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TITLE 42
LEGISLATIVE RULE
WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF LABOR
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SERIES 21
ELEVATOR SAFETY ACT
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§42-21-1. General.

-
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1.1. Scope. -- This legislative rule governs the competency and certification of inspector

5,
the registration and inspection of elevators, the issuance of certificates of operation, fees, permits for
repair, enforcement and penalties.

1.2. Authority. -- W. Va. Code §§ 21-3C-6(a), 10 and 11(a).
1.3. Filing Date. -- April 15, 2011.

1.4. Effective Date. -- May 2, 2011.

§42-21-2. Application and Enforcement.

2.1. Application. This legislative rule governs all persons, firms, corporations, government
entities, materials and transactions covered by the provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, et seq.

2.2. Enforcement. The enforcement of this legislative rule is vested with the West Virginia
Division of Labor or its designated representatives as authorized by W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, ef seq.

§42-21-3. Definitions.
3.1. “ASME” refers to the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue,
New York, NY 10016-5990.

3.2. “Imminent danger” or “unsafe condition” refers to an elevator’s condition that presents

a risk of immediate or excessive danger, serious injury or death to passengers or elevator
maintenance personnel.

3.3. “Inspector” means both a Division inspector and a private inspector who holds a
certificate of competency issued by the Division and is qualified to conduct safety inspections on
elevators.

3.4. “To seal out of service” or “sealed out of service” means that an elevator has been made
inoperable by removal of the disconnect and the placement of a seal securing the elevator’s electrical



box.

§ 42-21-4. Adoption of Standards.

The following American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards are
incorporated by reference:

4.1. ASME Code A17.1 - 2009, “Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators,” effective June
30, 2010;

4.2. ASME Code 17.2 - 2007, “Guide for Inspection of Elevators and Escalators,” effective
October 5, 2007,

4.3. ASME Code 17.3 - 2008, “Safety Code for Existing Elevators and Escalators,” effective
July 9, 2009; and

4.4. ASME Code A18.1, “Safety Code for Platform Lifts and Stairway Chairlifts,” published
on August 28, 2008.

§42-21-5. Registration of Elevators.

The owner or operator of any elevator shall register every elevator operated by him or her
with the Division, providing all required information.

§42-21-6. Certificate of Operation Required; Annual Renewal; Revocation.

6.1. Certificate of operation. Unless exempt pursuant to W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, ef seq.,
an elevator may not be operated in this state without a valid certificate of operation.

6.1.1. The owner or operator of an elevator shall apply for a certificate of operation
on a form provided by the Division and shall remit the $50.00 application fee.

6.1.2. The Division shall not issue a certificate of operation until the elevator has
been inspected and certified safe for operation by an inspector who holds a valid certificate of
competency issued by the Division.

6.1.3. A certificate of operation is valid for 12 months from the date of issuance.

6.2. Renewal. Every certificate of operation shall be renewed on or before its expiration
date.

6.2.1. The owner or operator of the elevator shall apply for renewal on a form
provided by the Division and shall remit the $50.00 renewal fee.



6.2.2. The Division shall not renew a certificate of operation until the elevator has
been inspected and found safe for operation by an inspector who holds a valid certificate of
competency issued by the Division.

6.2.3. A renewed certificate of operation is valid for 12 months from the date of
issue.

6.3. Revocation of a certificate of operation. A certificate of operation shall be revoked by
the Division for the following reasons:

6.3.1. any condition which presents an imminent danger;
6.3.2. the removal of the seal that seals an elevator out of service;

6.3.3. the submission of any information or statements to the Division which are
known by the person submitting the information to be false or misleading in a material respect;

6.3.4. the failure or refusal by the owner or operator of an elevator to permit the
Division or its inspectors access to or to copy records, or the failure to make required reports or to
provide information, or the failure or refusal to permit entry or inspection as required by this rule;
or

6.3.5. the failure to pay any fee required by law or this rule.
§42-21-7. Inspection; Reports; Fees.

7.1. Inspection required. As required by W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, ef seq., and this rule,
elevators must be inspected for safety and certified safe for operation by an inspector who has been
certified for competency by the Division.

7.1.1. A private inspector shall not inspect repairs or routine maintenance work
performed by the inspector, an employee of the inspector, the inspector’s employer or another
employee of the inspector’s employer.

7.1.2. The Division and its certified inspectors or employees may enter into any
establishment in which an elevator is located for the purpose of inspecting the elevator for safety.

7.1.3. Anannounced or unannounced inspection may occur at any time between the
hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, or at any other reasonable time considered
necessary by the Division in the exercise of its duties.

7.2. Inspection Report. Every inspector shall prepare a report of inspection on a form
approved by the Division, showing the true and exact condition of each elevator inspected.



7.2.1. The inspector shall leave a copy of the report with the elevator owner or his
or her representative on the day of inspection and shall forward a copy of the report of inspection to
the Division

7.2.2. Ifthe inspector determines that changes or repairs to the elevator are required
in order to make it safe to operate, the inspector shall include his or her recommendations in the
inspection report.

7.3. Inspection Fees.
7.3.1. The fee for the inspection of each elevator by the Division is $100.00.

7.3.2. The Division’s fee for the inspection of more than one elevator in a building
is $100.00 for the first elevator inspected and $25.00 for each additional elevator inspected.

7.3.3. If changes or repairs are required prior to the issuance of a certificate of
operation, an inspection fee will not be charged by the Division for the first follow-up inspection.

7.3.4. If subsequent follow-up inspections are required because of the owner’s or
operator’s failure to make the required repairs or changes, Division inspection fees shall be charged
at the same rates set forth in subdivisions 7.3.1 and 7.3.2 of this rule for each subsequent follow-up
inspection.

7.3.5. The failure to pay the required inspection fee is sufficient grounds for the
Division to withhold the issuance of a certificate of operation.

§ 42-21-8. Unsafe Condition or Imminent Danger; Notice.

8.1. The Division or a certified inspector shall seal out of service any elevator that is found
to be unsafe or poses a risk of imminent danger.

8.2. Notice of unsafe condition or imminent danger. If during the course of an inspection,
the Division or a certified inspector finds that a passenger elevator or any part of the elevator cannot
be operated safely or poses a risk of imminent danger, the Division or inspector shall immediately
notify the owner or elevator operator in writing, stating the deficiencies and the required repairs or
changes needed.

8.3. A certified inspector shall notify the Division immediately as to the location and
condition of the sealed elevator.

8.4. Once sealed out of service, a passenger elevator shall not be operated except for the
purpose of making the repairs required by the Division.



8.5. A seal placed on an elevator’s electric box in accordance with the provisions of W, Va.
Code § 21-3C-1, et seq., or this rule shall not be removed, obstructed or in any way altered without
the written consent of the Division.

8.6. When the required repairs have been made to an elevator that has been sealed out of
service, the Division or a certified inspector shall perform a complete inspection and safety test
before the elevator can be placed back into service.

§42-21-9. Inspectors; application; certificate of competency.

9.1. Certificate of Competency. No person may serve as a elevator inspector unless he or
she holds a certificate of competency issued by the Division.

9.2. Application required. Any person desiring to obtain a certificate of competency from
the Division shall submit a written application accompanied by a $10.00 fee, on a form furnished
by the Division. The applicant shall provide all information requested on the form and any failure
to provide the information shall cause the application to be rejected. The applicant shall also submit
the following:

9.2.1. A letter from one or more previous employers concerning his or her character
and experience;

9.2.2. Proof that the applicant is at least 21 years of age; and

9.2.3. A copy of the applicant’s successful test scores on the examination required
by the Division or a copy of the applicant’s Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI) certificate issued by
an organization accredited by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers to certify Qualified
Elevator Inspectors.

§42-21-10. Work-Sharing Agreement Between the Division and Counties and Municipalities.

10.1. Work-sharing agreements with the Division. The Division may enter into a work-
sharing agreement with any county or municipality whereby the county or municipality would, under
the supervision of the Division, assume the inspection and enforcement provisions of W. Va. Code

§21-3C-1, et seq.

10.2. A work-sharing agreement shall be executed on a form provided by the Division and
approved by the Office of the Attorney General.

10.3. With the approval of the Division, counties and municipalities may combine their
jurisdictions into a single work-sharing agreement.

10.4. A work-sharing agreement shall include the following provisions:



10.4.1. that all elevators covered under the provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, et
seq., within the county or municipality are inspected annually for safety;

10.4.2. thatno elevator covered by W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, et seq., shall be permitted
to operate without having first obtained a certificate of operation from the Division;

10.4.3. that any inspector employed by the county or municipality is certified for
competency by the Division as required by the provisions of W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, et seq., or this
rule; :

10.4.4. that all inspections for safety are conducted in accordance with the provisions
of W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, et seq., or this rule;

10.4.5. that reports on inspection are filed with the Division within 5 days of the date
of inspection;

10.4.6. that the county or municipality shall comply with any written orders issued
by the Division;

10.4.7. thatthe Division shall provide technical assistance to the county or municipal
inspectors where necessary to insure adequate enforcement of the W. Va. Code §21-3C-1 et seq.;

10.4.8. that the Division shall provide the report and inspection forms required by
the Division;

10.4.9. that the Division shall permit the county or municipality to collect and retain
fees for inspections as a means to support the enforcement effort at the local level; and

10.4.10. that the Division shall provide direct supervision, where considered
necessary by the Division, to county or municipal inspectors.



