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MAC WARNER
R T T o s Office of West Virginia
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW DIVISION Secretary Of State

NOTICE OF RULE MODIFICATION OF A PROPOSED RULE

AGENCY: Dietitians
RULE TYPE: Legislative TITLE-SERIES:  31-01
RULE NAME: LICENSURE AND RENEWAL

REQUIREMENTS

CITE AUTHORITY: W. Va. Code §30-35-4 & §30-1-24

The above proposed Legislative rules, following review by the Legisiative Rule Making Review
Committee, is hereby modified as a resulit of review and comment by the Legisiative Rule
Making Review Committee. The attached modifications are filed with the Secretary of State.

BY CHOOSING "YES', | ATTEST THAT THE PREVIOUS STATEMENT IS TRUE AND CORRECT.

Yes
Grady M Bowyer -- By my signature, | certify that | am the person authorized to file
legislative rules, in accordance with West Virginia Code §29A-3-11 and §39A-3-2.
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TITLE 31
LEGISLATIVE RULE
WEST VIRGINIA BOARD OF LICENSED DIETITIANS

SERIES 1
LICENSURE AND RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS
§31-1-1. General.

1.1. Scope. -- This rule establishes examination, licensure, discipline, fees and renewal requirements
for licensees and applicants for licensure.

1.2. Authority. -- W. Va. Code §30-35-4 & §30-1-24
1.3. Filing Date. — March25;2619

1.4. Effective Date. — #pri-1261°

1.5. Sunset Provision. -- This rule shall terminate and have no further force or effect upon the expiration

of ten (10) years from final filing

§31-1-2. Definitions.
2.1. “Board” means the Board of Licensed Dictitians.

2.2. “Commission on Dietetic Registration” means the commission on dietetic registration that is a
member of the national commission for health certifying agencies.

2.3. “False or Deceptive Advertising” means a statement that includes a misrepresentation of fact, is
likely to mislead or deceive because of a failure to disclose material facts, 1s intended or 1s likely to create
false or unjustified expectations of favorable results or includes representations or implications that in
reasonable probability will cause an ordinary prudent person to misunderstand or be deceived.

2.4. “Unreversed™, as that term refers to a criminal conviction. means that a conviction has not been
set aside. vacated, pardoned. or expuneed.

§31-1-3. Board Approval for Licensure.

3.1. The Board shall issue a license to an applicant who meets the requirements of W. Va. Code
§§30-35-1 et seq. and rules promulgated by the Board.

§31-1-4. Licensure Qualifications.
4.1. An applicant for licensure by the Board as a dietitian applicant shall:

4.1.1. Make application to the Board prior to the date of examination for licensure on the license
application form approved by the Board including any documentation required by the Board;

4.1.2. Pay to the Board the appropriate application fees and renewal fees;
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4.1.2.1. Original license $ 75.00;

4.1.2.2. Renewal fee § 75.00;

4.1.2.3. Reinstatement fee § 50.00; and

4.1.3. Acharge of $ 10.00 will be assessed for cach license paper verification per state.

4.1.4. Take the required written examination at any of the sites approved by the Board at any
time the site is open to administer the exam.

§31-1-5. Waiver of Requirements.

5.1. The Board shall not grant a waiver from the written examination for an individual who holds a
current license from another state with equivalent standards or who holds the registration by the
Commission on Dietetic Registration unless the applicant has filed the license application, including
required documentation, and paid the application fee as stated in 4.1.2.1.

§31-1-6. Provisional Permit.

6.1. The purpose of the provisional permit is to allow an individual who has not yet passed the
required examination to practice dietetics after completing the education and post-graduate professional
experience as required by W. Va. Code §30-35-7.

6.2. The Board shall issue the provisional permit for a period of one (1) year.

6.3. The permittee may renew a provisional permit annually for up to three (3) additional years upon
proof of the completion of a minimum of ten (10) hours of continuing professional education in the
previous one (1) year permit period, a satisfactory explanation of the failure to become fully licensed, the
completion of the provisional permit renewal application form, and the payment of the provisional permit
renewal fee of $ 50.00.

§31-1-7. Renewal.

7.1. The license of every person licensed under W. Va. Code §30-35 shall be renewed annually
except as otherwise provided by W. Va. Code §§30-35-1 et seq.

7.2. Every person licensed under W. Va. Code §§30-35-1 et seq., requesting renewal of a license
shall:

7.2.1. Pay to the Board the license renewal fee as stated in 4.1.2.2;

7.2.2. Submit an application for renewal on the professional license renewal form prescribed by
the Board;

7.2.3. Complete a minimum of twenty (20) hours of continuing professional education activities
every two (2) years in compliance with the Board’s rule Continuing Professional Education Requirements
31 CSR 5.
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7.2.4. Provide evidence of completion of continuing education during the previous two (2) year
period on a form provided by the Board and submitted with the renewal application for licensure. The
documentation is required every two vears and is not required to accompany the applications for the
intervening years.

7.3. Upon receipt of a written application and documented proof that a licensed dietitian has been
unable to comply with the continuing education requirements of this section due to illness, injury or other
documented reasons, the Board may waive this continuing education requirement.

7.4. A suspended license 1s subject to expiration and may be renewed as provided in this section. A
licensee with a suspended license who renews the license, may not engage in the licensed activity, or in
any other conduct or activity in violation of the order of judgment by which the license was suspended,
until the Board reinstates the license.

7.5. A license revoked on disciplinary grounds will expire. The Board shall reinstate a revoked
license after its expiration when the licensee, as a condition of reinstatement, pays a reinstatement fee that
equals the renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date immediately preceding the date of
reinstatement, plus a professional license reinstatement fee as stated in paragraph 4.1.2.3 of this rule.

§31-1-8. Reinstatement of Expired Licenses.

8.1. The Board may reinstate the licenses of licensees who fail to renew their licenses by the end of
the license period.

8.1.1. For a licensee who has allowed his or her license to lapse for a period not to exceed three
vears, the license may be reinstated by the Board. The applicant for reinstatement shall:

8.1.1.1. Submit a written request for reinstatement of their professional license to the Board,
including a satisfactory explanation for the failure to renew, within three (3) years after the expiration

date of his or her license;

8.1.1.2. Complete ten (10) hours of approved continuing education for cach year the license
has lapsed; and

8.1.1.3. Pay to the Board the annual renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date
immediately preceding the date of reinstatement, and the professional license reinstatement fee as stated

in paragraph 4.1.2.3 of this rule.

8.1.2 For a licensee who has allowed his or her license to lapse for a period in excess of three (3)
years, the license may be reinstated by the Board. The applicant for reinstatement shall:

8.1.2.1. Submit a written request for reinstatement of their professional license to the Board,
8.1.2.2. Pass the written examination required of apphcants for licensure; and
8.1.2.3. Pay to the Board the licensing fee as stated in 4.1.2.1.

§31-1-9. Causes for Denial, Probation, Limitation, Discipline, Suspension or Revocation of Licenses
of Dietitians.
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9.1. The Board may deny an application for license or a provisional permt, place a licensee on probation,
suspend a license or provisional permit, limit or restrict a license or provisional permit or revoke any license
or provisional permit issued by the Board, upon satisfactory proof that the licensee has:

9.1.1. Knowingly made, or presented or caused to be made or presented, any false, fraudulent or
forged statement, writing, certificate, diploma or other matenial in connection with an application for a

license;

9.1.2. Been or 15 involved i fraud, forgery, deception, collusion or conspiracy in connection with
an examination for a license;

9.1.3. Become addicted to a controlled substance;
9.1.4. Become a chronic or persistent alcoholic;

9.1.5. Engaged in dishonorable, unsthical or unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive,
defraud or harm the public or member of the public;

9.1.6. Willfully violated a confidential communication with a client or patient;

9.1.7. Demonstrated a lack of professional competence to practice medical nutrition therapy or other
nutrition or dietetic-related services with a reasonable degree of skill and safety for patients;

9.1.8. Been convicted of or found guilty of a crime in any jurisdiction which directly relates to the
practice of medical nutrition therapy or other nutrition or dietetic-related services. A plea of nolo contendere
may be considered conviction for the purposes of this rule;

9.1.9. Failed to report to the Board any person whom the licensee knows is in violation of this
rule or of provisions of article thirty-five of chapter thirty of the West Virginia code;

9.1.10. Aided, assisted, procured or advised any unlicensed person to practice as a licensed dietitian
contrary to this rule or provisions of article thirty-five of chapter thirty of the West Virginia code;

9.1.11. Failed to perform any statutory or legal obligation placed upon a licensed dietitian;

9.1.12. Made or filed a report which the licensee knows to be false, or intentionally or negligently
failed to file a report or record required by state or federal law;

9.1.13. Paid or received any commission, bonus, rebate or other financial incentive, or engaged in
any split-fee arrangement with any organization, agency or person, for referring patients to providers ofhealth
care goods and services, mcluding, but not limited to, hospitals, nursing homes, clinical laboratories, renal
dialysis facilities or pharmacies;

9.1.14. Exercised influence on a patient or client for purposes of exploiting for financial gain or
engaging in sexual activity;

9.1.15. Failed to keep written records justifying the course of treatment of the patient, including, but
not limited to, patient histories, examination results and treatment;

9.1.16. Engaged infalse or deceptive advertising; advertised, practiced or attempted to practice under
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aname other than his or her own; charged or collected any fee for any type of services rendered within forty-
cight (48) hours of the mitial visit, if the licensee advertised free consultation or treatment;

9.1.17. Charged an excessive or unconscionable fee. If the Board finds that an excessive or
unconscionable fechas been charged and collected, the Board may require the licensee to reduce or reimburse
the fee. Factors to be considered in determining the reasonableness of a fee include the following:

9.1.17.1. The time and effort required;

9.1.17.2. The novelty and difficulty of the procedure or treatment;

9.1.17.3. The skill required to perform the procedure or treatment properly;
9.1.17.4. Any requirements or conditions imposed by the patient or circumstances;
9.1.17.5. The nature and length of the professional relationship with the patient;

9.1.17.6. The experience, reputation and ability of the licensee; and

9.1.17.7. The nature of the circumstances under which the services are provided.

9.2. The Board may not disqualify an applicant from initial licensure to engage in a profession or

occupation because of a prior ecriminal conviction that remains unreversed unless that conviction is for a crime
that bears a rational nexus to the profession of Dictetics or Nutrition Therapv requiring licensure. In

determining whether a criminal conviction bears a rational nexus to a profession or occupation, the board
shall consider at a minimum:

9.2.1. The nature and seriousness of the crime for which the individual was convicted:

9.2.2. The passage of time since the commission of the crime:

9.2.3. Therelationship of the crime to the ability. capacity. and fitness required to perform the dutics

and discharge the responsibilities of the profession or occupation; and

9.2.4. Any evidence of rehabilitation or treatment undertaken by the individual.

9.3. Because the term “moral turpitude’ 1s vague and subject to inconsistent applications, boards mav

not rely upon the description of a crime for which an applicant has been convicted as one of “moral turpitude”

as a basis for denving licensure: Provided. That if the prior conviction for the underlying crime bears a

rational nexus to the profession or occupation requiring licensure, the board may consider the conviction.

9.4. If an applicant is disqualified from licensure because of a prior criminal conviction, a board shall
permit the applicant to apply for initial licensure if:

9.4.1. A period of five vears has elapsed from the date of conviction or the date of release from
incarceration. whichever is later:

9.4.2 The individual has not been convicted of anv other erime during the period of time
following the disqualifying offense; and
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9.4.3. The conviction was not for an offense of a violent or sexual nature: Provided. That a
conviction for an offense of a violent or sexual nature mav subject an individual to a longer period of

disqualification from licensure. to be determined by the board.

9.5. An individual with a criminal record who has not previously applied for licensure mav petition the

board at anv time for a determination of whether the mdividual’s eriminal record will disqualify the individual

from obtaining a license. This petition shall include sufficient details about the individual’s criminal record
to enable the board to identify the jurisdiction where the conviction occurred, the date of the conviction. and

the specific nature of the conviction. The board shall provide the determination within 60 days of receiving
the petition from the applicant. The board mav charge a fee to recoup its costs for cach petition.

9.6. The requirements of this section do not apply to the criteria that boards may consider when making
determinations regarding relicensure or discipline of licensees.




