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PROVIDE A BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE CONTENT OF THE RULE:

Modifications all relate specifically 10 telepractice and permiis health care practitioners licensed in other states o
practice in WV, sets forth requirements for registrationb, permits a fee for registration, establishes a registrant is
subject to this jurisdiction and adds criteria to the standard of care related to telepractice services with
exceptions.

SUMMARIZE IN A CLEAR AND CONCISE MANNER CONTENTS OF CHANGES IN THE RULE AND A STATEMENT OF
CIRCUMSTANCES REQUIRING THE RULE:

Frovides a new section for registration, renewal, standard of care & standards of conduct of an interstate

telepractice practitioner. Section references were aiso changed as required. The rule is required per HB 2024
signed by the Governor 04/09/21 but effective from passage on 03/30/2021.

SUMMARIZE IN A CLEAR AND CONCISE MANNER THE OVERALL ECONOMIC IMPACT OF THE PROPOSED
RULE:

A. ECONOMICIMPACT ON REVENUES OF STATE GOVERNMENT:
N/A

B. ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SPECIAL REVENUE ACCOUNTS:

There will be a positive revenue stream from registration and renewal fees but it is totally dependent on
the number of interstate practitioners who register.

C. ECONOMICIMPACT OF THE RULE ON THE STATE OR ITS RESIDENTS:
N/A



D. FISCALNOTE DETAIL:

Effect of Proposal Fiscal Year

2021 2022 Fiscal Year (Upon

Increase/Decrease |increase/Decrease [Full

{use "-") {use "-") implementation)
1. Estimated Total Cost .00
Personal Services .00
Current Expenses .00
Repairs and Alterations .00
Assets .00
Other .00
2. Estimated Total $3000 to $5000

Revenues

E. EXPLANATION OF ABOVE ESTIMATES (INCLUDING LONG-RANGE EFFECT):

The above estimate is based on the # of registrations received under the Governor's Executive Order
26-20. There was no fee involved in that registration. The long term is dependent on the # of

interstate practitioners who register to provide telepractice services. It is not possible to know the total
positive revenue effect this rule change will have in the future.

BY CHOOSING 'YES', | ATTEST THAT THE PREVIOUS STATEMENT 1S TRUE AND CORRECT.

Yes

Patty Nesbitt - By my signature, | certify that | am the person authorized to file legislative rules,
in accordance with West Virginia Code §29A-3-11 and §39A-3-2.
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TITLE 29
LEGISLATIVE RULE
WEST VIRGINIA BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND
AUDIOLOGY

SERIES 1
LICENSURE OF SPEECH-PATHOLOGY AND AUDIOLOGY

§29-1-1. General.

1.1. Scope. -- This legislative rule establishes the qualifications necessary to obtain licensure as a
Speech-Language Pathologist and/or Audiologist in the State of West Virginia. It also establishes the
prerequisites and requirements for provisional licensure, license renewal, reinstatement of expired licenses,
retirement of licenses, fees, telepractice services and standards of conduct.

1.1.1. The West Virginia Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is authorized to
grant or deny licensure only according to the requirements in W.Va. Code §30-32-1 ef seg. The Board
has no authority to waive licensure requirements or any conditions for licensure except as stipulated by
the law. All applicants, licensees, registered assistants, postgraduate professional experience supervisors,
assistant’s supervisors and all others concerned with licensure or registration shall be held responsible for
knowing and understanding W.Va. Code §30-32-1 ¢t seq and Legislative Rules Title 29-1, Title 29-2,
Title 29-3, Title 29-4 and Title 29-5.

1.2. Authority. -- W.Va. Code §30-32-7.

1.3. Filing Date. -- May5:2026-
1.4. Effective Date. -- Faly-2020.

1.5. Sunset Provision. -- This rule shall terminate and have no further force or effect on July 1, 2030.
§29-1-2. Definitions.

2.1. “ASHA” means the American Specch-Language-Hearing Association.

2.2. “AAA” means the American Academy of Audiology.

2.3. “Board” refers to the West Virginia Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and
Audiology, abbreviated as WVBESLPA.

2.4, “Tnitial” means obtaining a license in West Virginia for the profession sought for the first time.

2.5. “License” means a license issued by the Board to someone who meets all the requirements for
licensure in Speech-Language Pathology and/or Audiology.

2.6. “Low-income Individuals” means individuals in the local labor market as defined in W.Va.
Code §21-1C-2 whose household adjusted gross income is below 130 percent of the federal poverty line.
This term also includes any person enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program including, but
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not limited to, the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program, Medicaid, or the Supplemental
Nutrition Assistance Program. These individuals may apply for the low-income waiver of initial licensing
fees.

2.7 “Military Families” means any person who serves as an active member of the armed forces of the
United States, the National Guard, or a reserve component as described in 38 U.S.C §101, honorably
discharged veterans of these forces, and their spouses. The term also includes surviving spouses of
deceased service members who have not remarried. These individuals may apply for the military family
waiver of initial licensing fees.

2.8. “Provisional License” means a license 1ssued by the Board for completion of the Postgraduate
Professional Experience, as set forth in section 4213 of this rule.

2.9. “Telepractice Services™ 1s defined as the application of telecommunication technology to deliver
speech-language pathology and/or audiology services at a distance for assessment, intervention and/or
consultation.

§29-1-3. Qualifications for licensure in speech-language pathology
3.1. To be eligible for licensure by the Board as a speech-language pathologist, the applicant shall:
3.1.1. Make application to the Board on the license apphcation form approved by the Board,

3.1.1.a. All required documents for application for a license in Speech-Language Pathology
shall be in the English language or sent with a certified translation into the English language.

3.1.2. Pay to the Board the appropriate application and license fee as required by section 1811;
or

3.1.2.a. Apply for a military family waiver of all initial licensing fees. The military service
verification form, provided by the Board at www.wvspeechandaudiology.com, and all required
verification documents shall be submitted with the application for licensure.

3.1.2.b. Apply for a low-income waiver of all initial licensing fees. The Low-Income
Waiver of Initial Licensing Fees form, provided by the Board at ww.wvspeechandaudiolgy.com, shall be
submitted with the application for licensure. The applicant shall attest to the validity of the information
provided by signing, under penalty of perjury, the Written Declaration.

3.1.3. Possess at least a master’s degree or equivalent in Speech-Language Pathology that
consists of coursework approved by the Council of Academic Accreditation (CAA).

3.1.3.a. A master’s degree or equivalent in Speech-Language Pathology from an
mternational college or unmiversity shall be submitted in the English language and accompanied by an
evaluation provided by a credentials evaluation agency approved by the Board. A list of approved
credentials evaluation agencies may be obtained from the board.

3.1.4. Complete supervised clinical practicum experience requirements as defined in section

H12 of this rule;
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3.1.5. Complete a post-graduate professional experience as described in section 4213 of this rule;

3.1.6. Authenticate post-graduate professional experience requirements by submitting
verification of the certificate of clinical competence (CCC) issued by ASHA. Applicants not secking the
certificate of clinical competence shall submit a completed clinical fellowship year report on a form
prescribed by the Board and related documentation as described in section 4213 of this rule;

3.1.7. Obtain a passing score on the national examination in the area of Speech-Language
Pathology. The Board recognizes only the Educational Testing Service’s (ETS) specialty area
cxaminations.

3.1.8. Pass the jurisprudence examination developed by the Board. The examination score shall
be submitted with the application for licensure, fees and other required documents.

§29-1-4. Qualifications for licensure in Audiology
4.1. To be eligible for licensure by the Board as an Audiologist, the applicant shall:
4.1.1. Make application to the Board on the license application form approved by the Board,

4.1.1.a. All required documents for application of a license in Audiology shall be in the
English language or sent with a certified translation nto the English language.

4.1.2. Pay to the Board the appropriate application and license fee as required in section 3811 of
this rule; or,

4.1.2.a. Apply for a military family waiver of all initial licensing fees. The military service
verification form, provided by the Board at www.wvspeechandaudiology.com, and all required
verification documents shall be submitted with the application for licensure.

4.1.2.b. Apply for a low-income waiver of all initial licensing fees. The Low-Income Waiver
of Initial Licensing Fees form, provided by the Board at www.wvspecchandaudiology.com, shall be
submitted with the application for licensure. The applicant shall attest to the validity of the information
provided by signing, under penalty of perjury, the Written Declaration.

4.1.3. Possess at least a master’s degree or equivalent in Audiology that consists of coursework

approved by the Council of Academic Accreditation (CAA);

4.1.3.a. A master’s degree or equivalent in Audiology from an international college or
university shall be submitted in the English language and accompanied by an evaluation provided by a
credentials evaluation agency approved by the Board. A list of approved credentials evaluation agencies
may be obtained from the board.

4.1.4. Complete supervised clinical practicum experience requirements as defined in section
H12 of this rule;

4.1.5. Complete a post-graduate professional experience as described in section 3213 of this rule,
with the exception of;
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4.1.5.a. Any person who has completed a clinical doctorate in audiology (Au.D.) from an
accredited institution fulfills the requirement for the Postgraduate Professional Experience

4.1.6. Authenticate post-graduate professional experience requirements by submitting
verification of the certificate of clinical competence (CCC) 1ssued by ASHA. Applicants not seeking the
certificate of clinical competence shall submit a completed clinical fellowship year report on a form
prescribed by the Board and related documentation as described in section 4213 of this rule;

4.1.7. Obtain a passing score on the national examination in the area of Audiology. The Board
recognizes only the Educational Testing Service’s (ETS) specialty arca examinations.

4.1.8. Pass the jurisprudence examination developed by the Board. The examination shall be
submitted with the application for licensure, fecs and other required documents.

§29-1-5. Qualifications for a Provisional License.

5.1. To be eligible for provisional licensure by the Board, for purposes of fulfilling a Postgraduate
Professional Experience, the applicant shall:

5.1.1. Make application to the Board on the license application form approved by the Board,

5.1.2. Pay to the Board the appropriate application and license fee as required by section #811 of
this rule; or,

5.1.2.a. Apply for a military family waiver of all initial licensing fees. The military service
verification form, provided by the Board at www.wvspeechandaudiology.com, and all required
verification documents shall be submitted with the application for licensure.

5.1.2.b. Apply for a low-income waiver of all initial licensing fees. The Low Income Waiver
of Initial Licensing Fees form, provided by the Board at www.wvspeechandaudiology.com, shall be
submitted with the application for licensure. The applicant shall attest to the validity of the information
provided by signing, under penalty of perjury, the Written Declaration.

5.1.3. Submit to the Board an official university/college transcript from a university/college
approved by the Council of Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language (CAA).

5.1.3.a. All required documents for application of a provisional license shall be in the
English language or sent with a certified translation into the English language.

5.1.3.b. A master’s degree or equivalent from an international college or university shall be
submitted in the English language and accompanied by an evaluation provided by a credentials evaluation
agency approved by the Board. A list of approved credentials evaluation agencies may be obtained from

the board.

5.1.4. Submit to the Board an original test score from the Educational Testing Service for the
specialty area of Speech-Language Pathology.

5.2. The Board shall issue the provisional license for a period of one year.
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5.3. The provisional licensee shall submit an original Postgraduate Professional Experience (PPE)
agreement form to the Board within 30 days after employment begins. The form must be completed and
signed by the provisional licensee and the licensee’s supervisor. The Postgraduate Professional
Expenence requirements are stated in section 4213 of this rule.

5.4. The provisional license is renewable for one additional year upon proof of the completion of a
minimum of 10 hours of Board approved continuing education in the previous one year licensing period,
the completion of the license renewal application form, and payment of the provisional license rencwal
fec as prescribed in section 4811 of this rule.

§29-1-6. Registration as an Interstate Telepractice Practitioner with Out-Of-State License.

6.1. Registration, Renewal. Standard of Care & Standards of Conduct of an Interstate Telepractice
Practitioner are state in section 16 of this rule.

§29-1-67. License Renewal.

67.1. All licenses, except provisional licenses and assistants’ registrations, expire biennially on the
31" day of December. Expiration of licenses 1s always on the even year, e.g., 2018, 2020, etc.

67.2. A licensee requesting renewal of a license shall:
67.2.1. Pay to the Board the license renewal fees, as stated in section 3811 of this rule.
67.2.2. Submit an application for renewal on the license renewal form prescribed by the Board,

67.2.3. Complete Board approved continuing education activities as stated in section 4314 of this
rule.

67.3. The Board shall notify all licensees of the renewal procedures during the fourth quarter of the
vear the license expires. Notifications will be sent via email to the last email address provided by the
licensee. If an email address is not available, the notification will be sent via US Mail to the last physical
home address provided by the licensee. It is the responsibility of the licensee to notify the Board of any
change in contact information.

67.4. A license that expires may be renewed within one year of the expiration date, as long as the
licensee 1s entitled to renewal and pays to the Board the renewal fee and the late fee as stated in section
10.

67.4.1. A license renewed after expiration will be valid only when all renewal requirements are
met. Prior to the renewal of an expired license, the license shall be considered mactive. Anyone
providing services with an expired/inactive license may face disciplinary actions for unlicensed practice.

§29-1-78. Reinstatement of Expired Licenses.

78.1. The Board may reinstate a license expired for more than one year but fewer than five years if
the licensee:
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78.2. Pays to the Board a reinstatement fee equal to the renewal fee in effect on the last regular
renewal date immediately preceding the date of reinstatement, and the license reinstatement fee stated in
scction 4811 of this rule.

78.2.1. Completes 10 clock hours of approved continuing education per year that the license was
expired up to a maximum of 25 hours. Verification of the required continuing education shall be
submitted as part of the license reinstatement process. The continuing education shall include one clock
hour of cthics training per year that the license was expired up to a maximum of two hours as stated in
section 4314 of this rule.

§29-1-89. Retirement of Licenses.

89.1. Retired status is granted to Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists who do not
practice Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology for an extended time period after the expiration date
of their current license because of retirement, family matters, ste.

80.2. A retired license request form must be completed and submitted to the Board by the licenses
requesting the retired license status.

89.3. Retired licensees may resume their active status by payment of the biennial rencwal fee.

€9.4. In order to resume the practice of Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology, retired status
licensees shall demonstrate completion of five clock hours of continuming education in the area of licensure
for cach year that the retired status was maintained (maximum of 25 hours). The continuing education
shall include one clock hour of ethics per year the retired status was maintained up to a maximum of two
hours as stated n section 4314.2.1. of this rule.

89.5. The licensee may submit the required clock hours of continuing education each year he/she is
retired or submit all of the hours the vear he/she returns to work in the profession.

§29-1.210. Standards of Conduct.

810.1. Licensees shall comply with the West Virginia Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology Code of Ethics as set forth in 29CSRS. Failure to comply with the Code of
Ethics will be grounds for disciplinary action as described in W. Va. Code §30-32-109.

§29-1-1811. Schedule of Fees.

4811.1. Application fees:

3011.1.1. License, Interstate Telepractice Registration and Provisional license application fee
{(non-refundable) - $100

1011.1.2. Initial application fees are waived for applicants who serves as an active duty member
of the armed forces of the United States, the National Guard or a reserve umit, active duty members’
spouses, honorably discharged veterans and their spouses, and surviving spouses of deceased services
members who have not remarried, as specified in sections 3.1.2.a., 4.1.2.a., and 5.1.2.a. of this rule.

4011.1.3. Initial application fees are waived for applicants who qualify as a low-income
mndividual, as specified in 3.1.2.b,, 4.1.2.b., and 5.1.2.b. and
6
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4011.1.4. Initial license and Interstate Telepractice Registrations fees are waived as stated in

1611.1.2. and 4811.1.3. of this rule.

4011.2. License and Interstate Telepractice Registration fees: January — June/First Year of the

Licensing Period (odd year)
3011.2.1. License and Interstate Telepractice Registration fee in Speech-Language Pathology or

Audiology - $200
3011.2.2. Dual license fee in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology - $275

1011.3. Pro-Rated License Fees: July — December/First Year of the Licensing Period (odd year)

4011.3.1. License and Interstate Telepractice Registration fee in Speech-lLanguage Pathology or

Audiology - $150
3011.3.2. Dual license fee in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology - $206

4011.4. Pro-Rated License Fees: January — June/Second Year of Licensing Period (even year)

3011.4.1. License and Interstate Telepractice Registration fee in Speech-lLanguage Pathology or

Audiology - $100
14011.4.2. Dual license fee in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology - $138

3011.5. Pro-Rated License Fees: July — December/Second Year of Licensing Period (even year)

3011.5.1. License and Interstate Telepractice Registration fee in Speech-Language Pathology or

Audiology - $50
14011.5.2. Dual license fee in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology - $70

13811.6. Provisional License fee - $50
40811.7. Registration fee of a Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology Assistant - $50

1011.8. Rencwal fees:
4011.8.1. Renewal fee in Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology (two years) - $175

11.8.2. Renewal fee for Interstate Telepractice Registration (two years) - $175
4311.8.1.a. Renewal fees are waived in Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology for active

duty military families. All other license renewal requirements shall apply as stated in section 6 of this

rule.
4011.8.2. Renewal fee (Dual) in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (two years) - $250
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4011.8.2.a. Renewal fees are waived in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (Dual
License) for active duty military families. All other license renewal requirements shall apply as stated in
section 6 of this rule.
10811.8.3. Provisional license renewal fee in Speech-Langunage Pathology (one year) - $50
3211.8.4. Provisional license renewal fee in Audiology (one year) - $50
3011.8.5. Registration Renewal for Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology Assistant - $30

1011.8.6. Renewal late fee - $75 (applies when renewal application, renewal registration andfor
renewal fees or both are received within one year of license or registration expiration date) W.Va. Code
§30-32-17.b.

4611.8.7. Reinstatement fee - $100 (applics to a license or registration which has lapsed more
than one year and fewer than five years) W.Va. Code §30-32-17.c.

1611.9. Fees for Services Rendered.
3011.9.1. Duplicate License - $10
4611.9.2. Duplicate Wall Certificate - $15
1811.9.3. Copies of public records (per page: includes shipping) - $.50
3011.9.4. Roster of Active Licensees for Speech-Language Pathology - $100
1011.9.5. Roster of Active Licensees for Audiology - $50
4011.9.6. Insufficient Funds Penalty - $20
3211.9.7. Review and evaluate continuing education program from event provider - $50
1011.9.8. Out - of — State Letters of Good Standing or Affidavits - $25
1911.9.9. Copies of Rules and Regulations - $10 (Free online on the Board’s website.)
§29-1-4412. Academic Clinical Practicum Requirements.

H12.1. All Specch-Language Pathology applicants shall complete a minimum of 400 clock hours to
complete the academic clinical practicum requirement. Twenty-five hours must be spent in clinical
observation and 375 hours must be spent in direct client/patient contact, as required by the Council on
Academic Accreditation in Speech-Language Pathology (CAA).

+112.1.1. Up to 20 clock hours in the major professional arca may be in related disorders.
H12.1.2. Atleast 20 of the 400 hours shall be in Audiology.
H12.2. The applicant must demonstrate direct client/patient clinical experiences in both assessment

and intervention with children and adults from the following range of disorders and differences:
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+12.2.1. Articulation

H12.2.2. Fluency

H12.2.3. Voice and resonance, including respiration and phonation

H12.2.4. Receptive and expressive language (phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics,
pragmatics, prelinguistic communication and paralinguistic communication) in speaking, listening,
reading and writing

H12.2.5. Heanng, including the impact on speech and language

H12.2.6. Swallowing (oral, pharyngeal, esophageal and related functions, including oral
function for feeding, orofacial myology)

112.2.7. Cognitive aspects of communication (attention, memory, sequencing, problem-solving
and executive functioning)

H12.2.8. Social aspects of communication (including challenging behavior, ineffective social
skills, and lack of communication opportunitics)

+H12.2.9. Augmentative and altemative communication modalities

+12.3. All Audiology applicants shall obtain at least 350 clock hours to complete the academic
clinical practicum requirement.

++12.3.1. For licensure in Audiology the applicant shall obtain at least 40 hours in the following
two categories:

H12.3.1.a. Evaluation of hearing n children; and
H12.3.1.b. Evaluation of hearing in adults.
H12.3.2. Atleast 80 hours shall be obtained in the following two categories:

H12.3.2.a. Selection and use of amplification and assistive listening devices for children;
and

H12.3.2.b. Selection and use of amplification and assistive listening devices for adults.

H12.32.¢c. Atleast 10 additional hours shall be completed in any of categones H412.3.1.a.;
H12.3.1.b.; H12.3.2.a. through 312.3.2.b.

H12.3.3. Atleast 20 of the 250 hours shall be obtained in the treatment of hearing disorders in
children and adults.

H12.3.4. Up to 20 hours in the major areca may be in related disorders and at least 20 of the 350
clock hours shall be in speech-language pathology.
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H12.4. Any person who has completed a clinical doctorate in Audiology (Au.D.) from an accredited
institution fulfills the requirement for the Clinical Practicum requirements.

§29-1-1213. Postgraduate Professional Experience. (Also known as Clinical Fellowship Year)

+213.1. The purpose of the post-graduate professional experience (PPE) is to permit a provisional
licensee to practice speech-language pathology while working under the supervision of a person fully
licensed by the board in the area in which licensure is sought. (The PPE does not apply to an audiologist
with a clinical doctorate degree as described in subsection 4213.14 of this rule.)

$213.2. The post-graduate professional experience may be obtained in any one of a number of
diverse employment settings. The determination of whether a given setting 1s appropriate for the clinical
fellow is made by applying:

1213.2.1. The criterion of whether the particular program is designed to evaluate, habilitate, or
rehabilitate the communicative functioning of speech, language, and hearing handicapped persons.

3213.2.2. The program must afford the possibility that the postgraduate professional experience
supervisory requirements can be met.

4213.3. The type and amount of experience which is acceptable during the postgraduate professional
experience 1s defined as no less than nine months of full-time professional employment (a mimimum of 30
hours per week).

1213.4. The requirement can also be met by less than full-time employment as follows:
1213.4.1. Work 15-19 hours per week over 18 months;
1213.4.2. Work 20-24 hours per week over 15 months; or
+213.4.3. Work 25-29 hours per week over 12 months.

4213.5. In the event that part-time employment is used to fulfill a part of the postgraduate
professional experience, 100% of the minimum hours of the part-time work per week requirement shall be
spent in direct professional experience as defined in section 3213 4. of this rule, subsections 3213.4.1,
1213.4.1 and 4213.4.3. of this rule. Professional employment of less than 15 hours per week does not
fulfill any part of this requirement. If the postgraduate professional experience is not initiated within two
years of the date the academic and practicum education is completed, the clinical fellow shall meet the
academic and practicum requirements current when the postgraduate professional experience begins. The
postgraduate professional experience shall be completed within a maximum of 36 months.

1213.6. The Board requires that at least 80% of the postgraduate professional experience work week
shall be in direct client contact (assessment, diagnosis, evaluation, screening, habilitation, or
rehabilitation) and activities related to client management.

3213.7. Only individuals holding a current West Virginia licensure in specch-language pathology,
audiology, the ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) and at least two years of clinical
experience are eligible to supervise applicants during the postgraduate professional experience.
Applicants may obtain names of qualified mdividuals from the Board.

10
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4213.8. Supervision of the provisional licensee shall include direct observation of diagnostic and
therapeutic procedures. Other supervisory activities include:

4213.8.1. Conferring with the provisional licensee concerning clinical treatment strategies;
1+213.8.2. Monitoring changes in patients’ communication behaviors;
1213.8.3. Evaluating the provisional licensee’s clinical records, including
4213.8.3.a. Diagnostic reports;
1213.8.3.b. Treatment records;
+213.8.3.c. Correspondence;
1213.8.3.d. Plans of treatment; and
1213.8.3.c. Summaries of clinical conferences.
1213.8.4. Monitoring the provisional licensee’s participation in case conferences;

4213.8.5. Momtoring the provisional licensee’s work by professional colleagues’ evaluation of
the chnical fellow,

1+213.8.6. Monitoring the provisional licensee’s work by patients and their families’ evaluation of
the clinical fellow; and

1+213.8.7. Monitoring the provisional licensee’s contributions to professional meetings and
publications, as well as participation in other professional growth opportunities.

+213.9. Postgraduate professional experience supervision shall entail the personal and direct
involvement of the supervisor in any and all ways that will permit the postgraduate professional
experience supervisor to monitor, improve and evaluate the provisional licensee’s performance in the
professional employment. The postgraduate professional experience supervisor shall base the total
evaluation on no less than 36 direct supervisory activities and/or observations during the postgraduate
professional experience. The supervisor shall include 18 on-site observations of the provisional licensee
m the following manmner:

1213.9.1. one hour = one on-site observation (up to six hours may be accrued in one day); and
$213.9.2. at least six on-site observations shall be acerued during each third of the experience.

1213.9.3. The postgraduate professional experience supervisor shall complete 18 other
monitoring activities (at least one per month).

+213.10. The supervisor’s role throughout the postgraduate professional experience can be
considered that of a mentor and shall include mentoring the provisional licensee in all aspects of the
professional employment. The supervisor shall include regular monthly communication around mutually
developed goals including professional, educational and personal objectives. Since one purpose of the
postgraduate professional experience is to improve the clinical effectiveness of the provisional licensee,

11
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supervisors shall share and discuss their evaluations with the provisional licensee throughout the
postgraduate professional experience year, as well as during a monthly evaluation conference. The
monthly evaluation conference may be in conjunction with one of the on-site conferences and shall
melude:

+213.10.1. Detailed feedback regarding clinical performance; and

34213.10.2. Summarizing a list of clinical strengths and goals on the “PPE Supervision Contacts

27

Log™.

$213.11. A conference shall be held upon completion of the professional experience for a review and
discussion of the “PPE Supervisor’s Report.”

+213.12. The PPE Supervision Contacts Log and the PPE Supervisor’s Report shall be submitted to
the Board within 30 days after the professional experience is completed.

1213.13. After submission of the PPE Supervision Contacts Logs and the PPE Supervisor’s Report to
the Board for approval, the provisional licensee shall abide by the regulations for the provisional license
until full licensure i1s granted.

4213.14. Any person who has completed a clinical doctorate in audiology (Au.D.) from an accredited
mstitution fulfills the requirement for the Postgraduate Professional Experience.

§29-1-1314. Continuing Education.

4214.1. In order to renew a Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology or provisional license, the licensee
shall complete continuing education units that relate directly to professional growth and development, ¢.g.,
clinical skills. The continuing education requirements for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
Assistants are stated in 29CSR2 — Rule Governing Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Assistants.

+214.1.1. A person initially licensed during the last six months of the two year licensing period is
not required to complete CEU’s as a prerequisite for the first renewal of his/her license.

1314.1.2. The Board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing education
requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, such as extended illness, temporary
disability, military deployment or officially declared disasters. The request for the exemption shall
mnclude corroboration of the circumstance(s).

1314.2. A professional licensee shall obtain a minimum of 20 clock hours of continuing education
during every two-year licensure period. Licensees who exceed the minimum continuing education
requirement may carry a maximum of six hours forward to the next reporting period only. A provisional
licensee shall obtain ten hours of continuing education during his or her provisional license year in order
to renew his or her provisional license. An individual with professional licenses in both speech-language
pathology and audiology shall obtain 15 clock hours of continuing education credits in cach area, for a
total of 30 clock hours during the two-year license period.

+314.2.1. Effective for licenses expiring December 31, 2014 and thereafter, one clock hour per
year (total of two clock hours) of approved ethics continuing education 1s required for license renewal.

+214.3. The Board shall accept credits issued by the following organizations:
12
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4314.3.1. The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.
4314.3.2. The West Virginia Speech-Language-Hearing Association.
1314.3.3. The American Academy of Aundiology.

1314.3.4. Activities approved by the WVBESLPA

1314.4. Online continuing education courses will be accepted if issued/approved by the organizations
in section +314.3 or approved by the WVBESLPA.

4314.5. The presenting licensee may count one and one-half times the value of a workshop the first
time it is presented to allow for preparation time (Example: a three hour workshop = four and one-half
hours of CE). The workshop will count for the actual hour value for each subsequent presentation of the
same workshop.

1314.6. Teaching at the college level in the area of communication disorders and audiology is not
acceptable for continuing education.

1314.7. A licensee shall attest to the completion of the required continuing education on the renewal
application at the time of license renewal.

1314.7.1. The licensee shall retain all continuing education documents for inspection by the
Board for four years after the date of renewal.

4314.7.2. The Board may audit licensees for continuing education compliance after every two
year renewal cycle, to include;

+314.7.2.a. Licensees who fail to respond to or respond “no” to the continuing education
compliance question on the renewal application;

1214.7.2.b. Fifteen percent of licensees may be selected for a random audit.

1314.7.3. Licensees randomly selected for the audit will be notified by certified mail. The
licensees shall respond by sending continuing education documents via email, fax or mail within 30 days
of receiving the audit notification. The documentation may include completion certificates, ASHA CE
Registry, AAA transcript, conference session logs, etc.

4314.7.4. Licensees who fail to comply with the audit requirements may be subject to
disciplinary action by the Board.

+314.8. Continuing education activities from organizations other than those specified in sections
1314.3.1.,3314.3.2., 314,33, and +314.3.4. of this rule require prior approval from the Board.

3314.8.1. The licensee shall submit the following information for pre-approval of continuing
cducation hours:

+314.8.1.a. The name of the activity;
4314.8.1.b. The name and credentials of the speaker or presenter;

13
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4314.8.1.c. The date and hours of the activity (including the agenda);

4314.8.1.d. The location of the activity;

1314.8.1.e. The contact person or coordinator of the activity and his/her telephone number;
1314.8.1.f. The goals of the activity;

1314.8.1.g. The target group of the activity;

4314.8.1.h. The total number of continuing education hours requested for the activity.

+214.9.1. The licensee shall request pre-approval (minimum 30 days in advance) from the Board
for self-study or other appropriate CE hours.

1314.9.2. Self-study activities include:

3314.9.2.a. Professional presentations on recorded media including; audio, video, online
courses (both live and pre-recorded);

+314.9.2.b. Reading of professional journal articles that contain self-examination questions
at the end. Articles shall be submitted for pre-approval:

1314.9.2.c. Reading journal articles and submitting summarization of articles to the Board;
and

1214.9.2.d. Publication of diagnostic and/or therapeutic materials:
+314.9.3. Licensees who elect to audit university classes in speech-language pathology or
audiology shall submit a self-study plan for pre-approval from the WVBESLPA n order to qualify for CE

credit.

§29-1-1415. Coursework requirement for Master’s Equivalency for Speech-Language Pathology
and Audiology.

+415.1 Defimtions.

+415.1.1. “Equivalent” is defined as holding a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or
university.

H415.1.2. “Equivalency” is defined as at least 42 post-baccalaurcate semester hours acceptable
toward a master’s degree.

H415.2. Outline of the Academic Courses required for the basis of the Master’s Degree Equivalency.

3415.2.1. Atleast 30 semester hours shall be in the areas of Speech-Language Pathology,
Audiology, or Speech-Language and Hearing Science.

+415.2.2. Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists shall obtain at least 21 of these 42
semester hours from a single college or university.

14
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+415.2.3. No academic hours shall be completed more than 10 years prior to the date of
application.

+415.2.4. No more than six semester hours shall be obtained for clinical practicum.

+415.3. In evaluation of credits, one-quarter hour is the equivalent of two-thirds of a semester hours.
An applicant shall submit official transcripts to the Board for special evaluation if the transenipt does not
report credit in terms of semester or quarter hours.

H415.4. An applicant shall complete a total of 60 additional semester hours of academic credit from
accredited colleges or umiversities. These hours must demonstrate that the apphcant has obtained a well-
mtegrated program or course study dealing with the normal aspects of human communication,
development, disorders, and clinical techniques for evaluation and management of such disorders.

+415.5. Courses in Basic Communication Processes Arca.

+415.5.1. The applicant shall complete 15 of these 60 hours in courses that provide information
pertaining to normal development and use in speech, language and hearing, hereafter referred to as the
basic communication processes area. These 15 hours will provide the applicant with a wide exposure to
diverse kinds of information suggested by the following arcas:
+415.5.1.a. Anatomic and physiological basis for the normal development and use of speech,
language and hearing such as anatomy, neurology, and physiology of speech, language and hearing

mechanisms.

+415.5.1.b. Physical basis and processes of the production and perception of speech,
language and hearing, such as:

+415.5.1.b.1. acoustics or physics of sound;
+415.5.1.b.2. phonology;

+415.5.1.b.3. physiologic and acoustic phonetics;
1415.5.1.b.4. perceptual processes;

3415.5.1.b.5. psychoacoustics; and

+415.5.1.c. Linguistic and psycholinguistic variables related to normal development and use
of speech, language and hearing, such as:

+415.5.1.c.1. linguistics Chistorical, deseriptive, socialinguistics, urban language);
H415.5.1.¢c.2. psychology of language;
3415.5.1.¢.3. psycholinguistics;

+415.5.1.c.4. language and speech acquisition; and
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+H415.5.1.¢.5. verbal learming or verbal behavior.

+415.5.2. The applicant shall earn at least two semester hours of credit in each of the above three
categories.

+415.6. It is emphasized that the three broad categories of required education in this section, and the
examples of areas of study within these classifications, are not meant to be analogous to, or imply,
spectfic course titles. Neither are the examples of arcas of study within these categories meant to be
exhaustive. Some of these 15 semester hours may be obtained in courses that are taught in departments

other than those offering specch-language pathology and audiology degrees.

+415.6.1. The applicant will not recerve credit for courses designed to improve one’s speaking
and/or writing ability.

+415.7. The applicant shall obtain 30 of these 60 semester hours in courses that provide:
1415.7.1. imformation relative to communication disorders;

+415.7.2. information about and training in evaluation and management of speech, language and
hearing disorders; and

+415.7.3. Atleast 24 of these 30 semester hours shall be in courses in the major professional area
(Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology) for which licensure 1s requested At least six hours shall be in
audiology for licensure in speech-language pathology and at least six hours shall be in speech-language
pathology for licensure in audiology, hereafter referred to as the minor professional area.

1415.8. Professional Education Hours Required for Speech-Language Pathology.

+415.8.1. The 24 semester hours of professional education required for licensure in speech-
language pathology should be in the broad, but not necessarily exclusive, categories of study as follows:

+415.8.1.a. Understanding of speech and language disorders, such as:
1415.8.1.a.1. various types of disorders of communication;
+415.8.1.a.2. their manifestations; and
+415.8.1.a.3. their classifications and causes;

4415.8.1.b. Evaluation skills such as procedures, techniques, and instrumentation used to
assess:

+415.8.1.b.1. the speech and language status of children and adults; and
3415.8.1.b.2. the basis of disorders of speech and language; and
+415.8.1.c. Management procedures; such as principles in remedial methods used in

habilitation and rehabilitation for children and adults with various disorders of communication.
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+415.8.2. At least six semester hours shall deal with speech disorders and at least six semester
hours shall deal with language disorders.

+415.8.3. The remaining six semester hours of the 30 shall be in the minor professional arca of
audiology. Of these six semester hours, three semester hours shall be in the habilitative/rehabilitative
procedures with speech and language problems associated with hearing impairment, and three semester
hours shall be in study of the pathologies of the auditory system and assessment of auditory disorders.
However, when more than the minimum six semester hours is met, study of habilitative/rchabilitative
procedures may be counted in the major professional area.

+415.9. Professional Education Hours Required for Audiology.

+415.9.1. The 24 semester hours of professional education required for licensure in audiology
should be in the broad, but not necessarily exclusive, categories of study as follows.

1415.9.1.a. auditory disorders, such as:

3415.9.1.a.1. pathologies of the auditory system; and

+415.9.1.a.2. assessment of auditory disorders and their effective on communication;
4415.9.1.b. habilitative/rehabilitative procedures, such as:

1415.9.1.b.1. selection and use of appropriate amplification mstrumentation for the
hearing impaired, both wearable and group;

+415.9.1.b.2. evaluation of speech and language problems of the hearing impaired; and

+415.9.1.b.3. management procedures for speech and language habilitation and/or
rehabilitation of the hearing impaired (that may mnclude manual communication);

H415.9.1.c. conservation of hearing, such as:
H415.9.1.c.1. environmental noise control; and
+415.9.1.¢c.2. identification audiometry (school, military, industry); and

+415.9.1.d. Instrumentation, such as:
1415.9.1.d.1. clectronics

+415.9.1.d.2. calibration technique; and
H415.9.1.d.3. characteristics of amplifying systems.

3415.9.2. At least six semester hours shall deal with auditory pathology and at least six semester
hours shall deal with habilitation/rchabilitation.

+415.9.3. The remaining six semester hours of the 30 shall be in the minor professional area of
speech-language pathology.
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+415.9.3.a. Of these six semester hours, three semester hours shall be in speech pathology,
and three semester hours shall be in language pathology. It is suggested that where only this minimum
requirement of six semester hours is met, that the study be in the arcas of evaluation procedures and
management of speech and language problems that are not associated with hearing impairment.

+415.9.4. An individual who holds a clinical doctorate in audiology (Au.]).) and has completed
75 hours of post-baccalaurcate coursework from a regionally accredited audiology program fulfills the
requirement for a supervised postgraduate professional employment experience.

+415.10. Related Areas of Study.

4415.10.1. In addition to the 15 semester hours of course study i basic communication
processes, the 24 semester hours in the major professional area, and the six semester hours in the minor
professional area, credit for study of information pertaining to related fields that augment the work of the
clinical practitioner of speech-Language Pathology and/or Audiology may also apply toward the total 60
semester hours, hereafter referred to as related arcas. Such study should pertain to the understanding of
human behavior, both normal and abnormal, as well as services available from related professions, and in
general should augment the background for a professional carcer. Examples of such arcas of study are as
follows:

+415.10.1.a. theories of learning and behavior;,

+415.10.1.b. services available from related professional that also deal with persons who
have disorders of communication; and

+415.10.1.c. mformation from these professions about the sensory, physical emotional,
social, and/or mtellectual status of a child or an adult.

+415.10.2. Academic credit obtained from practice teaching or practicum work in other
professions shall not be counted toward the minimum requirements.

+415.10.3. In order that the future applicant for one of the professional licenses shall be capable
of critically reviewing scientific matters dealing with clinical issues relative to speech-language pathology
and audiology, credit for study in the area of statistics, beyond an introductory course, shall be allowed to
a maximum of three semester hours. Academic study of the administrative organization of Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology programs may also be applied to a maximum of three semester hours.

3415.10.4. Certain types of course work shall be acceptable among more than one of the areas of
study specified in section 14.10 of this rule, depending on the emphasis. For example, courses that
provide an overview of research, ¢.g., introduction to graduate study or introduction to rescarch in
communication sciences, disorders or management, and/or a more general presentation of research
procedures and techniques that shall permit the clinician to read and evaluate hiterature entically are
acceptable for a maximum of three semester hours. These courses may be credited to the basic
communication process area, or one of the professional areas or related area, if substantive content of the
courses covers material in those areas.

+415.10.4.a. Academic credit for a thesis or dissertation shall be acceptable for a maximum
of three semester hours in the appropriate area.
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+415.10.4.b. The applicant shall submit an abstract of the study with the application if credit
is requested.

+415.10.4.c. In order to be acceptable, the thesis or dissertation must have been an
experiment of descriptive investigation in the arcas of speech, language and hearing science, Speech-
Language Pathology or Audiology. Credit is not allowed if the project was a survey of opinions, a study
of professional issues, an annotated bibliography, biography, or a study of curricular design.

+1415.10.5. As sct forth in section 1415.10 of this rule, the academic credit hours obtained from
one course or one enrollment may, although should not be in some instances, divided among the basic
communication processes arca and one of the professional areas, and/or the related area. In such cases, a
description of the content of that course should accompany the application. This description should be
extensive enough to provide the Board with information necessary to evaluate the validity of the request
to apply the content to more than one of the areas. Study in the area of understanding, evaluation, and
management of speech and language disorders associated with hearing impairment may apply to the 24
semester hours in the major professional area associated with either license (Speech-Language Pathology
or Audiology).

3415.10.5.a. The applicant 1s not allowed more than six semester hours in that area of study
toward the license in speech-language pathology.

+415.10.6. Thirty of the total 60 semester hours that are required for licensure shall be in courses
that are acceptable toward a graduate degree by the college or university in which they are taken.

H415.10.6.a. This requirement can be met by courses completed as an undergraduate
providing the college or umiversity in which they are taken specifies that these courses would be
acceptable toward a graduate degree if they were taken for graduate degree if they were taken for
graduate credit.

+415.10.6.b. Twenty-one of these 30 semester hours shall be within the 24 semester hours
required in the professional area (speech-language pathology or Audiology) for which licensure is
requested or within the six semester hours required in the other area as specified in section 14.7.3. of this
rule.

1415.11. A student who is enrolled in a terminal degree program in Speech-Language Pathology or
Audiology who has not yet completed a terminal degree 1s not eligible for licensure.

§29-1-16. Registration, Renewal, Standard of Care & Standards of Conduct of an Interstate
Telepractice Practitioner.

16-1. Definitions:

16.1.1. “Established patient” means a patient who has received professional services, face-to-
face, from the physician, qualified health care professional. or another physician or qualified health care

professional of the exact same specialty and subspecialty who belongs to the same group practice, within
the past three vears.

16.1.2. “Health care practitioner” means a person authorized to practice under §30-3-1 et. seq., &
30-32-1 et seq.. and anv other person licensed under this chapter that provides healthcare services.
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16.1.3. “Intersiate telepractice services” means the provision of telepractice services to a patient
located in West Virginia by a health care practitioner located in anv other state or commonwealth of the
United States.

16.1.4. “Registration’” means an authorization to practice a health profession regulated by §30-1-

1 ef seg.and §30-32-1 &t seg. of this code for the limited purposed of providing interstate telepractice

services within the registrant’s scope of practice.

16.1.5 “Telepractice services” means the use of synchronous or asynchronous
telecommunications technology or audio only telephone calls by a health care practitioner to provide
health care services, meluding, but not limited to, assessment, diagnosis. consultation, treatment, and
monitoring of a patient; transfer of medical data; patient and professional health-related education; public

health services: and health administration. The term does not include internet questionnaires. email

messages, or facsimile transmissions.

16.2. To be eligible for registration as an interstate telepractice practitioner. the registrant shall:

16.2.1. Submit registration to the Board on the registration form approved by the Board:

16.2.2. Pay to the Board the appropnate registration fee as required to section 11 of this rule;

16.2.3. Pass the jurisprudence examination developed by the Board. The examination

score/completion certificate shall be submitted with the registration form. fees and other required
documents.

16.2.4. Hold license(s) in good standing in all states in which he or she is currently licensed and

shall not currently be under investigation or subject to an administrative complaint.

16.2.5. Registration as an out-of-state telepractice practitioner shall be issued when the health
care practitioner-patient relationship is established.

16.3. The registration of out-of-state telepractice practitioner shall expire biennially on the 31% dav of
December. Expiration of a registration is always on the even vear. e.o.. 2022 etc.

16.4. A repistrant requestine renewal of a registration shall:

16.4.1. Pay to the Board the registration renewal fees. as stated i section 11 of this rule.

16.4.2. Submit a registration for renewal on the registration form prescribed by the Board:

16.4.3. Complete 20 hours of Board approved continuing education activities specific to
telepractice clinical skills. Full details of the continuing education requirements are stated i section 14

of this rule.

16.5. The Board shall notify all registrants of the renewal procedures during the fourth quarter of the

vear the registration expires. Notifications will be sent via email to the last email address provided by the
registrant. If an email address is not available, the notification will be sent via US Mail to the last
physical home address provided by the licensee. It is the responsibility of the licensee to notify the Board
of anv change m contact information.
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16.6. A registration that expires may be renewed within one vear of the expiration date. as long as the
registrant is entitled to renewal and pays the Board the renewal fee and the late fee as stated in section 11.

16.6.1. A registration renewed after expiration will be valid only when all renewal requirements
are met. Prior to the renewal of an expired registration, the registrant shall be considered mactive.

Anvyone providing services with an expired/inactive license may face disciplinary actions for unlicensed
practive.

16.7. The Standard of Care for the Provision of Out-of-State Telepractice Services.

16.7.1 The standard of care shall require that with respect to the established patient, the patient
shall visit an in-person health care practitioner within 12 months of using the initial telepractice service or

the telepractice service shall no longer be available to the patient until an in-person visit is obtained. This
requirement mav be suspended. in the discretion of the health care practitioner, on a case-by-case basis,

but it does not apply to the following services: acute inpatient care. post-operative follow-up checks.
behavioral medicine, addiction medicine, or palliative care.

16.8. A registration issued pursuant to the provisions of the requirements of this section does not
authorize a health care professional to practice from a physical location within this state without first
obtaining appropriate licensure.

16.9. A healthcare professional who registers to provide interstate telepractice services pursuant to
the provisions of or the requirements of this section shall immediately notify the board of any restrictions
placed on the individual’s license to practice 1n anv state or jurisdiction.

16.10. Interstate Remistrants shall comply with the West Vireinia Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiologvy W, Va. Code §30-32-1 ef seq. and W. Va. C.S.R. §29-1. C.S.R. §29-
2. C.5.R. §29-3. C.S.R. §29-4. C.5.R. §29-5. Failure to comply with the W, Va. Code and W. Va. CS.R.

29 Rules will be grounds for disciplinary action as described in W.Va. Code §30-32-19.

16.11. A person currentlv licensed in West Virginia is not subject to registration but shall practice
telepractice in accordance with the provisions of sections C.S.R. §29-1-16 & C.5.R. §29-1-17 and the
rules promuleated thereunder.

§29-1-1517.  Telepractice

1517.1. Defmitions.
+517.1.1. “Asynchronous™ is defined as images or data that are captured and transmitted for later
review by a provider.

3517.1.2. “Client/Patient” 1s defined as a consumer of telepractice services.

+517.1.3. “Facilitator” is defined as the individual at the client site who facilitates the telepractice
service delivery at the direction of the speech-language pathologist or audiologist.
For purposes of fulfilling the facilitator role at the direction of the speech-language pathologist or
audiologist, an individual does not have to become licensed as an aide.

4517.1.4. “Provider” is defined as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, fully licensed by
the board, who provides telepractice services.
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+517.1.5. “Service Delivery Model” is defined as the method of providing telepractice services.
+517.1.6. ““Site” is defined as the client/patient location for receiving telepractice services.

1517.1.7. “Stored Clmical Data™ is defined as video clips, sound/audio files, photo images,
electronic records, and written records that may be available for transmission via telepractice
communications.

1517.1.8. “Synchronous™ is defined as interactive audio and video telepractice service occurring
in real time.

3517.1.9. “Telepractice Serviee™ 1s defined as the application of telecommunication technology
to deliver speech-language pathology and/or audiology services at a distance for assessment, intervention
and/or consultation.

1517.2. Service Delivery Models

1517.2.1. Telepractice Services may be delivered in a variety of ways, including, but not limited
to those set out m this section.

+517.2.1.a. Store-and-forward model/is the asynchronous capture and transmission of clinical
data from one location to a provider.

1517.2.1.b. Synchronous clinician mnteractive model 1s a real time interaction between the
provider and client/patient that may occur via encrypted audio and video transmission over
telecommunication links including, but not limited to, videoconferencing.
+517.3. Guidelines for Use of Facilitators
+517.3.1. Facilitators may be used to assist clients on site when telepractice services are
provided. The Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist is responsible for conducting the session and
directing the activities of the facilitator. The facilitator may be a teacher’s aide, a nursing assistant, a

speech-language pathology or audiology assistant or other type of support personnel.

1517.3.2. The Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist is responsible for ensuring the
facilitator is appropriately trained to provide the type of assistance needed. Activities may include:

1517.3.2.a. Escorting client/patient or student to and from sessions;
4517.3.2.b. Establishing and troubleshooting the telepractice connection;

4517.3.2.c. Setting up therapy matenials;

1517.3.2.d. Positioning the client/patient at the direction of the Speech-Language Pathologist
or Audiologist;

1517.3.2.c. Remaining with the client/patient or student during sessions;
+517.3.2.f Assisting with behavior management, as needed;
4517.3.2.g. Commumcating with on-site staff or teachers about scheduling, and
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4517.3.2.h. In some instances serving as the interpreter.
+517.4. Guidelines for Use of Telepractice.

1517.4.1. The provider shall comply with the West Virginia Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology Code of Ethics as set forth in 290CSRS5 and Scope Practice
requirements set forth in W.Va. Code §30-32-13 & §30-32-14, when providing telepractice services.
Failure to comply will be grounds for disciplinary action as described in W.Va. Code §30-32-109.

+517.4.2. Telepractice services delivered via telecommunication technology must be equivalent
to the quality, scope and nature of services delivered face-to-face, 1.¢., in person.

4517.4.3. The quality of electronic transmissions shall be appropriate for the delivery of
telepractice services as if those services were provided in person.

1517.4.4. Providers must have the knowledge and skills to competently deliver services via
telecommunication technology by virtue of education, training and experience.

3517.4.5. Providers are responsible for assessing the client’s candidacy for telepractice including
behavioral, physical and cognitive abilities to participate in services provided via telecommunications.

4517.4.6. A provider shall be sensitive to cultural and hinguistic variables that affect the
wdentification, assessment, treatment and management of the clients/patients.

1517.4.7. Equipment used for the delivery of telepractice services at the provider site shall be
maintained in appropriate operational status to provide appropriate quality of services.

1517.4.8. Equipment used at the client/patient site shall be in appropriate working condition and
deemed appropriate by the provider.

1517.4.9. As pertaining to liability and malpractice issues, a provider shall be held to the same
standards of practice as if the telepractice services were provided in person.

1517.4.10. Telepractice providers shall comply with all laws, rules and regulations governing the
maintenance of patient/client records, including patient/client confidentiality requirements, regardless of
the state where the records of any patient/client within this state are maintamed.

4517.4.11. Notification of telepractice services should be provided to the patient/client, the
guardian, the caregiver, and the multi-disciplinary team, if appropriate. The notification shall include, but
not be limited to: the right to refuse telepractice services and options for service delivery.

1517.5. Limitations of Telepractice Services

+517.5.1. Telepractice services shall not be provided by correspondence only, e.g., mail, email,
fax, although they may adjuncts to telepractice.

+517.5.2. Telepractice services shall not be provided by:
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4517.5.2.ba. Speech Pathology or Audiology Assistants
+517.6. Licensure Requirements for Providing Telepractice Services.

1517.6.1. A provider of telepractice services who practices in this State shall be licensed by the
Board, per license requirements set forth in W.Va. Code, §30-32-9., §30-32-10. & W.Va. C.S.R.§29-1.

1517.6.2. A provider of telepractice services who resides out of this State and who provides
telepractice services to clients/patients in West Virginia shall be heensed registered by the Board, per
registration Heense requirements set forth in W.Va. Code, §30-32-91 et seq., &§30-32-1- & W.Va.
C.S.R.§29-1.

4517.6.3. A provider of telepractice services shall be competent in both the type of services
provided and the methodology and equipment used to provide the services.
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