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SYNOPSIS

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- BURDEN OF PROOF --Ina
hearing before the West Virginia Office of Tax Appeals on a petition for reassessment respecting
a civil penalty assessment issued pursuant to W. Va. Code § 11-14C-1, erf seq., the burden of
proof 1s upon the Petitioner to show that the civil penalty assessment against it 1s erroneous,
unlawful, void or otherwise invalid. See W. Va. Code § 11-10A-10(¢) [2002]; W. Va. Code. St.
R. §§ 121-1-63.1 and 69.2 (Apr. 20, 2003).

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- FAILURE TO OBTAIN A
LICENSE OR SUBSEQUENTLY RETAIN A LICENSE -- West Virginia Code § 11-14C-38
[2003] makes any person who engages in any business activity for which a license 1s required by
Article 14C, without having first obtained and subsequently retained such a valid license, subject
to a civil penalty in the amount of $5,000.00 for a first violation, and $10,000.00 for the second
and all subsequent violations.

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- W, VA, CODE § 11-14C-38
[2003] CLEAR AND UNAMBIGUOUS — The language of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 [2003] 1s
clear and unambiguous, and does not require willfulness, or any other evidence respecting a
person’s mental state, as a predicate for imposition of the civil penalty provided by that section.

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- INCORPORATION OF W.
VA. CODE §§ 11-10-18 & 19, AS AMENDED, INTO CHAPTER 11, ARTICLE 14C --
West Virginia Code § 11-14C-33(a) & -(b) [2003] provide that each and every provision of
Chapter 11, Articles 9 & 10 applies to the taxes levied by Article 14C, except as otherwise
expressly provided 1n Article 14C, with like effect as 1f Articles 9 & 10 were applicable only to
the taxes levied by Article 14C and were set forth in extenso in said article.

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- CONFLICT BETWEEN
ARTICLE 14C AND ARTICLE 10 -- West Virgimia Code § 11-14C-33(c) [2003] provides that

where there 1s some conflict between any provision of Article 14C and any provision of Article
10, the provision of Article 14C shall control.

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- WEST VIRGINIA OFFICE
OF TAX APPEALS AUTHORITY TO ABATE ASSESSMENT -- In reviewing a civil
penalty assessment 1ssued by the State Tax Commuissioner pursuant to the provisions of W. Va.
Code § 11-14C-38 [2003], the West Virgima Office of Tax Appeals 1s limited to determining
whether or not the taxpayer engaged in the predicate act that gives rise to the civil penalty, and
may abate an assessment 1ssued by the State Tax Commissioner only when 1t 1s proven that the
taxpayer did not engage 1n the predicate act authorizing imposition of the civil penalty giving
rise to the assessment.



MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- W. VA. CODE § 11-14C-38
[2003] NOT TO BE CONSTRUED IN PARI MATERIA WITH W. VA. CODE §§ 11-10-18
& 19, AS AMENDED -- The language of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 [2003], being without

doubt or ambiguity, 1s not to be “construed” in pari materia with the provisions of Chapter 11,
Article 10 of the Code.

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- TAX COMMISSIONER’S
AUTHORITY TO ISSUE CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT -- The overarching scheme of

Chapter 11, Article 14C, permits the State Tax Commuissioner to 1ssue a civil penalty assessment
for violations of the applicable statutory provisions set forth therein.

. MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- KNOWLEDGE OR
INTENT NOT REQUIRED -- A person who violates W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 [2003] may be
assessed a civil penalty for the violation, even when the violation i1s without knowledge of the
statute or intent to violate the same.

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX - CIVIL PENALTY - CIVIL PENALTY
NEITHER WORKS A FORFEITURE NOR SHOCKS THE CONSCIENCE -- W. Va.
Code § 11-14C-38 [2003] does not violate the Petitioner’s right to procedural due process,
because the amount of the penalty set forth therein neither works a forfeiture nor shocks the
conscience.

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- ASSESSMENTS FOR
MULTIPLE VIOLATIONS -- A person subject to W. Va. Code, Chapter 11, Article 14C, may

be assessed multiple civil penalties for multiple statutory violations even though it 1s not given
notice of the statutory violation by means of an assessment 1ssued after the first violation.

MOTOR FUEL EXCISE TAX -- CIVIL PENALTY -- FAILURE TO MEET
BURDEN OF PROOF -- The Petitioner in this matter has failed to carry its burden of proving
that the civil penalty assessment against 1t 1s erroneous, unlawful, void or otherwise invalid.

FINAL DECISION
On Aprl 23, 2006, a Tax Unit Supervisor 1ssued a motor fuel excise tax civil penalty
assessment against the Petitioner. The assessment was 1ssued pursuant to the authorization of the
State Tax Commuissioner, under the provisions of Chapter 11, Articles 10 and 14C of the West
Virginia Code. The assessment was a civil penalty assessment for three purported violations of
the motor fuel excise tax statute. The first violation, for which the Petitioner was assessed a

$ penalty, allegedly occurred on October 35, 2005. The second violation, for which the




Petitioner was assessed a $ penalty, allegedly occurred on November &, 2005. The third

violation, for which the Petitioner was also assessed a $ penalty, allegedly occurred on

December 7, 2005. The assessment was in the total amount of $ . Written notice of this

assessment was served on the Petitioner on April 26, 2006.

Thereafter, by mail postmarked June 7, 2006, received 1n the offices of the West Virginia
Office of Tax Appeals on June 9, 2006, the Petitioner timely filed with this tribunal, the West
Virgima Office of Tax Appeals, a petition for reassessment. W. Va. Code §§ 11-10A-8(1)
[2002] & 11-10A-9(a)-(b) [20035].

Subsequently, notice of a hearing on the petition was sent to the Petitioner and a hearing

was held 1in accordance with the provisions of W. Va. Code § 11-10A-10 [2002].

FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Mr. A 1sthe owner and President of the Petitioner.
2. Ms. B 1s the Vice-President of the Petitioner.
3. The Petitioner 1s in the business of transporting fuel.
4. The Petitioner has been 1n business since 2000.
5. Approximately forty per cent (40%) of the fuel that the Petitioner transports 1s aviation
fuel. The remaining sixty per cent (60%) consists of gasoline, diesel fuel, ethanol and the like.
6. The Petitioner does not own any of the petroleum products that 1t transports.
7. The Petitioner owns eighteen trucks.
8. Mr. A operates the fleet and oversees the drivers and other details respecting the
physical operations of the business.
9. Ms. Btakes care of the inside operations, primarily paperwork.
10. One of Ms. B’s duties 1s to ensure compliance with state and federal laws and

regulations respecting reporting.



11. Approximately eighty per cent (80%) of the Petitioner’s business 1s conducted in the
Commonwealth of Virginia. Most of the remaining twenty per cent (20%) of the Petitioner’s
business 1s conducted 1n three (3) states outside of West Virginia.

12. The Petitioner has no regular routes in West Virginia.

13. The only business that the Petitioner has ever conducted in West Virginia consisted of
delivering aviation fuel to the State.

14. The only time that the Petitioner has had cause to deliver products to West Virginia
since the enactment of Chapter 11, Article 14C of the West Virginia Code was 1n late 2003,
when requested to do so by Company A.

15.  Other deliveries made into the State of West Virginia were prior to the effective date of
the current motor fuel excise tax statute, and are not subject to assessment under the current
statute.

16. The Petitioner has hauled AVGAS, a low-lead gasoline fuel used in small “piston-type™
airplanes, and aviation jet fuel, used 1n larger jets.

17. In those mstances when 1t delivered petroleum products to West Virginia, 1t delivered
them to two (2) airports in West Virginia.

18. In each instance, Company A requested that the product be delivered to the customer
either on the day the request was made, or the next day.

19. As indicated by the first page of Petitioner’s Exhibit No. 1, on or about October 5, 2005,
the Petitioner shipped 8500 gallons of “AVGAS 100LL" from an out-of-state termuinal, to a West
Virginia airport.

20. “AVGAS” 1s aviation fuel, with the designation “LL” indicating that 1t 1s low-lead fuel.



21. AVGAS cannot be transported via pipeline. It must be shipped by railcar or by barge.
Consequently, AVGAS 1s carried by only a few terminals. The terminal at which the Petitioner
loaded the AVGAS 1s the only terminal in the Commonwealth of Virginia that supplies AVGAS.

22. In his testimony, Mr. A opined that, based on the time that the fuel was loaded onto the
truck at the terminal, the order for that fuel had been called in that morning, as opposed to the
prior day.

23. 'The bill of lading states that Company B 1s responsible for all taxes on the AVGAS.

24. With respect to the AVGAS delivered on October 5, 2005, the Petitioner had no
responsibility for reporting or paying tax to the State of West Virginia.

25. On the first page of Petitioner’s Exhibit No. 1, the Loading Mamnifest, the third
handwritten line 1s the signature of the employee of a West Virginia Airport, who was present at
the time that the fuel was delivered.

26. As indicated by the second page of Petitioner’s Exhibit No. 1, on or about December 7,
2005, the Petitioner shipped 3000 gallons of “AVGAS 100LL” from the same terminal to
another airport in West Virginia.

27. 'This load of AVGAS was loaded at approximately 7:49 a.m., indicating that the order
for the fuel had been placed the prior day.

28. As shown on the second page of Petitioner’s Exhibit No. 1, at the time that the fuel was
delivered to a West Virginia airport, it was signed for by one Mr. C.

29. As shown on the third page of Petitioner’s Exhibit No. 1, on or about November &, 20035,
the Petitioner shipped 8001 gallons of Turbine Aviation Fuel (jet fuel) to a West Virginia airport.

30. The supplier of the jet fuel was Shell O1l Products.

31. The jet fuel was loaded at approximately 9:10 a.m., indicating that the order for the fuel

was placed earlier that same morning.



32. The Petitioner subsequently learned that the cost of a motor fuel transporter’s license

issued by the State of West Virginia 1s $ , an amount which 1s not so significant that the

Petitioner would refuse to pay the same. According to Ms. B, it would be routine to incur an
expense of this type and this amount.

33. Mr. A was not aware of the requirement that the Petitioner possess a motor fuel
transporter’s license at the time that any of the three loads of fuel were loaded or transported.

34. Ms. B testified that she had no knowledge that petroleum transporters are required to be
licensed by the State of West Virginia at the time that the Petitioner hauled each load of fuel into
the State of West Virginia.

35. Subsequent to January 1, 2006, Mr. A first became aware that the State of West Virginia
required a motor fuel transporter’s license, when notified by Ms. B that she was attempting to
obtain the same.

36. The Petitioner was not aware of said requirement as the result of magazine articles,
notices, mailers or other communications from trade organizations of which 1t 1s a member.

37. Ms. B testified that upon learning that the Petitioner was required to possess a West
Virginia motor fuel transporter’s license, she immediately undertook to obtain said license.

38. Ms. B obtained knowledge of these requirements by seeking out information by means
of the Internet and by phone calls to the State Tax “Department,” seeking to comply with the
laws of the State of West Virginia.

39. It 1s the testimony of Mr. A that the Petitioner never willfully or intentionally avoided
obtaining a West Virginia motor fuel transporter’s license, but that 1t was simply unaware of

such requirement at the time that 1t delivered the fuel.



40. The Petitioner was first aware that 1t was being assessed for its failure to possess a West
Virginia motor fuel transporter’s license when 1t recerved the assessment, which was 1ssued on or
about April 25, 2006.

41. Prior to the assessment, the Petitioner never received any notification, inquiry or
warning that that the State Tax Commuissioner believed that the Petitioner had violated the law 1n
connection with any of these transactions.

42. 'The Petitioner concedes that 1t did not possess a West Virginia motor fuel transporter’s
license on the dates of the deliveries, but that 1ts failure to possess such a license was inadvertent,
resulting from lack of knowledge of the law, rather than an intentional disregard of the law.

43. Mr. A does not know where the two (2) airports in West Virginia normally obtain their
AVGAS and jet fuel.

44. A “will call” customer 1s a customer with whom the Petitioner does not have an ongoing
responsibility to provide fuel. The customer calls and advises the Petitioner of what product they
need and how much.

45. When Ms. B learns that a ““will call” customer has requested the Petitioner to transport
or deliver fuel 1in or to a specific jurisdiction, she goes to the Internet and searches websites of
chambers of commerce, departments of motor vehicles and other entities to attempt to learn the
specific reporting requirements for that jurisdiction, and ensure compliance with the same.

46. 'The Petitioner’s regular route customers are located 1in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

47. It 1s only “will call” customers that cause the Petitioner to deliver fuel outside of the
Commonwealth of Virgima.

48. The Petitioner has “will call” customers in three (3) additional states.

49. Upon being contacted by Company A respecting the delivery of fuel into West Virginia,

Ms. B searched the internet to determine the Petitioner’s duties to the State. Ultimately this led



to a phone call to the State Tax “Department,” whereupon she spoke to the Fuel Tax
Administration Unit Supervisor.

50. Ms B advised the Unit Supervisor that the Petitioner had delivered fuel to customers in
West Virginia. She told the Unit Supervisor that she filed monthly reports with other states and
wanted to make sure that she was complying with West Virginia law and reporting requirements.

51. The Unit Supervisor told Ms. B that she would send out a packet with the necessary
documents, which the Unit Supervisor did.

52. As aresult of her conversation with the Unit Supervisor, the Petitioner was sent a “West
Virgimia Motor Fuel Excise Tax License Application.” Ms. B testified that her phone call
occurred and the application was sent after the deliveries were made.

53. By letter dated January 18, 2006, the Unit Supervisor sent a letter to the Petitioner
wherein she informed the Petitioner that 1t was required to obtain a “West Virginia Motor Fuels
Tax License,” and described the consequences for failure to do so. See State’s Exhibit No. 2, pp.
4-3.

54. Ms. B testified that at the time of the January 18, 2006 letter, she was already in the
process of determining the Petitioner’s responsibilities to the State of West Virginia, and who
with the State of West Virginia could advise her respecting the Petitioner’s responsibilities.

55. Ms. B testified that she was having some difficulty obtaining responses from the State of
West Virgima because some of its employees were on vacation and she was exchanging voice
mails with others.

56. Some time prior to February 22, 2006, the Petitioner forwarded its “West Virginia
Motor Fuel Excise Tax License Application,” which 1t apparently believed 1t had completed.

57. Ms. B recalls that she forwarded the application to the State Tax “Department” some

time 1n December.



58. The application forwarded to the ““State Tax Department” was neither dated nor signed.

59. On or about February 22, 2006, under cover an unsigned form letter, the State Tax
“Department” returned the application to the Petitioner, advising it that certain information was
omitted from the application, specifically an agent for service of process and a five-digit control
number 1ssued by the West Virginia Secretary of State. See Petitioner’s Exhibit No. 2.

60. Ms. B testified that she needed some advice from employees of the State Tax
“Department” because she had never had an application such as this one before.

61. On or about April 25, 2006, the Petitioner was assessed civil penalties for three separate

violations of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38, totaling $ , as more fully set forth above.

62. By letter dated Apnl 25, 2006, accompanying the assessment, the State Tax
Commissioner, by the Unit Supervisor, notified the Petitioner that 1t was 1n violation of West
Virgima statutes prohibiting engaging in certain business activities for which a license 1s
required pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 11, Article 14C of the West Virgimia Code, citing
relevant provisions of the Code.

63. On or about April 28, 2006, in response to the assessment, the Petitioner requested a
“waiver” of the assessment because it believed that 1t had taken all of the steps necessary to
obtain a license from the State of West Virginia, and needed time to follow up on the information
it had received.

64. By letter dated May 1, 2006, the Petitioner was notified by the Secretary of State of
West Virginia that in order to recerve a Certificate of Authority to do business in the State of
West Virginia, it would be necessary for the Petitioner to provide a Certificate of Good Standing
from the requisite authority in the Commonwealth of Virginia, to pay a fee in the amount of

$ and to answer certain questions on the application to the Secretary of State, which the

Petitioner had previously neglected to answer.



65. On May 4, 2006, the Petitioner paid the necessary fee to the Secretary of State of West
Virgimia. By facsimile transmission on May 8, 2006, the Petitioner received from the Secretary

of State of West Virginia a receipt dated that same day acknowledging the $ payment.

66. An exchange of e-mails occurred on May 23 & 24, 2006, between Ms. B and a State Tax
“Department” employee. The State Tax “Department” employee advised Ms. B that the
Petitioner still needed a control number assigned to 1t by the Secretary of State. Ms. B responded
that the Secretary of State’s Office had not yet processed the Petitioner’s application and that 1t
was waiting for a “Certificate of Fact” from the Commonwealth of Virgima. The State Tax
Department” employee then advised Ms. B that she would continue to check the Secretary of
State’s website for the control number and process the license as soon as the control number was
assigned.

67. On May 25, 2006, a Clerk of the Virgima State Corporation Commussion, issued a
certificate stating that the Petitioner had been 1ssued a certificate of organization and, as of that
date, no articles of cancellation had been filed with the Commission.

68. On June 7, 2006, Ms. B testified that she called the West Virginia Secretary of State’s
Office 1n an attempt to determine what control number had been assigned to it. She spoke to an
employee who apologized and told Ms. B that they only had one person opening mail and that
she was the only person in the office who is processing these types of applications.’

69. Ms. B testified that 1t took nearly to June to obtain the five-digit control number from
the West Virginia Secretary of State.

70. Effective June 12, 2006, the Petitioner received a Motor Fuel Excise Tax License as a

Motor Fuel Transporter from the West Virgimmia State Tax “Department.” See Petitioner’s

Exhibit No. 3, p. 1.

' The employee to whom Ms. B spoke might be the signatory of the letter of May 1, 2006.
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71. The Petitioner also received a Business Registration Certificate for the period beginning
July 1, 2003, and ending June 30, 2007. See Petitioner’s Exhibit No. 3, p. 8.

72. By letter dated May 24, 2006, Company C, one of Petitioner’s “will call” customers,
issued a letter to all of its carriers, including Petitioner, informing them that the State of West
Virgimia required an Import Verification Number on all fuel imported mnto West Virgima.

73. Ms. B testified that with the exception of correspondence with the State Tax
“Department” and Secretary of State’s Office, the May 24, 2006 letter from Company C was the
first notification the Petitioner received that an import verification number was required by the
State of West Virgima.

74. Ms. B considered the timing of this letter to be a coincidence.

75. Ms. B testified that no employee of the Petitioner ever intentionally tried to avoid
compliance with the provisions of the West Virginia motor fuel excise tax.

76. Ms. B testified that during 2005 no person associated with the Petitioner ever
negligently, willfully or intentionally ignored any notice given by a third-party designed to
inform the Petitioner of the necessity of obtaining the license required by of the West Virginia
motor fuel excise tax.

77. Subsequent to the effective date of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-1, ef seq., and prior to
October, 2003, the Petitioner had no business contacts with the State of West Virginia.

78. Subsequent to the effective date of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-1, et seq., and prior to
October, 2003, the Petitioner was not doing business in the State of West Virginia.

79. Ms. B testified that her first verbal contact with an employee of the State Tax
“Department” was with the Unit Supervisor.

80. Ms. B testified that when the Petitioner obtained 1ts license from the State of Virginia, it

1s required to list the jurisdictions in which it will operate. She further testified that it can be
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difficult to predict all of the jurisdictions in which 1t will operate when it has “will call”
customers, who may ask it to transport fuel into jurisdictions where 1t has not operated before
and 1n which 1t did not predict it would operate.

81. Prior to October, 2005, neither Mr. A nor Mss. B knew that the Petitioner would be
operating as 1t did in the State of West Virginia.

82. Mr. A testified that in the past she has disclosed jurisdictions in which the Petitioner has
a history of operating.

83. Ms. B testified that the Petitioner 1s the back up for Company A’s usual transporter. The
Petitioner may transport fuel for Company A if there 1s a fuel shortage at the terminal where 1ts
usual transporter picks up fuel, if the usual transporter’s trucks are out of commussion, or if 1ts
drivers cannot drive due to illness or safety reasons, such as having already driven too many
hours 1n a specified period of time.

84. Ms. B i1s not sure exactly when she contacted the Unite Supervisor of the State Tax
“Department,” but she “feel[s] confident™ that the contact occurred ““after the first, in between the
second and the third, somewhere around in there.” She knew that the Petitioner needed to
comply with the laws of the State of West Virginia.

85. If Mr. A or Ms. B anticipates that the Petitioner may need to make a delivery to a
jurisdiction 1n which 1t 1s not authorized to make deliveries, Ms. B will go to the Virginia
Department of Motor Vehicles and add the anticipated jurisdiction to the cab cards of one or
more of the Petitioner’s trucks.

86. Ms. B testified that after what the Petitioner has been through, it might refuse to deliver
fuel on a will call basis to jurisdictions where 1t 1s not already registered to do business. Ms. B
testified that she and her husband will weigh the cost of registering in ¢ach jurisdiction to

determine whether or not they will, in fact, register with a particular jurisdiction.
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87. Ms. B testified that the Petitioner 1s not required to have a special motor fuel
transporter’s license in three (3) of the states.

88. Mr. A testified that there must be monthly reporting of gallons to the various states in
which they do business. That was her reason for calling the State of West Virginia. This
requirement 1s another check by which the various governments attempt to track the amount of

fuel bought, transported, sold and consumed.

DISCUSSION

The Petitioner 1n this matter contends that 1t should not be subject to the assessment of

the $ civil penalty. It contends that 1t did not act willfully. The evidence shows that the

Petitioner did not act with a willful disregard for the law. According to the Petitioner, because it
did not act willfully the civil penalty assessment against 1t should be abated.

Before discussing the application of the law to the facts in this matter, this Office will
address the 1ssue of the evidence respecting the time that the Petitioner first contacted the State

Tax “Department” respecting obtaining a license. There 1s a conflict in the evidence respecting

this 1ssue.

Ms. B testified that she contacted the State Tax “Department” soon after the Petitioner
made 1ts first delivery of fuel into West Virginia. Presumably that would have been in October,
2005. There 1s a possible contradiction 1n her testimony, wherein she stated that she was
unaware of the need for a license at the time that the fuel was delivered. This 1s consistent with
other testimony, that she first contacted the State Tax “Department” after all deliveries had been
made, the last of which was in December, 2005. That she contacted the State Tax “Department”
at this later date 1s consistent with other evidence.

Ms. B testified that when she contacted the State Tax “Department,” the person she spoke

with said that they would send a packet with an application. This packet was sent under cover
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letter of January 18, 2006. See State’s Exhibit No. 2. It seems unlikely that the State Tax
“Department” would receive the call in October, 2005, but delay sending the application packet
until January 18, 2006.

Mr. A’s testimony also tends to support a finding that the application was not sent to the
Petitioner until January. He testified that he learned of the license requirement after the first of
the year, some time 1n January, 2006. Additionally, the application was returned to the Petitioner
as incomplete under a cover letter dated February 22, 2006. This tends to support a finding that
the application was sent to the Petitioner some time after January 18, 2006, and that the
Petitioner filed the application, albeit incomplete, between January 18 and February 22, 2006.
This evidence contradicts Ms. B’s testimony that she believes she mailed the application in
December, 2006.

Ms. B’s recollection respecting the dates on which certain events occurred was not
concrete. Other less subjective and more reliable evidence tends to contradict her recollection.
It appears that Ms. B did not act as early or as promptly as she recalls. Except insofar as she
testified that she acted as early as she recalls, it appears that her testimony 1s credible.

The Petitioner also attempts to justify abatement of the assessment because certain delays
in obtaining the license were the results of delays on the part of the State. This 1s true, 1n part.
Ms. B testified that she was having difficulties obtaining responses from the State because
employees were on vacation. However, her testimony does not disclose whom she was
attempting to contact, when the delays occurred, or the length thereof. She does point to some
delay 1n the Secretary of State’s Office. But this delay did not occur until May or June, 2006.
Some delay must have been caused by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, although this

point 1s not clear from the evidence.
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It appears that the Petitioner may have been responsible for much of the delay. The
Petitioner recerved the application subsequent to January 18, 2006, filled it out in part, and
returned 1t to the State Tax “Department,” which returned it to the Petitioner on February 22,
2006. It does not appear that the Petitioner reacted to the February 22, 2006 response until late
April, 2006, when 1t received the assessment. There then occurred a flurry of activity, with some
delay, that resulted 1n 1t being issued a license on June 12, 2006. It should be noted that any
delay 1n obtaining the license had no bearing on the Petitioner’s failure to have a license at the
time the fuel was delivered.

The assessment was 1ssued against the Petitioner pursuant to W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38,
which provides:

§ 11-14C-38. Engaging in business without a license; civil penalty.

(a) Any person who engages 1 any business activity for which a license 1s
required by this article without having first obtained and subsequently retained

such a valid license 1s subject to the following civil penalty.

(1) For the first violation the amount 1s five thousand dollars.

(2) For each subsequent violation the amount 1s ten thousand dollars.

(b) Civil penalties prescribed under this section shall be assessed, collected
and paid 1n the same manner as the motor fuel tax.

This section permits the Tax Commissioner to assess a civil penalty against a person or
entity required to obtain or subsequently retain a license to conduct business under Article 14C,
Chapter 11 of the Code, but who has not obtained or retained such a license. The language “is
subject to,” mstead of the mandatory “shall,” makes i1t apparent that the State Tax Commussioner
i1s authorized to assess a civil penalty under this section. It also clear that the State Tax
Commuissioner has discretion to 1ssue an assessment for a civil penalty, but 1s not required to

issue an assessment for each and every wviolation. In the present action, the State Tax
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Commuissioner assessed a civil penalty for three separate violations of § 11-14C-38, 1n a total

amount of $

The Petitioner contends that this Office has the authority to waive or abate the
assessment, even though the statute contains no language authorizing a waiver or abatement.
The Petitioner points to certain provisions of Article 10, Chapter 11 of the Code, which allow
waiver or abatement of additions to tax or penalties when certain predicate standards are not
present, such as willful neglect, intent or fraud. It maintains that these standards should also
apply to W. Va. Code§ 11-14C-38,% citing W. Va. Code § 11-14C-33, which provides:

§ 11-14C-33. General procedure and administration; crimes and penalties.

(a) Each and every provision of the "West Virgima Tax Procedure and

Admunistration Act" set forth in article ten of this chapter applies to the taxes

levied by this article, except as otherwise expressly provided in this article, with

like effect as 1f that act were applicable only to the taxes levied by this article and
were set forth 1n extenso 1n this article.

(b) Each and every provision of the "West Virginia Tax Crimes and Penalties
Act" set forth 1n article nine of this chapter applies to the taxes levied by this
article with like effect as 1f that act were applicable only to the taxes levied by this
article and were set forth in extenso 1n this article.

(¢) To the extent that any provision of this article 1s 1in conflict with erther
article mine or article ten of this chapter, the provision of this article shall control.

The Petitioner contends that § 11-14C-38 must be read in pari materia with certain provisions of

Article 10, specifically §§ 11-10-18 & 11-10-19.

* They also apply to other sections.

7 The Petitioner’s in pari materia argument is subject to one of two interpretations. The first is that W. Va.
Code §§ 11-10-18 & 11-10-19 expressly apply in determining whether to waive or abate a civil penalty assessment
1ssued pursuant to W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38. The second 1s that absent some express provision respecting waiver
or abatement of an assessment 1ssued pursuant to W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38, W. Va. Code §§ 11-10-18 & 11-10-19
provide guidance respecting the standard that 1s necessarily implied therem. In fact, there are predicate acts that
permit the imposition of additions to tax or penalties expressly set out in W. Va. Code §§ 11-10-18 & 11-10-19. In
each instance, the predicate act 1s matenally different than the predicate act permitting the State Tax Commissioner
to impose a civil penalty under W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38. Therefore, the Petitioner can hardly argue that the cited
provisions of Article 10 expressly apply to an assessment issued pursuant to W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38. The
Petitioner’s memoranda can only lead this Office to conclude that the Petitioner 1s advancing the latter argument.
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W. Va. Code § 11-10-18 permits the imposition of additions to tax for failure to file tax
returns, failure to pay tax due as shown on a tax return, and failure to pay tax required to be
shown as due on a return within fifteen (15) days of notice and demand therefor, unless the
failure “is due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect.” W. Va. Code § 11-10-
18(a)(1), (2) & (3). Additions to tax may also be imposed for negligence or for intentional
disregard of rules and regulations, without intent to defraud, W. Va. Code § 11-10-18(¢); and for
filing false and fraudulent returns, W. Va. Code § 11-10-18(d).

W. Va. Code § 11-10-19 permits the imposition of penalties for the willful failure to
truthfully account for and pay over tax, or for the willful attempt to evade or defeat any tax, W.
Va. Code § 11-10-19(a); for willfully furnishing a false or fraudulent withholding tax statement
to an employee, or for failing to furnish a withholding tax statement in the manner or time
prescribed, or containing the information prescribed by the applicable statute, W. Va. Code § 11-
10-19(b); or for the filing of a false or fraudulent claim for refund or credit with intent to the
defraud the State, W. Va. Code § 11-10-19(¢c). Penalties may also be imposed for the engaging
in activities promoting abusive tax shelters, as described in certain provisions of the Internal
Revenue Code. W. Va. Code § 11-10-18(f).4

The Petitioner correctly asserts that these sections require something more than the mere
performance of an act or an omission to act. For these sections to apply, a taxpayer must exhibit
some mental state, such as willfulness, negligence, intentional disregard, fraud or falsehood, 1n
violating the law. The Petitioner maintains they disclose a legislative intent not to impose
additions to tax or penalties in the absence of willfulness, negligence, intentional disregard, fraud

or falsehood. It contends that because W. Va. Code § 11-14C-33, 1n effect, incorporates the Tax

* It is not clear why this provision involving a penalty was placed in the section pertaining to additions to tax,
and not in the section pertaining to penalties.
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Procedures and Administration Act into the motor fuel excise tax statute, this general
incorporation demonstrates legislative intent to specifically incorporate these requirements nto §
11-14C-38. The Petitioner maintains that, as demonstrated by the evidence, its actions do not
rise to this level. Because its actions do not rise to this level, no civil penalty can be imposed.

The State Tax Commuissioner responds by arguing that the statute “for lack of a better
term, creates a ‘strict liability” offense.” Respondent’s Reply Brief, p. 2. According to the Tax
Commuissioner, any violation of the statute 1s sufficient to permit him to assess the Petitioner,
even an unintentional or unwitting one. Willfulness, negligence, intentional disregard, fraud or
falsechood 1s not required. The Commissioner maintains that the Petitioner 1s attempting to graft
an element onto the statute that 1s neither required nor permitted.

The plain language of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 supports the position advanced by the
State Tax Commuissioner. The statute 1s clear on its face. If a person or entity commits the
predicate act, engaging in a certain business without obtaining or subsequently retaining the
applicable license, then that person or entity i1s subject to a civil penalty. The act need not be
done willfully, negligently, with knowledge, with intentional disregard, fraudulently or falsely.
A person may be subject to a civil penalty when 1t 1s aware of the statute, but believes 1t 1s 1n
compliance. A person may be subject to a civil penalty even when it 1s unaware of the existence
of the statute. Once a person commits the predicate act and 1s assessed a civil penalty, nothing 1n
the statute permits waiver or abatement of the assessment by this Office.

Other provisions of the motor fuel excise tax statute also permit imposition of civil
penalties. W. Va. Code § 11-14C-34(f) imposes a civil penalty for transporting motor fuel 1n
certain identified vehicles without a shipping document or with a false or incomplete shipping
document, or for delivering motor fuel to a destination state other than the destination state

shown on the shipping document. W. Va. Code § 11-14C-35(b) imposes a civil penalty on an
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importer who imports motor fuel mnto West Virginia without first obtaining an import
confirmation number. W. Va. Code § 11-14C-36(a) imposes a civil penalty on any person who:
(1) sells or stores any dyed diesel fuel for use in a highway vehicle that 1s licensed or required to
be licensed as such, unless that use 1s allowed under the authority of 26 U.S.C. § 4082;
(2) willfully alters or attempts to alter the strength or composition of any dye or marker in any
dyed diesel fuel; (3) uses dyed diesel fuel in a highway vehicle unless that use 1s allowed under
the authority of 26 U.S.C. § 4082; (4) acquires, sells or stores any motor fuel for use in a
watercraft, aircraft, or highway vehicle that is licensed or required to be licensed unless the tax
levied by section five [§ 11-14C-3] of this article has been paid; or (3) uses any motor fuel in a
watercraft, aircraft, or highway vehicle that 1s licensed or required to be licensed unless the tax
levied by section five [§ 11-14C-3] of this article has been paid. W. Va. Code § 11-14C-37(a)
imposes a civil penalty for failure to allow an mspection or the taking of a fuel sample from a
storage tank or contamner. W. Va. Code § 11-14C-39(a) imposes a civil penalty on any person
who intentionally prevents another person from applying for or obtaining a license by use of
coercion, threat, intimidation or any other means of interference. W. Va. Code § 11-14C-40(a)
imposes a c1vil penalty on any person who files a false or fraudulent return with intent to evade
tax. W. Va. Code § 11-14C-40(b) imposes a civil penalty on any person liable for tax who fails
to file a return within thirty days of the due date thereof, even if no tax 1s due. W. Va. Code §
11-14C-40(c) imposes a civil penalty on any person required to file a return, who fails to file said
return within thirty days of the due date thereof. W. Va. Code § 11-14C-41(a) makes willful
commission of certain acts misdemeanors and imposes criminal penalties therefor. W. Va. Code
§ 11-14C-41(b) makes willful commission of certain acts with intent to evade the motor fuel

excise tax felonies and imposes criminal penalties therefor.
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These provisions of the motor fuel excise tax statute create multiple standards for

imposition of penalties, both civil and criminal. Sections 11-14C-34(1), 11-14C-35(b), 11-14C-
36(a)(1), (3), (4) & (5), 11-14C-37(a), 11-14C-40(b) & (c¢) require mere performance of the
predicate act, with no consideration of the actor’s mental state in doing so. Section 11-14C-
36(a)(2) requires the predicate act to have been performed willfully, while §§ 11-14C-41(a) &
(b) require the predicate act to have been performed willfully in order to trigger criminal
penalties. Section 11-14C-39(a) requires the predicate act to have been performed intentionally.
Section 11-14C-40(a) requures the predicate act to have been false or fraudulent. Section 11-
14C-38 has the same standard as §§ 11-14C-34(1), 11-14C-35(b), 11-14C-36(a)(1), (3), (4) &
(5), 11-14C-37(a), 11-14C-40(b) & (¢). Mere performance of the predicate act triggers the civil
penalty.

Clearly, the Legislature established the same standard for § 11-14C-38 as for §§ 11-14C-
34(1), 11-14C-35(b), 11-14C-36(a)(1), (3), (4) & (5), 11-14C-37(a), and 11-14C-40(b) & (c). As
evidenced by its imposition of higher standards in other sections of the same enactment, it was
aware of its authority to do so. It could have established a higher threshold for the predicate act
in § 11-14C-38 as a condition precedent for application of the penalty. By not doing so, it
clearly intended the lower threshold. In this respect the statute 1s clear and unambiguous. This
Office is bound to apply the legislative intent, as disclosed by the plain language of the statute.”

West Virgimia Code §§ 11-10-18 & 11-10-19 both articulate predicate acts requiring
some degree of conscious action on the part of the taxpayer. On the other hand, under W. Va.
Code § 11-14C-38 the predicate or triggering event 1s engaging in business without first having
obtained or subsequently having retained a license, regardless of the taxpayer’s state of nund.

Insofar as § 11-14C-38 imposes a civil penalty, as opposed to additions to tax, it 1s 1n conflict
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with § 11-10-18. Insofar as it does not require knowledge, willfulness, negligence, intentional
disregard, fraud or falsehood, 1t 1s 1n conflict with both §§ 11-10-18 & 19. Insofar as the statutes
require different predicate acts, they are in conflict. The Petitioner seems to contend that
because these conflicts exist, § 11-14C-38 must be read in pari materia with the Tax Procedures
and Administration Act. However, W. Va. Code § 11-14C-33(¢c) provides otherwise. Where
some provision of Chapter 11, Article 10 conflicts with some provision of Chapter 11, Article
14C, the provisions of Article 14C control. Consequently, the provisions of § 11-14C-38, which
are clear, unambiguous and stated in plain language, must be applied.

The absence of any language respecting the state of mind of the taxpayer in establishing
the predicate act for triggering the civil penalty evinces legislative intent that § 11-14C-38 be
strictly enforced. Once the State Tax Commissioner determines that the taxpayer 1s subject to
the civil penalty, this Office’s authority 1s limited to determining whether or not the taxpayer
engaged 1n the predicate act. Where other standards are required by statute, such as intent,
negligence or falschood or fraud, this Office may have to determine whether such predicate is
satisfied. However, where a higher standard i1s not required by statute, this Office may not
impose one. This Office has no inherent or plenary authority to waive or abate the civil penalty.

The Petitioner maintains that there 1s some doubt or ambiguity in the language of W. Va.
Code § 11-14C-38 which requires that section to be read in pari materia with §§ 11-10-18 & 19.
The doctrine of in pari materia may be used only when there 1s some doubt or ambiguity 1n the
wording of the statute that 1s under consideration. See, e.g., Hudok v. Bd. of Ed. of Randolph Co.
187 W. Va. 93, 96, n. 3, 415 S.E.2d 897, 900, n. 5 (1992), Kimes v. Bechtold, 176 W. Va. 182,
184-85, 342 S.E.2d 147, 150-31 (1986), Syl. Pt. 4, Manchin v. Dunfee, 174 W. Va. 532, 327

S.E.2d 710 (1984); Syl. Pt. 2, State v. Jackson, 145 W. Va. 51, 112 S.E.2d 452 (1960); and Syl.

> The absence of a higher standard should not be read to imply that one must look elsewhere for a higher
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Pt. 1, State v. Epperly, 135 W. Va. 877, 65 S.E.2d 488 (1951). Thus, this Office would be
required to find some doubt or ambiguity respecting the wording of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38.
As set forth above, no doubt or ambiguity exists in the language of the statute. Consequently, the
in pari materia doctrine does not apply.

Assuming, arguendo, that this Office agreed with the Petitioner that W. Va. Code § 11-
14C-38 1s ambiguous and must be read in pari materia with other provisions of the Code, 1t
could not be read in pari materia with §§ 11-10-18 &19. “Statutes which relate to the same
subject matter should be read and applied together so that the Legislature’s intention can be
gathered from the whole of the enactments.” Kimes, at 184, 342 S.E.2d at 150; Manchin, at 533,
327 S.E.2d at 713. See also 2B Singer, Statutes and Statutory Construction § 51.03 (West 6™ ed.
2000 rev). The rule 1s most applicable to statutes relating to the same subject matter which are
passed at the same time and refer to each other or amend each other. Kimes, at 185, 342 S.E.2d
at 150-51; Manchin, at 535, 327 S.E.2d at 714. The cited sections of Article 14C all relate to the
same tax; they all impose civil penalties for violations of the act; and they were all enacted at one
time. Clearly, if the doctrine of in pari materia were to apply, and 1t does not, it would require
that W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 be read in pari materia with the remaining provisions of the
motor fuel excise tax statute.

Section 11-14C-38 1s consistent with the overarching scheme of the motor fuel excise tax
statute. This statutory scheme 1s designed to ensure that every drop of motor fuel 1s accounted
for; that tax 1s paid on that which 1s subject to taxation; and that nontaxable fuel 1s not used for
taxable purposes. The statutory scheme provides civil penalties that may seem steep or harsh. In

many instances, the civil penalties are imposed for unintentional or unknowing violations. This

standard. Instead, it means that the Legislature intended the lesser standard to apply.
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statutory scheme thus evinces legislative intent to ensure that those engaging 1in business subject
to Article 14C learn the law, know 1t, and strictly comply with it, or incur a civil penalty.

The statutory scheme also evinces a legislative intent that the State Tax Commissioner’s
imposition of the penalty not be subject to plenary review by a reviewing tribunal, such as this
Office. If a taxpayer violates a statutory requirement, 1t 1s subject to a civil penalty. The Tax
Commiuissioner 1s not required to impose the penalty. However, once he does so, this Office may
not second guess his decision. Only if the taxpayer proves that 1t did not actually engage 1n the
predicate act may a civil penalty assessment be abated. Here, the evidence shows that the
Petitioner engaged in the predicate act. Therefore, this Office may not abate the civil penalty
assessment.

The Petitioner also contends that considerations of procedural due process require
abatement of the assessment. It maintains that 1t did not receive fair notice that its conduct
would subject it to the civil penalties that were ultimately assessed. It argues that the willfulness
standard should apply, because demonstrating willfulness would clearly show that it was aware
of the potential consequences of its actions. This argument is without merit.°

In support of 1ts procedural due process argument the Petitioner cites cases in which the
courts were required to address the 1ssue of whether or not punitive damage jury awards were
excessive. See BMIW of North America v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 116 S.Ct. 1589, 134 L.Ed.2d 809
(1996), and Vandevender v. Sheetz, Inc., 200 W. Va. 591, 490 S.E.2d 678 (1997). In each of
these cases, the 1ssue was whether the defendants, against who juries entered substantial punitive

damages awards, received notice of potential punitive damage awards adequate to afford them

° Unlike the response to the Petitioner’s argument that the standards for assessment of additions to tax and

penalties under the Tax Procedures Act should apply to W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38, counsel for the State Tax
Commissioner simply fails to respond to this argument. This Office is left to assume that the Tax Commissioner
would respond based on what seem to be apparent flaws in the Petitioner’s argument, which should have been
addressed by counsel for the State Tax Commissioner.

23



due process of law. In BMW of North America, the compensatory damages award was $4,000,
while the punitive damages award was $4,000,000, or 1000 times the compensatory damages
award. In Sheetz, the compensatory damages award was $300,066, while the punitive damages
award was $2,699,000, or 9 times the compensatory damages award. In each instance, the
reviewing court reduced the pumitive damages award.

The present matter does not present an 1ssue similar to that decided by the courts in
BMW of North America and Sheetz. In those actions, there was no definite, express amount that
could be awarded as punitive damages. Absent some judicially imposed limit, there was no
limitation on the amount that a jury could award. The defendants in those cases apparently had
no expectation that the punitive damage awards would be so punitive.

In the present matter those considerations are not present. The Petitioner could have
made itself aware of the necessity of obtaining the license required by W. Va. Code § 11-14C-
38. The statute expressly sets out a definite civil penalty for a first violation and for all
subsequent violations. Employees of the State Tax Commissioner or professional tax
practitioners could have advised the Petitioner of the potential civil penalties, including the
penalties for multiple statutory violations. A taxpayer could learn on 1ts own.” The Petitioner
was not prevented from learning the consequences of a statutory violation. The procedural due
process considerations addressed in BMW of North America and Sheetz are not present in this
matter. There 1s no procedural due process violation 1n this respect.8

The Petitioner’s reliance on Tony P. Sellitti Construction Co. v. Caryl, 185 W. Va. 584,

408 S.E.2d 336 (1991), 1s also misplaced. Sellitti involved an assessment of additions to tax

7 Admittedly, this might not be the easiest task for laypersons who are not versed in the intricacies of the West
Virginia tax code. However, this does not mean that this 1s impossible, or even unlikely.

® Even if this Office found the same due process considerations to be present in this action, as an executive

agency it could not declare the statute unconstitutional.
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under W. Va. Code § 11-10-18, which were waived by the circuit court. The Supreme Court
affirmed the waiver, holding that a failure to file returns or pay tax based on a good faith
challenge to the statute constitutes reasonable cause and 1s not due to willful neglect, satistying
the standard established by § 11-10-18. As already noted, the standard created under § 11-10-18
does not apply here. Therefore, Sellitti 1s not binding. Because the Petitioner violated the
applicable statutory standard, the civil penalties must be upheld.

The Petitioner also argues that the civil penalties assessed herein shock the conscience
and are so harsh as to violate both the state and federal constitutions. It maintains that had 1t
been notified after the first violation, 1t could have complied with the statute, thereby avoiding
the second and third violations.” It argues that i1ssuance of a single assessment imposing three
separate civil penalties for three separate violations of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 wviolates the
legislative intent of deterring repeated violations of the statute. It reasons that 1ssuance of a first
assessment 1s designed to deter future violations of the statute. A first assessment including civil
penalties for multiple violations deprives a violator of an opportunity to correct its behavior. The
Petitioner 1s correct insofar as 1t argues that under such circumstances i1t has had no opportunity
to correct 1its mistakes. However, this consideration is not paramount.

This Office has previously addressed this contention. In the prior matter, State Tax
Department personnel stopped two of the taxpayer’s trucks at the same location within minutes
of each other. They cited the taxpayer for two violations of the same statute, with the second
violation bearing an increased penalty. In affirming the assessment, this Office stated:

The Petitioner expresses concern with the fact that it received two assessments

within ten to fifteen minutes for the same statutory violation. It complains that it
believed 1t was complying with the statute. When 1t received its first assessment,

° Tt also points out that because it had no responsibility to pay the tax, the State was not deprived of any tax
revenue by reason of its failure to comply with the statute. However, tracking the flow of fuel 1s an important
function of the statutory scheme. Hence, this function 1s a reason for imposing penalties on violators who owe no
tax.
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in effect putting 1t on notice that it was not complying with the statute, 1t did not
have the opportunity to take steps to correct its deficiencies before being issued a
second assessment.

This Office 1s not unmindful of the Petitioner’s concern. However, the
Petitioner has commutted two separate violations of the statute. The Tax
Commissioner has chosen to enforce the strict letter of the law. Stated differently,
the Tax Commissioner has chosen not to exercise any discretion to give the
Petitioner an opportunity to take corrective activity before issuing a second
assessment. [Footnote omitted.] The statute in this matter gives this Office no
authority to waive, abate or reduce the civil penalty. Since the Tax Commissioner

has chosen to enforce the strict letter of the law, and since a statutory violation has
been proven, this Office must affirm the civil penalty.

See WVOTA Decision 05-648 MFE, pp. 13-14 (September 26, 20006).

Under the Petitioner’s theory, one who violates the statute once would be encouraged to
commit multiple violations in as short a time as possible thereafter. It argues that once it
commits a violation 1t must be given notice of the violation and an opportunity to correct its
behavior before a second assessment can be i1ssued. In effect, this gives 1t carte blanche to
commit unlimited violations between the violation and 1ssuance of an assessment for the first
violation. Only after being assessed would the taxpayer be on “notice™ that 1t was required to
comply with the statute.'® This construct hardly constitutes a model of sensible tax enforcement.
To the contrary, 1t would be an nvitation to flaunt the law. As per the decision in WVOTA
Decision 05-648 MFE and for the reasons stated, this argument 1s without mertit.

The Petitioner clearly thinks the civil penalty assessed 1s excessive, given the nature of
the violations and its evident lack of intent to violate the statute. It seems to argue that there
should be some measure of forbearance in the amount assessed. This Office tends to agree. The
Petitioner seems to have wanted to comply with the statute. It did not move with great dispatch
and apparently ran into problems, some of its own making, some caused by others. Regardless

of these considerations, however, the relief requested 1s not within the authority of this Office.

" The statute should be notice enough.
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The Legislature has vested the State Tax Commissioner with the discretion to assess a civil
penalty. The Petitioner violated the statute and was assessed by the Tax Commuissioner. This

Office may not abate the assessment.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
Based upon all of the above it 1s DETERMINED that:

1. In a hearing before the West Virgima Office of Tax Appeals on a petition for
reassessment respecting a civil penalty assessment 1ssued pursuant to W. Va. Code § 11-14C-1,
et seq., the burden of proof is upon the Petitioner to show that the civil penalty assessment
against it 1s erroneous, unlawful, void or otherwise mvalid. See W. Va. Code § 11-10A-10(¢e)
[2002]; W. Va. Code. St. R. §§ 121-1-63.1 and 69.2 (Apr. 20, 2003).

2. West Virgima Code § 11-14C-38 [2003] makes any person who engages mn any
business activity for which a license is required by Article 14C, without having first obtained and
subsequently retained such a valid license, subject to a civil penalty in the amount of $5,000.00
for a first violation, and $10,000.00 for the second and all subsequent violations.

3. The language of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 [2003] 18 clear and unambiguous, and
does not require willfulness, or any other evidence respecting a person’s mental state, as a
predicate for imposition of the civil penalty provided by that section.

4. West Virgima Code § 11-14C-33(a) & -(b) [2003] provide that each and every
provision of Chapter 11, Articles 9 & 10 applies to the taxes levied by Article 14C, except as
otherwise expressly provided in Article 14C, with like effect as 1f Articles 9 & 10 were
applicable only to the taxes levied by Article 14C and were set forth in extenso in said article.

5. West Virgimia Code § 11-14C-33(¢c) [2003] provides that where there 1s some conflict

between any provision of Article 14C and any provision of Article 10, the provision of Article

14C shall control.
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6. In reviewing a civil penalty assessment issued by the State Tax Commissioner
pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 [2003], the West Virginia Office of Tax
Appeals 1s Iimited to determining whether or not the taxpayer engaged in the predicate act that
oives rise to the civil penalty, and may abate an assessment issued by the State Tax
Commuissioner only when 1t 1s proven that the taxpayer did not engage in the predicate act
authorizing imposition of the civil penalty giving rise to the assessment.

7. The language of W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 [2003], being without doubt or ambiguity,
i1s not to be “construed” in pari materia with the provisions of Chapter 11, Article 10 of the
Code.

8. The overarching scheme of Chapter 11, Article 14C, permits the State Tax
Commissioner to 1ssue a civil penalty assessment for violations of the applicable statutory
provisions set forth therein.

9. A person who violates W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 [2003] may be assessed a civil
penalty for the violation, even when the violation 1s without knowledge of the statute or intent to
violate the same.

10.  W. Va. Code § 11-14C-38 [2003] does not wviolate the Petitioner’s right to due
process, because the amount of the penalty set forth therein neither works a forferture nor shocks
the conscience.

11. A person subject to W. Va. Code, Chapter 11, Article 14C, may be assessed multiple
civil penalties for multiple statutory violations even though 1t 1s not given notice of the statutory
violation by means of an assessment 1ssued after the first violation.

12.  The Petitioner in this matter has failed to carry its burden of proving that the civil

penalty assessment against it 1s erroneous, unlawful, void or otherwise invalid.

DISPOSITION
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WHEREFORE, it 1s the FINAL DECISION of the WEST VIRGINIA OFFICE OF

TAX APPEALS that the motor fuel excise tax civil penalty assessment issued against the
Petitioner for three violations occurring 1in October, November and December of 20035, 1n the

amount of $ , should be and 1s hereby AFFIRMED.
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