person who meets the
requirements set forth in W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, ef seq., and this rule.




3.3. “Limited technician license™ means a license issued to a person employed by a historic
resort hotel.

§42-21A-4. Adoption of Standards.

The following American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards are

incorporated by reference:

4.1. ASME Code A17.1 - 2009, “Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators.” effective June
30,2010

4.2. ASME Code 17.2 - 2007, “Guide for Inspection of Elevators and Escalators,” effective
October 5. 2007;

4.3. ASME Code 17.3 - 2008, “Safety Code for Existing Elevators and Escalators.” effective
July 9. 2009: and

4.4. ASME Code A18.1, “Safety Code for Platform Lifts and Stairway Chairlifts.” published
on August 28, 2008.

§42-21A-5. Licensure and Registration Required.

5.1 FEffective Fanvary 26102 A person may not engage or offer to engage in the business

of erecting, constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing or maintaining elevators or related
conveyances covered by W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, ef seq., Whthout without a license issued according
to the provisions of W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, ef seq.. or this rule.

5.2. Effectivetanuary 126162 A person may not work as an elevator apprentice unless he
or she is registered with the Commissioner and meets the requirements set forth in section seven{?)

7 of this rule.

§42-21A-6. Minimum Qualifications for Licensure; Requirement to Work under Contractor’s
License,.

6.1. The Commissioner shall issue a license to an applicant who:

6.1.a. Is at least erghteen 18 years of age;




6.1.b. Submits an application on forms provided by the Commissioner;
6.1.c. Pays the application fee; and
6.1.d. Meets one of the following requirements:

6.1.d.1. Submits documentation of not less than three—35 3 years work
experience in the elevator industry, in construction, maintenance, service or repair or any
combination thereof, as verified by current and previous employers, and a score of seventypereent
6% 70% or better on the written examination approved by the Commissioner;

6.1.d.2. Submits certificates of completion and of successful passage of the
examination of a nationally recognized training program for the elevator industry as approved by the
Commissioner; or

6.1.d.3. Submits certificates of completion of an apprenticeship program for
elevator mechanics registered with the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training of the U. 8.
Department of Labor and as approved by the Commissioner.

6-3- 6.2. The Commissioner shall reject any application containing willfully submitted false
or untrue information.
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6-5. 6.3. A license issued under pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, ef
seq., or this rule is not assignable or transferable, and is valid for a period not to exceed oret1) 1
year from the date on which it was issued.




66 6.4. A licensee performing the work of an elevator mechanic must be, or be employed
by, a contractor licensed pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code §21-11-1, ef seq.

6-7. 6.5. Each licensed elevator mechanic shall carry proof of valid licensure on his or her
person during the performance of elevator mechanic work.

§42-21A-7. Qualifications and Supervision Requirements for Elevator Apprentices.

7.1. A person desiring to work as an elevator apprentice in this state shall register with the
Commissioner on a form provided by the Commissioner.

7.2. The registrant shall provide documentation of enrollment in an elevator apprentice
program recognized by the U. S. Department of Labor, on forms provided by the Commissioner.

7.3. An elevator apprentice may work only under the supervision of a licensed elevator

mechanic, as specifically set forth in W. Va. Code § 21+=3E-16{ay(cy- 21-3C-10a (e).
7.4. A Registration registration issued pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code § 21-3C-

1. et seq., or this rule is not assignable or transferable, and is valid for a period not to exceed one(t)
1 year from the date on which it was issued.

8§ 42-21A-8. Limited Technician License.

8.1. The Commissioner shall issue a limited technician license to an applicant who:

8.1.a. Is at least 18 years of age:

8.1.b. Submits an application on forms provided by the Commissioner;

8.1.c. Pavs the application fee; and

8.1.d. Provides current documentation that he or she is regularly employed by a
historic resort hotel and is paid regular wages and not a contract price.

8.2. Alimited technician license issued pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1

et seq., or this rule is not assignable or transferable, and is valid for a period not to exceed 1 year
from the date on which il was issued.

8.3. A limited technician license is valid only for work performed on property owned or

leased by the historic resort hotel as identified on the lace of the license,

8.4. A person licensed as a limited technician may not replace any of the following:




8.4.a. Governors:

8.4.b. Sheave wheels or bearings:

8.4.c. Cables and shackles:

8.4.d. Ring gears and worn gears:;

8.4.¢, Buffers:

8.4.f. Traveling cables:

8.4.2. Hydro pumps:

8.4.h. Hydro pump motors:

8.4.i. Hvdro valve chests:

8.4.j. Jack packing and seals: or

8.4.%. Rope grippers.

§42-21A-8 9. Expiration and Renewal.

81 9.1. All licenses and registrations expire on the last day of the anniversary month from
the month of issuance of the license.

#2:9.2. Anclevator mechanic, limited technician, or elevator apprentice is responsible for
submitting his or her license or registration renewal to the Commissioner prior to the expiration date.

83— 9.3. An elevator mechanic, limited technician. or elevator apprentice who has not
renewed his or her license or registration in accordance with the provisions of W. Va. Code § 21-3C-
1, ef seq., or this rule shall submit a new application to the Commissioner.

8. 9.4. The Commissioner shall mail license and registration renewal notifications in a
timely manner to each elevator mechanic, limited technician, and elevator apprentice.

§42-21A-9 10. Emergency Licenses.

5+ 10.1. Whenever an emergency exists in the state due to disaster, act of God, or work
stoppage, as declared by the President of the United States or Governor of West Virginia, and the
number of persons in the state holding elevator mechanic licenses granted by the Commissioner is
insufficient to cope with the emergency, the licensed elevator contractors may request that the
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Commissioner issue an emergency elevator mechanic license to a person certified by the licensed
elevator contractor to have an acceptable combination of documented experience and education to
perform elevator work without direct supervision.

9:2.10.2. Any person certified by a licensed elevator contractor pursuant to this section who
responds to an emergency as set forth in this section shall apply for an emergency elevator mechanic
license from the Commissioner within five 3 business days after commencing work requiring a
license.

9:3. 10.3. Upon receipt of proof of competency of the applicant from a licensed elevator
contractor, the Commissioner shall issue an eniergency elevator mechanic license.

94:10.4. Cach emergency license shall state that it is valid for a period of 30 days from the
date of issuance for particular elevators or geographical areas designated by the Commissioner, and
entitles the licensee to the rights and privileges of an elevator mechanic license issued under the
provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, er seq., and this rule.

9:5— 10.5.The Commissioner shall not charge for an emergency elevator mechanic license.
§42-21A-18 11. Temporary Licenses.

1+ 11.1. In the event that there are no licensed elevator mechanics available to engage in
the work of an elevator mechanic, a licensed elevator contractor may request that the Commissioner
issue a temporary elevator mechanic license. The licensed elevator contractor shall certify by sworn
affidavit that the person for whom the temporary license is sought has an acceptable combination
of documented experience and education to perform elevator work without direct supervision.

102, 11.2. Any person certified by a licensed elevator contractor pursuant to this section
shall apply for a temporary elevator mechanic license from the Commissioner before commencing
work requiring a license.

163, 11.3. Upon receipt of proof of competency of the applicant from a licensed elevator
contractor, the Commissioner shall issue a temporary elevator mechanic license.

18-4. 11.4. Each temporary license shall state that it is valid for a period of 30 days from the
date of issuance for particular elevators or geographical areas designated by the Commissioner, and
entitles the licensee to the rights and privileges of an elevator mechanic license issued under the
provisions of W. Va, Code §21-3C-1, et seq., and this rule.

10-5-11.5. The Commissioner shall charge a fee fora temporary elevator mechanic license,
as set forth in this rule,

§42-21A-11 12. Continuing Education.




H+12.1. Asacondition of the renewal of an elevator mechanic’s license, the licensee shall
complete continuing education courses as set forth in this section.

++:2. 12.2. The courses shall consist of not fewer thatetght(8) than 8 hours of instruction,
which must be attended and successfully completed within the year immediately preceding the
renewal. The training need not be continuous but may be an accumulation of shorter periods that

total at least etght8) 8 hours.

+3— 12.3. The courses shall be taught by continuing education providers approved by the
Commissioner, including but not limited to, trade association seminars, labor training programs,
career technology centers and the Division.

H4-12.4. A licensee who is unable to complete the continuing education courses required
under this section prior to the expiration of his or her license due to a temporary disability, military
service or other good cause shown, may apply to the Commissioner for a waiver. The Commissioner
may grant a waiver under this subsection in his or her sole discretion.

§42-21A-12 13. Reciprocity.

+2-+. 13.1. For any state that has requirements substantially equivalent to those provided for
by W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, ef seq., and this rule, and has entered into a reciprocity agreement with
the Commissioner, the Commissioner may issue an elevator mechanic license to an applicant who
documents that he or she holds a valid license issued by that state.

122, 13.2, An out of state applicant must submit a written application as provided for in§42=
21A=6 section 6 of this rule, and upon renewal, must comply with the continuing education
requirements in §42=21A=H section 11 of this rule.

12:3. 13.3. The Commissioner is not required to issue areciprocal license to an applicant who
is the subject of disciplinary action or against whom there is an unresolved complaint in another
state.

§42-21A-13: 14. Denial, Suspension, Revocation, or Reinstatement of License.

1+5-t. 14.1. The Commissioner may deny, suspend, revoke or reinstate a license.

132— 14.2. A violation of W, Va. Code §21-3C-1, ef seq., or this rule is grounds for the
denial, suspension, revocation or refusal to reinstate a license and permits the Commissioner to
impose disciplinary action: Provided, that no disciplinary action may be imposed against a licensee
without notice and an opportunity for a hearing before the Commissioner, or his or her designee.
The hearing shall be conducted pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code §29A-5-1, ef segq., the
Administrative Procedures Act. Atthe hearing, the licensee shall be allowed to present evidence and
testimony in person, by counsel or both, and may cross-examine witnesses and submit rebuttal
evidence. After the hearing, if the Commissioner finds a violation of this rule has occurred, the
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Commissioner may impose any disciplinary action permitted by law.

13:3.14.3. The Commissioner may suspend or revoke the license of'a licensee who performs
elevator mechanic work in violation of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, et seq., or this rule. The suspension
of a license shall be for not less than twenty=four 24 hours nor more than ome 1 year. The
Commissioner may reinstate the license upon satisfactory proof'that the licensee is in full compliance
with the provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, et seq., and this rule,

13-4 14.4. A person whose license has been revoked may apply for a new license one 1 year
after the date of the revocation.

§42-21 A-14 15, Effect of Nonecompliance.

4+, Each day during which a person performs elevator mechanic work without the required
license or while in non-compliance with any of the provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, et seq., or
this rule, after official written notice from the Commissioner or a Division inspector that the work
is unlawful, is a separate violation of the provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1. et seq.. and this rule.

§42-21A-15 16. Disposition of Complaints.

T5+ 16.1. In the course of investigating complaints, the Commissioner shall determine
whether or not the person against whom the complaint has been filed is properly licensed under the
provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, et seq.

152, 16.2. Any citizen, law enforcement official or other official of any state, county, or
municipal government agency, upon observing or learning of an—infraction a_violation of the
licensure requirements of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, et seq., or this rule, may file a written complaint
with the offtee-of the-Commissioner. The Commissioner may provide a form for this purpose, but
a complaint may be filed in any written form. When a complaint is filed with the officeof-tire
Commissioner, it shall be investigated thecomptaint. In addition to describing the alleged violation
which prompted the complaint, the complaint shall contain as a minimum the following information:

152 16.2.a. The name of the person against whom the complaint is lodged;
152b.16.2.b. The date of the alleged mfraction violation;
1527 16.2.¢. The nature of the alleged infraction violation; and

52— 16.2.d. The location of the infraction violation Or gccurrence.

153. 16.3. A copy of the complaint sent to the licensee shall be considered properly served
when sent to his or her last known address. It is the responsibility of the licensee to keep the
Commissioner informed of his or her current address. The licensee has 30 days to file a response
or appeal petition to the complaint with the Commissioner.
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+54. 16.4. Afier receipt and review of a complaint, the Commissioner shall cause to be
conducted any reasonable inquiry or investigation he or she considers necessary to determine the
truth and validity of the allegations set forth in the complaint.

+5-5-16.5. Upon a finding of probable cause that a violation of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, et
seq., or thisrule has occurred, the Commissioner shall proceed in the manner described in subsection
132 14 of this rule,

15:6 16.6. Any party adversely affected by a decision of the Commissioner entered after a
hearing may seek review by appeal to a circuit court of West Virginia, as set forth in W. Va. Code
§29A-5-4,

577 16.7. Any party adversely aftected by the final judgment of the circuit court may seek
review by appeal to the Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia, as set forth in W. Va. Code
§29A-6-1,

§42-21A-16 17. Fees.

t6-+. 17.1. The Commissioner shall deposit all fees paid pursuant to this rule in a special
revenue account with the State Treasurer for the use of the Commissioner as provided under W. Va.
Code §21-3C-11(c).

16:2. 17.2. The Commissioner shall charge the following fees:

16:2:ax 17.2.a. Initial license .... $90
+6:2:6- 17.2.b. Annual renewal of license .... $90
16:27¢. 17.2.c. Temporary license .... $90

16:2-d— 17.2.d. Duplicate license (original lost or destroyed) .... $26 $10

t6-2-g. 17.2.g. Reinstatement of lapsed license .... $146 $115.

16-3.17.3. The Commissioner shall waive the license fee for a licensee who is a contractor
and who has paid a contractor license fee under the provisions of W. Va. Code 21-11-1, et seq.




