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TITLE 42
LEGISLATIVE RULE BIISER 23 Py ooy,
WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF LABOR :
C-.V:“ . [ --j_;ﬁ""
SERIES 21 S s \m_‘a
ELEVATOR SAFETY ACT o alATE

§42-21-1. General.

I.1. Scope. -- This legislative rule governs the competency and certification of inspectors,

; the registration and inspection of elevators, inspectionof-etevators; the

issuance of €ertifteate certificates of operation, fees, permits for repair, enforcement and penalties.

1.2. Authority. - W. Va. Code §21=3€-H- §§ 21-3C-6(a}, 10 and 11(a).

1.3. Filing Date. - May-8-2065
1.4, Effective Date. -- Fune-1-2669-

§42-21-2. Application and Enforcement.

2.1. Application. This legislative rule governs all persons, firms, corporations, government
entities, materials and transactions covered by the provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, ef seq.

2.2. Enforcement. The enforcement of this legislative rule is vested with the West Virginia
Division of Labor or its designated representatives as authorized by W. Va. Code §2+-3€-Hdy §
21-3C-1, ef seq.

§42-21-3. Definitions.
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3.1. “ASME" refers to the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue,
New York. NY 10016-5990,

3.2. “Imminent danger” or “unsafe condition™ refers to an elevator’s condition that presents

a risk of immediate or excessive danger. serious injury or death to passengers or elevator
maintenance personnel.

3-F 3.3. “Inspector” means both a divisten Division inspector and a private inspector who
holds a certificate of competency issued by the Division and is thereby qualified to conduct safety
inspections on elevators.

3.4. “To seal out of service” or “sealed out of service” means that an elevator has been made

inoperable by removal of the disconnect and the placement of a seal securing the elevator’s electrical
box.

§ 42-21-4. Adoption of Standards,

The following American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards are
incorporated by reference:

4.1. ASME Code A17.1 - 2009, “Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators.” effective June
30,.2010;

4.2. ASME Code 17.2 - 2007, “Guide for Inspection of Elevators and Escalators,” effective
October 5, 2007

4.3. ASME Code 17.3 - 2008, “Safety Code for Existing Elevators and Escalators.” effective
July 9. 2009: and




4.4, ASME Code A18.1, “Safety Code for Platform Lifts and Stairway Chairlifts.” published
on August 28. 2008.

§42-21-4 5. Registration of Elevators.

++Registratton—The owner or operator of any elevator shall register withthe Divistorrevery
eievator operated by hlm or her with the Division, prov1d1ng all egmred mformatlonrcqmrcd-by—thc

§42-21-5 6. Certificate of Operation Required; Annual Renewal; Revocation.

5. 6.1. Certificate of operation. Unless exempt pursuant to W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, e/

seq.. No an elevator may not be operated in this state except-thoscexemptedby subseetion4-2-of thts
mfc without a valid certlﬁcate of operauon TheDivistomrshattnotissueacertifreateofoperation

6.1.1. The owner or operator of an elevator shall apply for a certificate of operation
on a form provided by the Division and shall remit the $50.00 application fee.

6.1.2. The Division shall not issue a certificate of operation until the elevator has

been inspected and certified safe for operation by an inspector who holds a valid certificate of
competency issued by the Division.

6.1.3. A certificate of operation is valid for 12 months from the date of issuance.

5:2. 6.2. Renewal. Every certlﬁcate tc-opcratt of operauon shall be renewed onor before its
explratlon date. The wa PV ; va :




6.2.1. The owner or operator of the elevator shall apply for renewal on a form

provided by the Division and shall remit the $50.00 renewal fee.

6.2.2 The Division shall not renew a certificate of operation until the elevator has
been inspected and found safe for operation by an inspector who holds a valid certificate of
competency issued by the Division.

6.2.3. A renewed certificate of operation is valid for 12 months from the date of
issue.

53+ 6.3. Revocation of a certificate tooperate of operation. A certificate to-operate of
operation may shall be revoked by the Division for any-of the following reasons:

53+a. 6.3.1. any condition which presents an imminent danger;

5—3—b 6.3.2,

53-d—6.3.3. the submission of any information or statements to the Division which
are known by the person submitting the information to be false or misleading in a material respect;

53— 6.3.4. the failure or refusal by the owner or operator of an elevator to permit
the Division or its inspectors access to or to copy records, or the failure to make required reports or
to provide information, or the failure or refusal to permit entry or inspection as required by this rule;
or

53 6.3.5. the failure to pay any fee required by law or this rule.

§42-21-6 7. Inspection; Reports; Fees.

6-t. 7.1. Inspectionrequired. As required by sub=sectionS-tof W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1. et

seq.. and this rule, elevators must be inspected for safety and certified safe for operation by an
1nspector who has been cemﬁed for competency by the Division. Provided-toweveraprivate




7.1.1. A private inspector shall not inspect repairs or routine maintenance work

performed by the inspector, an emplovee of the inspector. the inspector’s emplover or another
employee of the inspector’s emplover.

7.1.2. The Division and its certified inspectors or employees mayv enter into any
establishment in which an elevator is located for the purpose of inspecting the elevator for safety.

7.1.3. Anannounced or unannounced inspection may occur at any time between the

hours 0f 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. or at any other reasonable time considered
necessary by the Division in the exercise of its duties.

63 7.2. Inspection Report. Every inspector shall prepare a report of inspection on a form

approved by the diviston Division, showing the true and exact condition of each elevator inspected.
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7.2.1. The inspector shall leave a copy of the report with the elevator owner or his or

her representative on the day of inspection and shall forward a copy of the report of inspection to the

Division

7.2.2. Ifthe inspector determines that changes or repairs to the elevator are required

in order to make it safe to operate, the inspector shall include his or her recommendations in the
inspection report.




7.3.1. The fee for the inspection of each elevator by the Division is $100.00.

7.3.2. The Division’s fee for the inspection of more than one elevator in a building
is $100.00 for the first elevator inspected and $25.00 for each additional elevator inspected.

7.3.3. 1If changes or repairs are_required prior to the issuance of a certificate of
operation, an inspection fee will not be charged by the Division for the first follow-up inspection.

7.3.4. 1fsubsequent follow-up inspections are required because of the owner’s or

operator’s failure to make the required repairs or changes, Division inspection fees shalt be charged
at the same rates set forth in subdivisions 7.3.1 and 7.3.2 of this rule for each subsequent follow-up
inspection.

7.3.5. The failure to pay the required inspection fee is sufficient grounds for the
Division to withhold the issuance of a certificate of operation.




§ 42-21-8. Unsafe Condition or Imminent Danger; Notice.

8.1. The Division or a certified inspector shall seal out of service any elevator that is found
to be unsafe or poses a risk of imminent danger.

8.2. Notice of unsafe condition or imminent danger. If during the course of an inspection,
the Division or a certified inspector finds that a passenger elevator or any part of the elevator cannot
be operated safely or poses a risk of imminent danger, the Division or inspector shall immediately

notify the owner or elevator operator in writing. stating the deficiencies and the required repairs or
changes needed.

8.3. A certified inspector shall notify the Division immediately ag to the location and
condition of the sealed elevator.

8.4. Once sealed out of service, a passenger elevator shall not be operated except for the
purpose of making the repairs required by the Division,

8.5. A seal placed on an elevator’s electric box in accordance with the provisions of W. Va.
Code § 21-3C-1, et seq.. or this rule shall not be removed. obstructed or in any way altered without

the written consent of the Division.

8.6. When the required repairs have been made to an elevator that has been sealed out of
service. the Division or a certified inspector shall perform a complete inspection and safety test before
the elevator can be placed back into service.

§42-21-7 9—€ompetency of Imspectors Inspectors; application; certificate of competency.

F+. 9.1. Certificate of Competency. No person may serve as a elevator inspector unless he




or she holds a certificate of competency issued by the Division.

72 9.2. Application required. Any person desiring to obtain a certificate of competency
from the Division shall submit a writlen application accompanied by a ter—dotar<$16} $10.00
processing fee, -upon a form destgned-and furnished by the Division. The applicant shall provide all
information requested on the form and any failure to provide the information shall cause the
application to be rejected. The applicant shall also submit the following;

72 9.2.1. A letter from one or more previous employers concerning his or her
character and experience;

F2b. 9.2.2. Proofthat the applicant is at least twenty=one 21 years of age; and

F2e. 9.23. A copy of the applicant’s successful test scores on the examination
required by the Division or a copy of the applicant’s Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI) certificate
issued by an organization accredited by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers to certify
Qualified Elevator Inspectors.

§42-21-8 10. Powers—amd—Dutiesof Work-Sharing Agreement Between the Division and

Counties and Municipalities.

8+. 10.1. Work-sharing agreements with the Division. The Division may enter into a work-
sharing agreement with any county or municipality whereby the county or municipality would, under
the supervision of the Division, assume the inspection and enforcement provisions of W, Va. Code

§21-3C-1, ef seq. Urderanmagreementthe-county-ormunicipatity-withinsore:

10.2. A work-sharing agreement shall be executed on a form provided by the Division and
approved by the Office of the Attorney General.

10.3. With the approval of the Division, counties and municipalities may combine their
jurisdictions into a single work-sharing agreement.

10.4. A work-sharing agreement shall include the following provisions:

8+ma. 10.4.1. that all elevators covered under the provisions of W. Va. Code §21-3C-
1, et seq., within the county or municipality are inspected annually for safety;

8tb. 10.4.2. that no elevator covered by W. Va. Code §21-3C-1, ef seq., shall be




permitted to operate without having first obtained a certificate of operation from the Division;

$-1we. 10.4.3. that any inspector employed by the county ormunicipality is certified
for competency by the Division as required by the provisions of W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, ef seg.. or
Seettormr7of this rule;

81d. 10.4.4. that all inspections for safety are conducted in accordance with the
provisions of W. Va. Code § 21-3C-1, ef seq.. or this rule;

81 10.4.5. that reports on inspection are filed with the Division within-ftvet5y 5
days of the date of inspection;-and

8141-10.4.6. that the county or municipality wit shall comply with any written orders
issued by the Division refative-torevisedinspectionproceduresorenforcementof W-—Va€ode§21=
3C-tetseq:

#+t+ 10.4.7. The that the Division shall provide technical assistance to the county

or municipal inspectors where necessary to insure adequate enforcement of the W, Va. Code §21-3C-
1 et seq.;

10.4.8. that the Division shall provide the report and inspection forms required by
the Division:

10.4.9. that the Division shall permit the county or municipality to collect and retain
fees for inspections as a means to support the enforcement effort at the local level: and

10.4.10. that the Division shall provide direct supervision, where considered necessary
by the Division, to county or municipal inspectors.
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